We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to start our honeymoon - we were treated like royalty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

After deciding on Cape Town as our first stop on Honeymoon we were recommended this hotel by Trailfinders. After looking on TripAdvisor for the usual reviews we decided to go for it and we are very glad we did! An overnight flight meant we arrived at the Radisson Blu at around 9am - the hotel staff gave us a fantastic welcome and pack to give us some information on the surrounding area and checked us into our room despite arriving much earlier than planned. We opted for the Business Class Sea Facing room and we were completely bowled over by it - the views were incredible over the pier, marina and Table Mountain to our right. The room itself was split into a living area and bedroom which gave us a huge amount of space - plus a huge bathroom with the most amazing shower. The location was great - we were only about a 10 minute walk to the R&A Waterfront, and the main bus tour stops really close to the hotel. The staff were fantastic, very knowledgeable about the area and local amenities and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic as well - particularly the French Toast and Crispy Bacon! The spa area was great as well - there is a small jacuzzi pool with lounge chairs which is beautiful and had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Our trip to the Radisson was made all the more special with a surprise bottle of champagne, strawberries and chocolates as a congratulations from the hotel staff - a really wonderful touch.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowRobertsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed here during the World Cup and our three nights there were the best. Our two bedroom condo over looked the ocean and had all of the usual luxury amenities. The buffet breakfast was included in our package and was wonderful. After a long haul flight, waking up and eating outside in the sunshine by the ocean was such a special treat. But the best aspect of the Radisson was the service. Everyone working at the hotel went out of there way to be helpful and friendly. While the location is a long walk to the V & A Waterfront (and I would not do it after dark), there was a shuttle which we used every evening.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Travelled here with 5 colleagues. The location is top notch - near the waterfront and the new stadium. Listening to the waves on the deck is relaxing and the views are very nice.

Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. We arranged for one of the drivers at the hotel to take our group to Spier, and he was informative and professional.

The rooms are dated. the beds might be hard for some - I prefer them this way. Most of the group had problems with the water pressure in the shower. Free wireless internet - always a plus.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imari96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

The crashing surf, the beautiful sunsets, the proximity to the Waterfront, Table Mountain and the Cape Reserve made this place work for us. We had 2 rooms, one for me and hubby, another for 24 year old son traveling with us. The rooms are fine, not overly fancy but it's the area that is great. The new soccer/futbol stadium is right close by, and it's easy to find the hotel. Very safe area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MedEdCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Radisson Blu Hotel in waterfront, Cape Town is beautifully located by the sea and close to the new football stadium. With the relatively expensive hotel rates you would expect something special.
It started OK with a beer or two (or three) at the nice seaside bar and a dip in the beautiful pool while waiting for our rooms.
After checking in strange things started to happen:
- The elevator had a life of it's own and refused to take us to our floor - we were spending time with lots of staff in the the elevator, but none could force the elevator to stop at level 1. 15 minutes delayed we arrived at the room (20 meters from the reception!).
- One of our rooms had a strange unpleasant smell of african mold (of unknown origin)
- My friend spoke loudly in the room about the need for an iron & iron board, and out of nowhere the iron and iron board suddenly was delivered to the room (my friend hadn't yet called for it), but before he had a chance to use it someone took it away again while we were out for 15 minutes.
- The beds were made for very short people (south african dwarfs?), or at least not for three tall scandinavians (183-197 cm), after complaining we were told that longer beds were not available - this is african standard.
- A sudden knock at the door revealed a "mini bar controller", a man controlling if we had used any drinks in the mini bar. We told him that our mini bars are locked and we do not have a key. Instead of unlocking them he disappeard as suddenly as the came.
At checking out we were again asked if we had taken anything from the mini bar (!)
- ONE of our two rooms got complimentary fruit and snacks - why not the other room?

Note that this is supposed to be a luxury hotel, thing noted above never happen in real luxury hotels, or are at least immediately taken care of.

So all in all a nice hotel, but to become a luxury hotel they have to send most of the staaf to some longer hotel manager education (far away).

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

gorgeous lobby, lovely resturant, nice rooms, great deck with infinity pool overlooking Table Bay and Table Mountain with the surf crashing on the rocks. The service was seamless. They had a regular and reliable shuttle to the V&A waterfront 5 minutes away with boat trips resturants shopping people watching concerts etc.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vttraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Radisson Blu was going through a renovation while we were there, but they didn't start making noise until about 10 am, so it was no problem. Our room was all updated and beautiful, with a large marble bathroom, bedroom and sitting area, and balcony overlooking the pool and ocean beyond. A mere block away is the new soccer stadium, and the waterfront shopping and restaurants are a 10 minute walk away. We were there in August, which was not the peak tourist time, but beautiful weather nevertheless. Just a little cool in the evenings. Staff was very helpful. We were allowed to park our car in the front of the hotel at no pay because it was not very busy. The people could not have been nicer. We even met a South African couple in the bar who were on holiday, and we ended up going to the wine region with us - we had a wonderful day with them!

Breakfast was buffet style, but very extensive. Smoked salmon, smoked fish, fresh baked breads and pastries, eggs, sausages, bacon, veggies, ratatouille, fruits, fresh yoghurt, wonderfully brewed coffee, etc. I especially loved the fresh passionfruit, which looked really mushy and unappealing, but tasted like heaven! Eat inside, or on the terrace overlooking the ocean!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,250 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £173 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rezidor, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing