We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Waterfront, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Close to the Waterfront, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. Since we were traveling with our two teenagers, we chose to book a two-bedroom suite as it was more economical than getting two rooms. The suite had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living area and a kitchen. It was on the ground floor and had a sliding glass doors that opened to the patio and grass area with the ocean beyond. It was very large and comfortable. The second bedroom had a large window that looked out to the lobby which was a little odd since in was on the ground floor. Not a big deal, we just kept the curtain closed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nathan organized two full day private tours for us which was great. He also made our dinner reservations and moved one back when he noticed that we were late in returning from our tour. There was a bit of construction in the hotel but since we were out during the day it wasn't a problem for us. The construction of the new stadium was also not an issue for us. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but we enjoyed it very much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    490
    138
    52
    47
See reviews for
278
651
76
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

I have visited South Africa previously but this was my first visit to Cape Town and the Radisson was recommended to me by a local resident.
Having received a warm welcome I was directed to my 'Business room' which certainly equalled some of the best hotels I have stayed in around the world. Despite the fact that the room I was in was well appointed (very large lounge, very big bathroom and a king size bed) the hotel is actually in the process of renovating the rooms to include flat screen TVs etc).
However it was the view from the hotel balcony that made this stay extra special. Nothing beats the sound of the waves crashing againct the shore as you go to sleep and the view from the room was spectacular.
Of course, having a great room is one thing but to make a hotel stay a genuinely good one it is the software that is more important .......the staff.
The staff at the Radisson could not have been more helpful and courteous. Any request was dealt with speedily and there was always a welcome and genuine smile awaiting on my return to the hotel.
To cap it all, I can not think of a better venue for hosting meetings than on the terrace of the Radisson. This is a hotel that I would recommend to anyone visting Cape Town , either for business or pleasure. There was some noise from the renovations during my stay, which I would have preferred not to have but this could not detract from a memorable stay at a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Having heard about the beautiful location next to the Waterfront, we felt the Radisson would be the perfect spot to enjoy a long weekend away. However, apart from the location, this hotel leaves much to be desired. We were not warned by either the hotel or the tour operator of the construction noise that was going on daily from 8am until 5pm. The rooms are in need of refurbishment and are not cleaned at all - the sheets were rarely changed and bath found dirty almost every day. If this weren’t enough, we shared the beautiful outdoor\eating area with rodents - that which is unacceptable. The breakfast is average and the staff attitude is both indifferent and unaccommodating, They took no responsibility for any of these issues and I'd have to insist upon changing your plans if you have made a reservation with this particular hotel. It is a disgrace to the Radisson name. Satisfaction is not guaranteed, nor attained.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoomHobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed in the Radisson on the last leg of our trip around SA. We were there for 5 nights.
While the hotel is in a great location 10 minutes walk from the waterfront, it was the most disappointing of our hotels. The room was poky and crowded, and while we had a nice view of the waterfront, the wind whistled around the windows late at night and there was a terrible draft. Also the water pressure in the bathroom wasn't right, presumably due to renovations being undertaken while we were there for 2010. Also the shower door wasn't properly sealed so the floor was flooded after a shower.
The staff were friendly overall however on our last morning we arrived for breakfast at 10.15am (breakfast due to finish at 10.30am) and we were told to sit at the bar as it was now 10.20am according to the mangers watch and there was no table available, in spite of the fact that there were 4 in full view! Also, when we returned to our room on the last morning our key wouldn't work because it was 'close to checkout time'-again we found this totally unacceptable. If check out time says 11am then your key should work until then! The staff in the business centre were very helpful however internet costs were €6 for a half hr!! and since we didn't have our own laptop we couldn't avail of the free Wifi. The shuttle bus service was convenient to the waterfront, however never ran to schedule and we were left standing at the waterfront on 2 occasions with no pick-up.
Overall the only reason to stay at the Radisson is for its location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday in South Africa. We were supposed to have a mountain view but instead had a car park view which was disappointing. The hotel is being refurbished at the moment so it was very noisy during the day. However it is in a fantastic location on the waterfront, a 15 minute stroll or 5 minute shuttle bus ride from the V&A. It was very nice to be able to eat breakfast on the deck and watch the dolphins and seals in the water. The service was excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed here for the last 5 nights of our trip to South Africa. Many positives to talk about including location (great for access to the Waterfront and all of Cape Town's attractions, also the right side of town for Cape Point, Camps Bay etc...and it's right next to Green Point stadium), the outside bar area is right next to the ocean, a good gym, friendly/helpful door staff and a reasonable priced restaurant.
However, the rooms are tired and could do with a refurb (which is currently ongoing for the ocean facing rooms) and overall the rates are relatively high for South Africa.
With the room upgrades ongoing this should be a reasonable place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at the Radisson for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon. The room was supposed to have a 'table mountain' view but all you could see was the new stadium currently under construction. The room and decor was tired and we had maintenance out on numerous occasions to repair all of the many faults (tap only ran cold water, shower door didn't close hence leaked, plug sockets didn't work etc). Half of the hotel is closed and apparently under renovation for 2010 world cup - it is in dire need of renovation and the builders start early so don't expect a lie in. Breakfast exceptionally poor, staff slow and disinterested. Shuttle service did not run to time and was chaotic at best. Mini Bar in the room was locked until we asked for it to be opened!!! When we mentioned that we expected better for a 5 star especially as we were on our honeymoon (and we hadn't even received a complimentary bottle of champagne) the guest relations manager claimed they had no knowledge of the fact that we were on our honeymoon and we should have let our travel agent know to inform them - it was clearly printed on the voucher we handed over on arrival. The hotel was the poorest of all of the 5 star hotels we stayed in throughout our trip and the service inexcusable. This is a business hotel and is certainly not 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing