We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honest hotel when visiting Cape town”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great honest hotel when visiting Cape town”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We've been staying at the Ritz for a week as part of our trip in Cape Town.
yes the hotel is a bit old, ... and in the process of being renovated, but given you spend most of your time outside in the city or around the cape, and the price is a third of what you'd pay in the waterfront this hotel is perfect!
The hotel is well located at Sea Point with a wonderful view on the bay.
The center is easily accessible from the hotel 10 min walk - 5 min taxi (50 Rands)
The staff is very nice and available, the tourism office is very helpful.
Overall a good experience

Room Tip: Try to ask for higher floor when booking as the view is spectacular Try the dinner in the revolving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexispertoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    233
    204
    106
    128
See reviews for
124
262
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maun, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

bad mattress, not changed even after request. noisy long term stay students, breakfast the same everyday. Good location though - easily accessible to tour buses and golden arrow buses. The marketing hook is the revolving restaurant, don't get hooked!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masego D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The only reason to stay in that hotel apart from its view is the good location in Seapoint - close to all points of interest (Table mountain, V& A Waterfront, Camps Bay, Hout Bay, City center, easy access to Highway).
The hotel is in standard of the early 90's (and THAT is already a compliment!). They started to refurbish 2 or 3 storeys (where you still find dirty hallways, windows...) If you could assure to get a "refurbished" room it would be the only possibility to stay in that hotel without getting a major vomit attack. We first had (on our 4 nights-stay in the Ritz) a room on 16th floor with a great view and a broken AC on South-East Windows in Summer. When the hair dryer has been installed and the room (&windows) have been painted Michael Jackson was still performing with the Jackson 5. It is useful to have a bit of desinfections gel before using the bathroom facilities. We also saw every morning the pigeon(s) walking around the breakfast buffet, which indeed was very poor. Staff is absolutely unable to resolve guest issues such as broken a/c, safe, shower. You just need to insist constantly to get another room (which only worked after we told them to report this Hotel to the Tourism Board) Wifi Vouchers were only available after 3 days, stamps never, but we always heards the same answer: "Maybe tomorrow"

Room Tip: High storeys have the best view, but select one on the refurbished floors (one of that ist floor Nr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldcitizen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hotel absolutely ugly.
The location is perfect, and the view is amazing if your room is in one of the last floor.... except that everything is bad: so noisy, in the last floor you get hot water only in the middle of the day, not in the morning or in the evening, a bit anoising if you use to have a shower every day
breakfast is fat and so bad
employee are absolutely not friendly
i will never go back to this hotel for sure

Room Tip: in the last floor you get a stunning view on capetown, for that choose a superior room not a standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelisfunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!
From the point we arrived to the day we left we hated this hotel. The rooms and corridors stank of stale smoke, which was magnified if you tried to use the very noisey air conditioning. The room safe didn't work because of lack of batteries (and it took 5 days to get them to fit new ones!). The sheets were clean but when you had the misfortune to look at the beds/ matresses underneath they were badly stained, and damaged. For the 3 of us we had 3 coat hangers in total, and when the maintenance man came up to find more he advised there were no more in any of the other empty rooms on our floor. We never got any more.
Draw fronts were broken and came away in your hands, windows didn't open properly. When we first arrived there was no phone in the room. The hotel is in desperate need of a major refurbishment.
We were on "B&B Basis" but breakfast was poor. We arrived for breakfast at around 8.30am (breakfast was 6.30 - 10am) each of the 8 days we stayed we were forced to hunt around tables looking for cutlery. Croissants were "advertised" as available but we never saw one in 8 mornings and there were shortages of cereals, fruit, juice on most days. Every morning at least one pigeon would be found walking/ flying around the breakfast tables in the dining room and at no time did any staff member attempt to get them out.The staff were friendly but obviously poorly trained and with little or no management.
The first floor bar was rarely manned after 7pm and we had to get reception to find the barman on three occasions just to get a drink.
We had to call for "security" on two occasions firstly to stop loud music at 6am in the morning, and the most serious at 3am New Years Day when our next door guests were fighting in the corridor outside our room and threatening to stab each other!! My wife was left terrified to sleep.
Parking is very limited and the entrance/ exit very tight if you have anything larger than a standard car.
The Terrace Pool was clean but there were only approximately 12 sun loungers for this 21 storey hotel!

Room Tip: Look at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Berkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

So checking in was an issue. We came to Cape Town twice and stayed here on both occasions. Each time checking in appeared to be an issue. The first time we had to wait 20 minutes for our room to be ready, then arriving in the beds weren't made. A little spoilt but I kind of think this what you pay for a made bed. After advsiign the reception they did offer us two rooms to choose from. We had advised that it was for three people...two adults and a child. So we expected there to an extra bed. There was in the form of a sofa bed but with no extra sheets to use. Not a great start. The second occasion, on arrival at 9pm there was no booking for us. We were kept waiting for 20 minutes whilst they did something to sort it out. We never knew what that was as they never talked to us the entire time or even apologised.
Anyways after this the stay was relativley pleasent. The second visit we were on the 20th floor and it was real windy outside which meant we heard rattling of windows and constant whistling. For the price I guess it wasn't a bad hotel as the decor a little dated and in need of a little new paint. Did notice that the curtains were a little dirty and they don't pay to much attention to cleaning the room as there were empty bottles of water left on the floor.
We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and this ok. Most of everything you may want was on offer. The only issue is was the hot food ran out quickly and there would usually be a little wait for it to come back out again. Good selection if you have fussy eaters though. Eating outside on the pool terrace was a nice touch, although could have used a few more umbrellas, as even at 9am the sun is hot.
The pool terrace is about as much of the hotel we used. This was quite nice considering the rest of the hotel is a little dated. Never to busy either but we did leave it looks like before the holiday rush.
If I were to stay in Cape Town again I'd probaly rather stay a little near or in the V&A Waterfront area. Overall, I owuld rate this as a large Travelodge with a nice pool. Not worth paying anymore than we did (around £60p/n)
Didn't try the hotel restaraunt but can reccomend Esperanza. The food and service was excellant and very good value for money

Room Tip: Views around the hotel are good no matter what side you may be on, although the higher probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

I was in this hotel for 5 nights. Apart from the location and revolving restaurant,nothing good can be said about the hotel.
The deluxe rooms are worse than the average standard room of some of the hotels in cape town.They also charge you the parking fee of ZAR50 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 109 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,027 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#44 of 109 in Cape Town Central
872 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing