We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz - better than expected”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I read some pretty harsh reviews about the CT Ritz. I was however pleasantly surprised. Yes the hotel is in need of a refurbishment, but the level of service, location and value for money more than made up for this. The hotel manager Peter van Eck went out of his way to make our stay at the Ritz pleasant. Dinner at the revolving rooftop restaurant was also a big treat. On my next trip to CT I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charl9686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I decided to try the Ritz as a base in Cape Town but sadly this is a very tired Hotel. I stayed on the 7th floor where the passage has a musty smell about it.
My room was clean, the bed fairly comfortable but that was where any luxury ended. The Desk was located outside the bathroom in a narrow passage. I did wonder why until I moved it to a more practical spot and discovered the large burn in the carpet from a previous guest. I ate at the revolving restaurant one evening (not cheap) and had a very tasty piece of fish but the accompanying vegetables were stone cold. Breakfast on the 1st floor is very basic but adequate. I doubt I will ever return here.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zs1rap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was a real pleasure staying at the Ritz Hotel recently. It was so easy to get there by public transport. The rooms have everything you would expect from a 3 star hotel. But not the view. This was 5 stars.

The facilities, restaurants, and other amenities make this hotel the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. It was also easy to get to the V&A waterfront by the My City Bus. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We had a great breakfast and the staff were very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Sea Facing and above level 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome !! 3nyts ☆☆☆ Room service .. Front Desk support .. Telephone service .. All round perfection.. Thx much, Great views and Vibes .. Great Location and ohh so nice pool great time to grab a swim -right before 6:30 sundowna

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank AndrewJGallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My room had very nice views , check in was a bit haphazard , the staff need to improve . Overall i was happy with my stay . I enjoyed the breakfast , a great selection , coffee could improve . The revolving restaurant is worth going to .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have very much enjoyed my stay at The Cape Ritz Hotel. All of the staff from the Manager down to the cleaning staff have been very helpful. The staff at the desk and at reservations have made me feel most welcome. The views from the rooms over Cape Town, Table View and the Ocean are tremendous- quite unique in the city. The revolving restaurant is unique in all of Africa.
My room was very nice , well maintained with a beautifully tiled bathroom and large bathtub. The room was nicely air conditioned with various levels of cooling. The bed was very comfortable. There was a television with various channels. The swimming pool and area with nice lounge chairs is very attractive.
The food is excellent. There is a wide variety of foods offered at the large buffet breakfast.Included are fresh juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts, a choice of cereals, various types of breads which can be toasted, pastries and muffins with fresh butter,margarine and a selection of jams and honey. Also there are hot foods with eggs and omelettes cooked to order, bacon, fish cakes, potatoes, tomatoes, baked beans and mushrooms. A selection of teas and coffee is served as well.
The hotel is very well located right in Sea Point - the well known holiday centre of the city- and the new City bus system is a two minute walk away with these modern buses traveling all around the city and to the most important visitor locations.
Altogether I find The Cape Ritz Hotel to be an excellent place to stay and very well located in Cape Town for an enjoyable holiday experience.
Thomas- visiting from Nassau Bahamas

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My trip to Cape Town started really bad when another hotel somehow lost our reservation and found us a room to accomodate us at the Ritz. When I read the reviews online I freaked out of course but then I was surprised how the trip turned out. We had issues with the room they first gave us so they made sure they upgraded us to one of the best rooms in the hotel with beautiful view and comfortable beds. What was the highlight about this hotel is that they provided their huge conference room free of charge for a charity event I was doing for street kids in Cape Town. The management and some of the staff also attended to support the kids. They also called guests at the hotel and invited them as well to help me get more support for the children. It was great to see such support from people whom I just met.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#39 of 110 in Cape Town Central
476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#78 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £67 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing