We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, if a little out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a very nice 5 star hotel. At the moment, it's a little out of the way from the waterfront area, as all around there is development, including a brand new stadium for the 2010 soccer World Cup, which is on the doorstep.

We had a car so that wasn't a problem.

They are remodelling some of the rooms at the front overlooking the infinity pool, so you could hear some hammering going on, but it didn't bother us. Whether our room had been refurbished I don't know, but it was a large room overlooking a marina, with a good sized bathroom with those silly "his n' hers" basins and separate shower.

There was a very nice buffet breakfast and a lovely terrace to eat it on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bollinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2009

First of all don't believe all the previous reviews on Tripadvisor although this is part of the Radisson Group it may not match your standards of a Radisson in Europe, this could be because it's been built for some time and bedrooms are currently being refurbished. We were preadvised about the building work but it did not affect us at all (no weekend work and during day we were out)
The public areas and the bar terrace onto the seafront and the dining room were excellent. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Location, a pleasant and safe 10 min walk to the V&A Waterfront or you could use the free hotel bus shuttle - we found very reliable. The hotel is opposite the new stadium for the 2010 World Cup.
We arrived late on first night just before the kitchen was to close (2230) however this presented no problem and reception arranged for kitchen to stay open.
Also we booked a group tour directly with the hotel as it was low season we found we were the only 2 on the trip. We taken on the trip in the hotel's Audi A6 and by the hotel chaffeur - a great day his knowledge and proffessionalism were unsurpassed.

Free WIFI was great too

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This was our first stop ( 3 night stay) as part of our honeymoon. Really great hotel, good spacious rooms ( our overlooked the ocean), spa facility, breakfast really good with great variety, staff very nice and helpful. There was a free shuttle bus on the hour to the V&A Waterfront and again back to the hotel. Even if you had to get taxi the cost is only approx 40 rand ( 4 euro). We also used the bus ( not free) to bring us to and from the restuarants - felt very safe. If i had any issue - we were told on arrival ( after approx 20 hours travelling) that our room would be ready about an hour after our arrival. It wasn't ready for about 3 hours. If we had know this we would have used the spa facility to freshen and head out instead of sitting in the hotel for this length of time

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil-tipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. Since we were traveling with our two teenagers, we chose to book a two-bedroom suite as it was more economical than getting two rooms. The suite had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living area and a kitchen. It was on the ground floor and had a sliding glass doors that opened to the patio and grass area with the ocean beyond. It was very large and comfortable. The second bedroom had a large window that looked out to the lobby which was a little odd since in was on the ground floor. Not a big deal, we just kept the curtain closed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nathan organized two full day private tours for us which was great. He also made our dinner reservations and moved one back when he noticed that we were late in returning from our tour. There was a bit of construction in the hotel but since we were out during the day it wasn't a problem for us. The construction of the new stadium was also not an issue for us. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but we enjoyed it very much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I have visited South Africa previously but this was my first visit to Cape Town and the Radisson was recommended to me by a local resident.
Having received a warm welcome I was directed to my 'Business room' which certainly equalled some of the best hotels I have stayed in around the world. Despite the fact that the room I was in was well appointed (very large lounge, very big bathroom and a king size bed) the hotel is actually in the process of renovating the rooms to include flat screen TVs etc).
However it was the view from the hotel balcony that made this stay extra special. Nothing beats the sound of the waves crashing againct the shore as you go to sleep and the view from the room was spectacular.
Of course, having a great room is one thing but to make a hotel stay a genuinely good one it is the software that is more important .......the staff.
The staff at the Radisson could not have been more helpful and courteous. Any request was dealt with speedily and there was always a welcome and genuine smile awaiting on my return to the hotel.
To cap it all, I can not think of a better venue for hosting meetings than on the terrace of the Radisson. This is a hotel that I would recommend to anyone visting Cape Town , either for business or pleasure. There was some noise from the renovations during my stay, which I would have preferred not to have but this could not detract from a memorable stay at a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Having heard about the beautiful location next to the Waterfront, we felt the Radisson would be the perfect spot to enjoy a long weekend away. However, apart from the location, this hotel leaves much to be desired. We were not warned by either the hotel or the tour operator of the construction noise that was going on daily from 8am until 5pm. The rooms are in need of refurbishment and are not cleaned at all - the sheets were rarely changed and bath found dirty almost every day. If this weren’t enough, we shared the beautiful outdoor\eating area with rodents - that which is unacceptable. The breakfast is average and the staff attitude is both indifferent and unaccommodating, They took no responsibility for any of these issues and I'd have to insist upon changing your plans if you have made a reservation with this particular hotel. It is a disgrace to the Radisson name. Satisfaction is not guaranteed, nor attained.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoomHobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed in the Radisson on the last leg of our trip around SA. We were there for 5 nights.
While the hotel is in a great location 10 minutes walk from the waterfront, it was the most disappointing of our hotels. The room was poky and crowded, and while we had a nice view of the waterfront, the wind whistled around the windows late at night and there was a terrible draft. Also the water pressure in the bathroom wasn't right, presumably due to renovations being undertaken while we were there for 2010. Also the shower door wasn't properly sealed so the floor was flooded after a shower.
The staff were friendly overall however on our last morning we arrived for breakfast at 10.15am (breakfast due to finish at 10.30am) and we were told to sit at the bar as it was now 10.20am according to the mangers watch and there was no table available, in spite of the fact that there were 4 in full view! Also, when we returned to our room on the last morning our key wouldn't work because it was 'close to checkout time'-again we found this totally unacceptable. If check out time says 11am then your key should work until then! The staff in the business centre were very helpful however internet costs were €6 for a half hr!! and since we didn't have our own laptop we couldn't avail of the free Wifi. The shuttle bus service was convenient to the waterfront, however never ran to schedule and we were left standing at the waterfront on 2 occasions with no pick-up.
Overall the only reason to stay at the Radisson is for its location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoifs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,648 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £193 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing