We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad experience!”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #95 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bad experience!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stood last and this year for almost 2 weeks in the Ritz Hotel in Cape Town before and after a cycle tour around the Western Cape and during the Argus race. This year that was a shocking experience.
- On arrival after an eleven hour flight in the middle of the night there was no pick-up at the air port in spite of an early booking and in spite of an additional confirmation a few days before arrival (upon my request as an extra check).
- There was no room available in spite of an early booking and in spite an additional confirmation some days before arrival (upon request as an extra check). Only thanks to the lonely receptionist an a security guard it was possible to prepare a room at that late time to sleep in.
- The hotel housed a large group of Argentinian rugby players which was extremely loud, their behaviour in the breakfast room and in the lobby was disgusting. They left the hotel in the morning around 3 o´clock. The noise they made (and their bus waiting with running engine right in front of the hotel) was such that lots of guests woke up for more than an hour and later complaint.
- The hotel housed (and does so often according to some employees) a large group of Nigerian trainees for an extended time. They behave inside and outside of the hotel in such a way that all other guests, especially tourist groups, were very much and personally disturbed. After working hours they hang around the entrance of the hotel and attract and bring in numbers of prostitutes. These prostitutes enter the hotel and go to the rooms without being booked in or either checked by the reception or the security guards. During the night it was very noisy in the floors where they perform their business from room to room. I was told by members of the staff that the security personal is being threatened by the Nigerians and does not dare to act appropriately I saw myself that they walked away from the parking area in order to avoid contact with the Nigerians.
- On a Sunday I used the elevator together with several Nigerians and prostitutes. Shortly after I left the hotel I noticed that my smartphone had vanished out of my pocket. Obviously taken by one of the Nigerians or prostitutes.
- I talked to several employees of the hotel. They all complained that the rooms where the Nigerians sleep or eat (e.g. the former Confrence Centre which they use for eating) are in a disgusting are in a miserable, dirty and smelly condition. Almost everyone of them claimed having already been threatened. They pointed out that problems with these Nigerian trainees already result in a growing lack of western tourists. According to 2 employees in recent times less and less European tourist groups are in the hotel. All of them knew about the problem but obviously nobody does any thing about it. I was explicitly asked by some members of the staff to complain to the "highest management".

Room Tip: As high as possssible to avoid noisy guests. Corner rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siegfried N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    233
    204
    106
    128
See reviews for
124
262
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This review is long overdue. Spent 2 evenings in the Ritz. Was a corner room, but surrounded by windows. It was cozy, and safe. Had an excellent view from our room. Could see Robben Island. Located in Sea Point Main Road, take-out places in close proximity. The closest one was Steers, just across the road. We took a walk to the beach, and the V & A Waterfront is very close, if you don't have a car, you can take a taxi. Lots to do at the Waterfront, among others local fish & chips place. Close Activities included... Trip to Robben Island, Boat rides, Cable-car ride up Table Mountain, Camps Bay beach is not that far off, and a great place to swim, tan or just chill. Buy some tickets for the red tour bus that will take you all around Cape Town. Visiting the Castle is a must, as well as the museum in the botanical gardens.

Room Tip: Corner room as high up as possible, best view, and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel,amazing location very helpful staff. Might not be the best value for money wise -can get similar hotels for slightly cheaper. But great experience nonetheless .amazing city.will def be returning

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Great location at sea point on bantry bay. Shops located nearby and Irish bar on the corner is a good stop to meet friendly locals.
Hotel staff were great & helped organise some local trips for us. Pool area is nice too and great to enjoy a beer after a day seeing the sights

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronanocathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheam, surrey
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Ritz for 2 nights with my husband and 4 daughters. The staff at the hotel tried their best to deal with all our enquiries and needs. They were happy for the girls to all stay in the same room and sorted out the beds appropriately. The beds were comfortable and the linen was clean. The whole hotel felt a little dated but it was fine for the money we paid. The location was OK and just a quick taxi or bus ride to the waterfront. The pool area was a little bare and could do with more sunbeds and perhaps some background music. The breakfast was adequate but some things ran out very quickly. Overall I think the hotel was OK.

Room Tip: The west facing rooms were very hot in February.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolncrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We were rudely greeted when arrived from JHB. Our room was dirty. There was blood stains on the shower curtain. We had no towels. Our TV did not work and the hotel didn't seem to care when we informed them of this, they didn't even bother to assist us or fix the TV. Our air con did not work. We checked out early as we could not stay here for longer than 1 night. Do not stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Arrived from Johannesburg by car at 3am and find out there wasn't any room available (made a phone call to say we'd arrive late) and the room was booked 3 weeks in advance. After 10 minutes the night staff told me to go to a room that they found eventually (?!) and when we got to it, no bed and no mattress ! After a while we were told they would put two beds inside the room and 20 minutes later we were given a room on the top floor with two single beds side by side (for the beginning of 'romantic' holidays not ideal..)... The worst part of the whole thing were the small cockroaches (dead and alive). Finding one on your pillow when you're tired at 4am ain't funny... Let's not forget the small towel with brown spots. Disgusting.
To finish it all I'd strongly recommend breakfast at Experanza, the restaurant in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fimoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
422 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,284 reviews
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#62 of 109 in Cape Town Central
372 reviews
Cascades on the Promenade
#44 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing