We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in cape town”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 July 2006

we stayed at the Ritz back in January and found it to be a very pleasant place. We found it convenient for the Waterfront and it is a stones throw from the citys "Gay Village". we found the staff to be wonderfully friendly and helpful. Our room was serviced perfectly and the towels were luvly and fresh. Oor room had a fantastic view of the "Lions Head" and the restaurant at the top is reasonably priced with the best views in Cape Town. The breakfast is brilliant and included in the price. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are going back to The Ritz again in August. Hopefully our second stay will be as nice as the first.

Steve and Jason

Portsmouth U.K.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Giles2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2006

I stayed here in January 2006. The price of the room was excellent and varied greatly from different websites I looked at so shop around. The hotel is located in Sea Point which is an ideal location for exploring Cape Town as it lies between Cape Town itself and the beaches (Clifton and Camps Bay). The hotel say they are a 10-15 minute walk from the V & A Waterfront but it took me about 30 minutes to walk there. The hotel picked me up at the airport although they charge the same as the airport shuttle bus for this service. My room was allocated straight away despite being 8.30 in the morning (check-in time is after 2pm). The room was medium sized with fitted wardrobes, a television and two single beds pushed together. The room had a nice view over Lion Head and the ocean. The bathroom was okay with the same spectacular view. It could have done with being re-tiled though as some tiles were cracked and the grouting was dirty. The breakfast is very good here, there is a wide selection of everything you could possibly want and eggs are cooked to order in front of you. You can sit in the very large dining area or by the pool on the terrace but there are very few tables outside. There is a bar and restaurant on the top floor with spectacular views. The concierge can arrange excursions for you but I hired a car myself. One day the maid forgot to put towels in my room so I called reception and they said they would send some up. After about an hour and three phone calls later I had to go and get them myself from a rather surly receptionist. All in all I liked this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paul38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

We stayed at the Ritz in December 2005 and considering peak season, we paid a very good rate (booked via the hotel's website). The room offered a marvellous view over Cape Town and was clean. The essential amenities worked and staff was really friendly. So, we'll certainly stay there again on our next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bournemouth, England
16
Reviewed 14 April 2006

After reading the reviews on this site we arrived not expecting too much. And not to disappoint we got off to a bad start. I travelled with my Wife and child of nearly three. After travelling for 24 hours we were told on checking in that the Hotel was fully booked and that we would have to stay at their sister hotel the St.Georges in the City Centre and that they would transfer us back four days later. Although at first we thought this a major inconvenience it worked out not to be too bad as we got to see the the centre and the waterfront was only a ten minute walk.
Back at the Ritz they were very helpful and friendly when we eventually checked in and gave us a room with a fantastic view.The room was clean and we had our sheets changed every day, the only down side was when the wind blew the noise was horrendous and it felt as if the windows were going to fall in. The pool was a little chilly infact the wife did not go in as she said it was freezing. The walk to the waterfront took us a leisurely 45 mins along the promenade and seafront.The hotel is a little dated and needs a refurbishment but is ok for the money. We only ate at the hotel for breakfast and this was generally very good. The location is not bad but having an Avis car rental place next door is very handy. If we went back to Cape Town we would not use this Hotel again.
Cape Town itself was gorgeous with fantastic scenery. We did not feel uncomfortable walking about although at night we did get licensed taxis and the latest we stayed out was 21.30
All in All Cape Town 8/10 Ritz Hotel 5/10

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2006

We stayed at the Ritz for the cycle tour in March. Over the course of two weeks, we had three different rooms at the hotel. There is a huge disparity in the rooms! Our favorite rooms were higher up as they had incredible views. Our corner room on the 20th floor seemed to catch all the wind noise and it sounded like you were in a hurricane whenever the wind blew (which was all the time). One of the rooms we were in had a safe, the others did not, but the closets locked with the room key. The hotel is rather old so the bathrooms aren't very roomy or well set up. Front desk personnel steered us wrong on a couple things such as transportation when they "tried" to help us, and we were left without any transportation after being told we were all set up. Messages don't seem to find their way to your rooms until a day later if at all, and often they are wrong. Some rooms don't even have a phone, and our friends checked into a room that had dirty towels. Overall, we were a little disappointed with the lodging. However, the revolving restaurant on top of the hotel is fabulous, with great food for very reasonable prices.
If we go back to Cape Town, I would look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mtkitchn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Buckinghamshire, England
12
Reviewed 27 February 2006

THE RITZ, SEAPOINT, CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA

My friends and I have just returned from 8 days in South Africa, 26th February, and we all stayed at the above hotel.

Firstly I would advise anyone booking the hotel to also follow up all requirements by letter not e mail. Fortunately I did this as when we arrived my party of 6 ladies we had been book into 3 double rooms not twind. My resturant reservation for a birthday celebration at the famous roof top restaurant on the 21st floor of the Ritz had not been entered. The hotel shuttle to collect us was not big enough to hold more than 4 people, so I had to pay for an additional taxi to take us to the hotel. Hotel very basic and suffers from power cuts, which can last up to 12/14 hours at a time. Room service is non extisant. Do not use the hotel shuttle for your return trip, we booked ours with the hotle reception and confirmed with the shuttle driver, only to find when we arrived for the shuttle he had gone home. The hotel were very good they found a member of staff to drive the shuttle, so 4 of the party when ahead with the luggage, to find he did not know the way to the airport, and could not drive the bus which then blew up as he had ridden the clutch, and yes we had to pay for another taxi to come and collect party and get them to the airport an hour late. Luckly we had booked our seats.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2006

Great value hotel.
Large bedrooms with fantastic views of mountain and sea. Good size bathroom with plenty of hot water and proper bath. Clean sheets and fluffy white towels every day.
Breakfasts were excellent especially the fruit and danish pastries! Our meal in the revolving restaurant was superb, so was the pianist and the sunset - don`t leave it `til your last night like we did.
The water in the pool was rather cold and there weren`t enough sunbeds or chairs but it`s an attractive area to laze around in, have a drink and enjoy the view.
The staff were lovely and very helpful and I would definately recommend it even though it is about 20 minutes walk from the waterfront.(40 rand taxi fare)

Stayed: January 2006
5  Thank JaneBrighton_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.7 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £139 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing