We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Revolving Restaurant overlooking Cape Town”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rooftop Revolving Restaurant overlooking Cape Town”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is a stunning location for a restaurant. It is obviously on the top floor of the Ritz shaped as a huge glass
dome.It revolves very very slowly giving clients wonderful views over the whole of cape Town, including the bay and table mountain. Ideally eat close to sunset, and watch day turn to night as the city lights take hold. During the course of a meal you will revolve 3 or 4 times.
The menu is very extensive, and compared to the UK is very inexpensive. The food is outstanding.
Highly recommended if you are visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbparker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    232
    204
    107
    128
See reviews for
124
262
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have just completed a one week stay at the Ritz. I travel a lot for my work and have stayed in many places all over the world and am reasonably accomodating of differinging standards and forgiving where hotels might be having one off problems but my stay at the Ritz was simply a horredous experiance. Like the last commentator I can confirm that floors 5 and 6 were popoulated with a heavy Marijuna smoking group I find this espicialy distrubing given a choir group of young girls were aslo staying at the hotel.

I did not have the same experiance with excessive cockroaches as the last commentator but the room supplies were a problem ie I didnt get a replacement toilet roll for two days - this is not the fault of the cleaning staff (who were fine) but I suspect managment who are scrimping and saving ie you only get two coffee satchels and one tea and if you need more you need to request that from management.

I will also add that while I was there I was violently ill and while that can come from many sources I have my suspicions.

Anyway its a shame to see what I understand was such a grand hotel in the 70's fall into such a debilitaed state.

All up a horrible experiance

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

i took my group of 26 people to stay at the Ritz Hotel. It was the most horrible experience i ever had. The hotel was infested with roaches. The rooms and bathroom were filthy. A group of people was smoking pot in the halls & elevator. The entire hotel reeked of pot. There were several incidents of men urinnating on the side of the building. Sexual comments were made to some of the women guest and a group of gentlement followed one of the ladies to her room. The food was disgusting. Most of us did not sleep that night. There were so many complaints from my guest that the group of 26 checked out the next day. The management was not responsive to our complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 52979Trav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel. I stayed here earlier this year. There were cockroaches. I received an apology, was upgraded to a suite on my last night. I was still disgusted and complained, was given 2 complimentary nights in July ( 3 months later) and lo and behold - cockroaches again, asked them to spray, 45 minutes later - am still waiting

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seldduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked to stay in this hotel for 11 x nights because of the price, however we moved around and used the hotel only for about 7 thankfully. This is a very run down poor hotel that needs investment ,
The bathroom was like something out of the 1960's, and we had a refurbished room !

The reviews before we booked were mixed however, we have not came across a good review since our stay last year. This hotel does not promote tourisim in South Africa very well or it's staff.


.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Very unhappy, was robbed in room when out for the day. Complained to manager, told me would take a long time to sort out. Avoided my calls and Would not return my calls. Very unsatisfactory and very disappointing. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone ever.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ainesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Terrible hotel. We stayed in 2 rooms. Both broken into. We did not leave valuables in room but they them stole our clothes. Most prob hotel staff. Management refused to deal with it or return calls, They said they would administer lie detector tests to staff. Complete bull. Hotel Completely in need of refurbishment. We could not sleep at night due to the noise of the wind. The rooms are very exposed and the glass is paper thin and rattles. The other room actually had water coming into the room from the rain. Breakfast was of a poor standard. Only saving grace was the restaurant but does not redeem the hotel. Would not recommend to anybody and nearly ruined our stay on cape town

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cianobrien83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#100 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing