We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel is three star, and for me represents excellent value for the price you pay. I have stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times over the last 10 years so obviously it suits me for what I want. I have just completed another stay earlier this month, and again quite happy with the room and service. I have one complaint which the hotel need to be aware of. There were a lot of Nigerian men staying in the hotel, who were on some training courses in Cape Town. They were incredibly noisy at night with shouting, laughing, doors banging and people running up and down the corridors. Hopefully this was a one-off for the hotel. Although, when I mentioned this at reception, they immediately moved me to another room, which was on a much quieter floor. THe breakfast quality has also diminished slightly. I used to look forward to the smoked fish, which seems to have disapeared, and also the large selection of tea which has been replaced by just one tea 'pot'. But you can still find plenty to eat and these are small points. I really have no serious grumbles about this hotel, and have already booked again to stay in January.

Room Tip: If you are single ask for a room number 01 or 02. These rooms are smaller than the others, but are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgianPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    233
    204
    107
    128
See reviews for
124
263
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

After a fantastic holiday in S.A, including 5 nights in Cape Town at the start (in another hotel), our last night of the trip was at the Cape Town Ritz Hotel - chosen mainly for it's location/ease of access to the Waterfront. Although we knew it was a cheaper hotel than our first, we booked it via a very reputable UK long haul travel agent and didnt think it could be too bad. We swiftly thought again on arrival.

It's never good to check-in when another guest is already complaining about something and things just didn't improve. Most of the hotel accomodation is still smoking rooms which surprised us, it's years since we've come across a city centre hotel that still does this and we thought S.A regs were very anti-smoking in hotel rooms/public areas. The first room we had stank of smoke and the inside door security chain/bolt was broken with half missing. The bath was also filthy. We asked to change to a non-smoking room but it took a bit of doing as they were apparently full. They finally found one and as a bonus it was on 19th floor (instead of 5th) with lovely view of Lions Head and Seapoint. However, on closer examination this bath was also dirty and we had to ask for it to be cleaned, which was done quite quickly. For just one night we thought we were ok but later that night, after dinner, we also discovered: a stained towel and several stains on the duvet cover; the TV barely managed to stay tuned to a colour channel; a broken towel rail and soap dish in the bathroom; the hot water tap had to run for 5 mins before it stopped 'stop start spurting' of water into the wash basin; the shower hardly worked - probably linked to the hot water tap issue. In addition, the next morning revealed the very noisy lift mechanism (our room was next to it) which woke me during the night and house keeping staff don't work from a list of checking out rooms and basically knock - v noisily and with loud 'chatter' in the team - on any door from 8am (we had no 'don't disturb' sign to hang outside...).

In terms of the issues discovered before going to bed, as we had already been told this was the only available non-smoking room and we were v tired, we couldn't face trying to find another hotel at 10pm but we will also be feeding back our problems to the travel agent and suggesting they send someone to check a variety of rooms if they are going to promote it in their brochure.

The real saving grace to our last night of the holiday was dinner in the hotel's rooftop revolving restaurant - which we had booked before our holiday started. Views were lovely, food was great and we didn't think the pricing was too bad. Watching the sun set over Cape Town was beautiful. However, you don't have to be staying in the hotel to eat in the restaurant - so we'd recommend you really try the restaurant but don't go near the far from 'modern' accommodation in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJCfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Mauritius
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We booked this hotel for 6 nights through our local travel agency.Having spent 4 wonderful nights in Johannesburg, we were very excited to go to Cape Town.We stayed on the 2nd floor and had a room with a view on the pool which looked nice.Our room was clean and was serviced every day.Our 9 year old boy enjoyed the tub and the hot shower as the weather was quite cold and windy outside though it was summer time.There was a large choice for breakfast which was buffet.The staff were polite and attended to our requests.Though we were next to the lift, we were never really disturbed by any noise.We didn't really expect not to hear any sound in a big hotel except if we were wearing earplugs!In fact, we slept like a log during our stay because we were so busy visiting.There is a nice tour company in the hotel and we booked 2 full days with them.We went to Cape Point and Hermanus and on both days,we enjoyed ourselves and learnt a lot from our guides Nigel and Emery who were very helpful.Having seen the wild animals on land in Johannesburg,we saw what South Africa has on its coasts;whales,penguins,seals and lots of birds.We also took the Hop On Hop Off Bus on 2 different days and did both the Red and Blue Route.This is a nice way to see the town as they dropped us near the attractions we wanted to visit ,especially Table Mountain and Groot Constantia.The Ritz hotel is well located and not far from the Waterfront.One can easily walk or take a taxi.There are also a lot of restaurants nearby as well as supermarkets and shops.We enjoyed the Chinese food as it reminded us of the food we have back home .In fact, we were so tired and happy at the end of the day that we forgot to go to the revolving restaurant!We met lots of people during our stay but above all,we met wonderful South African people who shared their love of their country with us.This will stay in our hearts forever.Hope we'll come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueDolphin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-Thames
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was now my third visit to the hotel having stayed here in 2005 and also January 2010. This hotel was never the best but you get what you pay for in my opinion but on this occasion I can safely say I will not be staying here ever again. Maybe due to it being slightly out of season but we stayed on Floor 16 and were woken up every morning at around 430am by characters knocking on all the doors around us and then talking at tops of their voices. It was not hard to realise these were all staff getting up for work and not giving two hoots for anyone else who was a paying guest. When I did complain I was told they had all checked out but I knew that was nonsense and sure enough it continued night after night. The food at breakfast is a joke really - who eats liver and onions or chicken nuggets or ever cauliflower and broccoli mix for breakfast ????

My friend on floor 19 had a shower that did not work and he complained every morning for 4 days until he demanded to be moved. No money is put back into this hotel and hence it is on the decline. I disagree with people on here who say Seapoint is not safe that is nonsense. We regularly walked up and down the length of seapoint but like anywhere in South Africa you do not do this at night but daytime is fine. This will be the last time I stay in the Ritz which is a shame really.

Room Tip: Stay low down or you be waiting hours for the lifts from the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank nblyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

With staff staying in rooms along side guests, they had no respect for the paying customer. Loud music through out the night, banging doors, loud voices, at one point at 4.30am I went down to reception to invite them up for them to listen themselves.

A broken shower on arrival and not being able to gain access to room on arrival until 4.30pm did not set the scene very well

The staff were friendly enough if not exactly on the ball when it came to sorting out problems

A salt water pool was interesting !

LocatIon was good

The bar was a smoking bar

All in all I cannot see myself going back again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzbychief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just returned from 5 nights at the Ritz with my wife and young son (8 years old). After reading all the reviews prior to booking I was somewhat apprehensive on booking however I thought why not give it a shot. The location is brilliant and the views from the hotel are spectacular. I agree with some of the reviews that there are some unsavoury charactures around the hotel - mostly around 6 - 9 pm but in all fairness the hotel caters for all and for the prices charged you can only expect the same.

You do not go on holiday to stay 24/7 in a hotel when in Cape town do you?
Ok let me share my views of the hotel and staff. We booked a `delux` room and on arrival we were greeted by very helpful and pleasant reception staff, our room was on the 19th floor - it in my view was not a `delux` but did the job. The room was ok nothing brilliant but as stated earlier we only used it to sleep and to shower, there is DSTV (UK version of Sky) but limited channels - bathrooms could do with a makeover but all in all pleasant. The views were spectacular - could see all of the waterfront - world cup stadium and into Cape town CBD.

The breakfast (included) in price was very good - all food was piping hot and you can eat outside should you so wish.

The `revolving restaurant` - a MUST! This is not owned by the hotel and is run by an outside company one tip BOOK EARLY as they are most days fully booked by tour operators. There are a lot of `coach holidays` which pass through for one night staying at the Ritz and this is on their intinerary so to avoid dissapointment go to the 21st floor as soon as you arrive and get a table sorted. The best time is the early sitting as you get to see the sunset over table mountain. It takes approx 1 hour 15 mins to do 360` and is well worth the price. Yes agreed the prices are quite steep however, I would definately go back again. I had the house special of Ostrich which was delicious. The staff there are withought doubt some of the most professional I have come across. Nico the manager goes above and beyond the call of duty and makes you feel most welcome - Bindy his colleague runs a very tight ship.

The bar on the 21st floor is most relaxing with superb views - Silo and Colin run around like no ones business to ensure you are looked after.

HIRE A CAR - if you are there for more / up to 5 days a car is a must - we like to get amongst it and visit as many places as possible (you might never have the chance to go back).

We booked with Cape Car Hire (Cape town car Hire) www.capecarrental.co.za and get the GPS (dont forget to set it in English!).

If you want to go out of a night withought the car and have a glass of wine or two leave the car and get a taxi outside - the V&A waterfront is 5-6 mins away there are a fleet of red taxis outside - do not book with the hotel as they charge 50 rand one way - wait outside and get in one which are metered it works out to 30 rand ish - take the drivers number and they will arrange return/pick ups for you.

Hope you have a great trip

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariRafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

If you think you are going to be indulged in the opulence equivalent to its London or Paris namesakes – think again. This place is run down and rapidly declining even further.

The location is not in the safest part of cape Town.

Granted, the top floor revolving restaurant is very impressive and, allegedly, serves good food. But you need to get past the 20 floors first. Anything below that restaurant is just shambolic – from creaky, dirty lift to basic and small rooms with dirty curtains and windows.

We did not feel safe at this place –there was lots of noise, banging on the doors in the middle of the night, quite a few unsavoury-looking characters wandering the corridors.

We could not believe that this place was on a Kuoni list of accommodation - this is more like a back-packers hostel than three star hotel. Needless to say we have complained vociferously to the company and got moved to a more reasonable location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#100 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing