We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far below Expectations!”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Far below Expectations!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked through Expedia and made the mistake of relying on the name Ritz and the star rating of the hotel - both misleading. Here is why we will not recommend this hotel :

1. We were stuck in a west facing room with unbearable heat for about an hour due to a broken AC. We did get a new room eventually but not without calling the reception at least three times. Also, the AC is central and makes a ton of noise when switched on.

2. The bed spreads and towels in the new room were torn and shabby. Each day we would receive two towels in a room with three guests and we would waste time calling the reception to ask for more.

3. The bathroom fittings were very old and making the flush and shower work was a task in itself.

4. We had new guests at our door late one night trying to check into the same room and the reception calling at 1 am to ask when we were moved to that room.

5. Parking is a nightmare. We had to park in non designated spaces on quite a few occasions.

6. There is no free wifi. The best you can get is 30 mins in the lobby at very slow speed.

The complimentary breakfast is good and most of the staff is courteous and friendly. However, on the back of the experience we had, I would advise people to stay away.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    232
    204
    107
    128
See reviews for
124
262
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights during the festive season.
Granted the hotel is a little on the old side with old fashioned decor, a few loose fittings and tight bedroom windows, however the view from the room is spectacular. For a 3 star hotel, all needs and basic requirements are met. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are divine an certainly fuel you for the day ahead. The pool deck is marvelous and spacious.
An overall enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room when booking. It will certainly "wow" you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

The Hotel itself appears on first glance to be ok but I find the devil is in the detail. And the detail here was very poor. This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. The reception appears ok, but it is the rooms that really let this place down. Below were just a few issues.
Torn net curtains
Lightbulb out in main room
Toilet holder broken
Shelf in bathroom hanging off
Bathroom tiles mouldy
Safe not working every time
Soaps replaced by shampoo?
Hole in one of the pillow cases
Stains on towels and bed sheets
Double room had two single beds put together
Sewer smell from the bathroom
Peeling ceiling tiles
Chipped paint coming off walls
Main reception helpful but not particularly welcoming
One or two of these things on their own aren't the end of the world, but all together, just ruined the stay
Breakfast which was included was ok
Having stayed in a few places travelling around SA, this was definitely the worst, and a massive let down at the end of an otherwise great holiday
FYI the Hotel is near Seapoint but these beaches are not sandy. Everything however is within 5 to 10 mins cab drive, including Camps Bay (sandy beach) and V and A Wharf
I accept that this Hotel is a 3 star but I have seen better at a Travelodge, I would not stay here again

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevelivingthedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is not what you would expect from a three star establishment. It took almost an hour to check in with a confirmed booking the specific evening. There were a number of other frustrated guests also waiting for their rooms. I planned and booked a three night stay but checked out after the first night. I have stayed in a number of establishments in Sea Point, Cape Town during the past month in the same price range and would definitely not recommend this establishment.

The room was a total disappointment. The bed mattresses were worn through and stained. The bed linen was dirty. The towels in the bathroom were old and worn. Coffee and tea is provided in the room but there is no kettle. In my opinion, the hotel interior and the especially the rooms are in urgent need of a make-over.

In general the exterior of the hotel is not well maintained. Hotel guests are expected to pay additional for parking and Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jak307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Well it might be the Ritz by name but it ends shortly after that.
Sure the main entrance is pretty grand for certain and the staff are polite; the bar way up in the sky is awesome and a way cool place to go for sun downers.....
Sadly it ends bout there....
- the room was tiny
- the pillows uncomfortable
- bathroom left a lot to be desired and was very 70's; to the point that the 70's hair dryer tube which blew out warm air was cut off.
- bathroom smelt of smoke due to neighbours smoking in their room (shared air vent system)
- the room AC was not very good
- the TV antenna wasnt even plugged in and after we solved that one we figured out that there wasnt any decent reception.....

Room Tip: Pick another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctravla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is not that expensive, but quality is really not good. The name 'Ritz' gives you another expectation. Wifi vouchers were sold out, the airco did not work, it's old fashioned. The view is great, the location good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I made the mistake of not reading the reviews before I booked here. It’s not a bad hotel, but it’s not the best either. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is right on the seafront, close to good eateries, and very convenient. It also has a lovely pool area, but I would recommend you take your own beach towel. The towels they had available looked old and shabby. Another positive is that they have happy hour (1/2 price on all drinks) between 6pm and 7pm, and at the restaurant at the top of the hotel between 5pm and 6pm. Like most reviewers have stated, this hotel is definitely in need of a facelift. We were first put in room 1311, which had an okay view but definitely felt as if you stepped back into the 1980’s. My husband then got us a better room with better views, 1801. However, the bathrooms are very outdated and do not have any windows or extractor fans. When we tried to open the window in the room, some of the plaster came off the wall, and if you put the aircon on high, it made a noise. After the room was made up, the plaster was still lying on the carpet, so they didn’t even vacuum the room. The lady that cleaned the room also just walked into our room without knocking. She apologised saying that she thought we were still out, but as we were having a romantic weekend, you don’t expect that to happen. The television is outdated as well and lacked variety. When we ordered ice to be brought to our room, we were told it would take 20 minutes, for ice! Breakfast was adequate but the service was not the best, the tables weren’t set properly and there was no one to ask for your room number, so anyone could just walk in and help themselves. Birds were also flying around the breakfast area, not very hygienic. They also ran out of mushrooms on one of the mornings. Overall, it was okay but I wouldn’t recommend this hotel. If you are going to stay here, I wouldn’t expect too much.

And if you want to eat at the revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel, I would suggest you book two weeks in advance. I tried to make a booking a week in advance and they were booked out.

Room Tip: For better views, choose a room higher up and a room number ending in 01/02.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WreckHavoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#100 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#44 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing