We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #95 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel”
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Faded slightly in its decor however i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel , there were 8 of us and everyone was pleased with it. Nice restuarant and breakfast , pool is lovely , staff (with one exception) were excellent and very friendly.

Rooms come with cable tv and have excellent views over the bay and the under construction world cup stadium.

I would definitely stay here again . good stuff

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    233
    204
    106
    128
See reviews for
124
262
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Stayed in Ritz hotel 25dec till 31 dec and we liked our stay at the hotel breakfast is excellent and nice view but you can hear noise from next room but still for the price and location i would stay again.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank raj_aryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed at the Ritz for 10 days. The location was great but we experienced too many problems with the Ritz. First day we were there, the maid stole sweets from our room and money was also missing. We reported this and the maid did admit to taking the sweets, money is still yet to be solved. The room was out dated, the toilet wouldn't flush and there was water leaking all over the bathroom floor. The TV stopped working and every morning there was constant noise from works being carried out within the hotel. Overall it is the worst hotel we've ever stayed at and would not recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape town.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Very impressed with the hotel, the view, the service and the breakfast. Outstanding value for money and would definitely book here next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Liked — Views and restaurant on top
  • Disliked — A little outdated
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Don't expect the Ritz to live up to its more famous namesake in London. It's a bit shabby with 1970s decor, and it is overrun by tour groups. That apart, it's not a bad base for spending a few nights in this fantastic city as long as you're not going to be spending much time in your room. On the plus side, it has great views of the beach and is reasonably priced. The revolving restaurant is a novelty, but you'll find much better food in the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearytravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Stayed here for 10 days!

Location: located at sea point, about a 45 minute walk to the waterfront, or 5 mins in a taxi. We walked to the waterfront during the day and evening and seemed perfectly safe, we use to get a taxi back in the night time. Also 10 min taxi ride to camps bay - lovely beach, bars and restaurants here!

Room: Little dated, but clean and daily room service. No problems.

Staff: Very helpful and friendly!

Food: Excellent buffet breaskfast - good choice and standards. Make sure you book into the revolving restaurant when you arrive - amazing views and food! It gets booked up quick tho, so book early!

Pool: Quiet, clean pool with sun loungers and a lovely view.

Excursions: Do as many as you can - cage diving with great whites, day safari, climb table mountain - (don't do the cable car - walk it!), boulders beach to see the penguins, national park to see the monkeys, wine tasting, kirstenbosch botanical gardens, ..........................., they're all amazing!

Overall: Good value hotel, it's basic, but what do you expect for the amazing price! Cape town is one of the most fantastic places I have been - so much to do, the best food I have ever tasted , cheap food and wine and we felt completely safe for the whole time we were there! Enjoy!

  • Liked — Food, staff, swimming pool, clean
  • Disliked — Basic accomodation, liitle out the way from bars/restaurants
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greasby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

We booked the Ritz as we were joining a Kumuka tour, which was departing from another hotel which was fully booked out. Initially I was very disappointed not to be staying at our departure hotel, but the Ritz was so good, I ended up wishing we were staying longer!

Room: As per previous posts, the hotel room was a little dated, but it was very large and spacious, and most importantly – clean & comfortable!

We were given a corner room on the 9th Floor, so we had fab views to the beach. The hotel is walking distance to the beach, not more than 10mins away.

Food: The breakfast was fantastic, with a huge buffet on offer with lots of choices.

Staff: The Staff were incredibly helpful and really friendly, it was some of the best customer service we had in Cape Town.
The batteries in our room safe were flat, and somebody came up right away to fix the problem for us. Nothing was too much trouble.

Location: The hotel is an excellent location only a short taxi ride away from the V&A waterfront (there is a taxi rank directly outside the hotel). Make sure you agree a price or get the driver to use the meter, before starting your journey.

There is also an Avis car hire place directly next to the hotel and although we’d hired our car from The Strand Avis office and were supposed to return it there, the lovely Avis people let us return it to this office instead.

The hotel also has parking if you have a hire car.

There are also lots of restaurants along the main road, with a Pick n’ Pay supermarket & ATM’s located in a shopping centre about 10mins walk from the hotel along Main Drive heading away from Cape Town.

If you don’t want to use the hotels laundry service, which is quite expensive, directly in front of the hotel on Main Drive, there is a drycleaners who will do a bag wash for 40R.

  • Liked — Location was good, lots of restaurants around it
  • Disliked — Decor a little dated
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dekoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
371 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,044 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cascades on the Promenade
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing