We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a horrible stay!!!! Never ever this overpriced nightmare.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #92 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cologne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a horrible stay!!!! Never ever this overpriced nightmare.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We went to cape town for the semi final world cup 2010. Ok, therefore I can understand the high prices, but for what we got it was really a rip-off. First of all, reception personal started shouting at each other behind the desk while we were waiting for check-in. Then we got the keys to our room and it was horrible. Apart from the old furniture and interieur, it was dirty (especially the sheets), old and there was an unbearable stink like someone had died in this room. The windows could just be opened a little bit. But the worst of all was the noise during the night. We had a room next to the elevator (4 of 12 rooms per level are at the elevator) and this old thing was running through the night and held us awake. I travelled a lot and I slept in many backpacker lodges, so I am not fussy, but this was the worst hotel I have ever been. The only good thing was the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kisha_Cologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    231
    204
    107
    127
See reviews for
124
261
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Very Very decent accomodation for the price you pay - sub 50$ accomodation for 2 offering goodies worth 100$ plus stay. Nice chic clean accomodation - Stayed in 15 ft X 10 ft room, bathroom ensuite with bath tub on 6th floor with poolside view.
Location is quiet central - 5 min to V & A waterfront, 2 min walk to seaside, seapoint. 2 min walk from the City Sightseeing Hop on Hop off bus stop. Convenient to go anywhere in the city.
5 Rands by minibus taxi to Station- City, 40 Rands by cab. Breakfast was the hallmark of the stay(included in stay). Well spread lavish breakfast. Stayed in South Africa for 2 weeks. None of the hotels offered this great value. Has a well maintained clean pool for lazing around - next to the breakfast lounge. Revolving restrauant on the top floor with stunning Capetown views. Illuminated Soccer Stadium looks beautiful from the restraunt. Food / Liquor is decently priced.
Has a travel desk nr the Reception Lounge for arranging sightseeing tours.
I was supposed to leave early -6 am on the last day of my stay. Hotel staff was very courteous in offering us a packed breakfast @ 5.30 am in the morning. Exceptional stuff!!! Kudos to Ritz team !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUESNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

I booked this hotel for the astonishingly low price of around $49 (US) a night, including a complimentary breakfast, so i wasn't expecting the Ritz-Carlton. While I agree with many of the other reviewers that this hotel has seen better days and is in need of some modernization (it appears to have been built sometime in the 1960's), it is a clean, well situated property (in the upscale residential neighborhood of Sea Point), one block from the ocean and Promenade. The rooms, while not large, are more than adequate in size and are quiet. I had a corner room with excellent views of the ocean and Lion's Head Mountain. It was on the 6th floor and had coffee and tea making facilities, a color TV and toiletries in the bathroom; although channels were limited and reception was about average. I found the staff to be professional and attentive, although somewhat reserved.

The hotel is situated about a mile or so from the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront area, and it is a very pleasant walk along the oceanfront, if one is so inclined. Otherwise, taxis in the area are reasonably priced and plentiful and the Hop-on/Hop-off bus stops about four blocks from the hotel. The neighborhood seemed relatively safe during the day and early evening hours and there are plenty of good restaurants within a block or two of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very tasty, offering juices, coffee, tea, fruit, yogurt, a variety of breads and rolls, eggs, sausages, etc. There is also a reasonably priced luncheon buffet. Internet is available at the hotel at a modest price and the hotel offers complimentary adapters for recharging I-pods, cameras, etc. (South African electrical outlets are somewhat unique).

Overall, I would say that this hotel represents excellent value for the money and i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LALawyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Spent nine (9) days at The Ritz and we were very happy. After reading numerous online reviews, some poeple were not pleased at all while others loved the hotel. Please spend a little extra and get a deluxe room. This will ensure a renovated room, clean linens, a comfortable bed, and a clean bathroom. Yes, you can hear running water in the pipes in the walls. But you cannot beat the price, location, and views! Ask for a higer floor room away from the elevators -- we did and it was great. We used the hotel as a "home base" while exploring Cape Town and the surrounding areas, and it was perfect. Within walking distance to many restaurants, two blocks from the ocean, safe neighborhood even at night, grocery store one block away, Avis rental car located right next door, many tours pick you up at the hotel, the hop on-hop off bus and city bus are within comfortable walking distance, and all taxis know the hotel for late night return trips from the V&A Waterfront. The breakfast buffet that is included was amazing and we did not get bored with the offerings after nine days -- that is saying something!! The only negative thing I can say is that the rooms still have physical keys, as opposed to electronic keys. That said, we did not encounter any problems with our luggage or belongings. Would stay at the Ritz again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yesharvardsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I was in Ritz from 7th to 10th May 2010 as a solo traveler . Had gone there for a conference. Here is my review of Ritz.
Hotel is very good in terms of its location. Walkable distance from sea-point and has some scenic views of Atlantic ocean and mountains. Make sure you get a room on higher floors as views are best from there. (I was on 14th Floor). Food is very good. I am a veggie and had some good choices for food both in the Cafe and the revolving restaurant.
Service is sporadically cordial. Some staff members are very polite and friendly (such as the staff at revolving restaurant and at travel desk). None of them are particularly rude but some showed in no interest in listening to problems and answering queries.
Cleanliness is perhaps the most negative point of the hotel. The carpet in the rooms was dirty and stained. I guess the reason for that is the hotel is very conservative in water consumption.
Overall, I will rate this hotel around 3.5 out of 5 as for the rates it charges, the services are acceptable. I would stay again in Ritz if I visit cape town next.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

I believe that the Ritz is a solid three star hotel. It's decent. We didn't have any bugs or maintenance problems. The "safety" bar on the door was broken and ineffective. (But I always travel with a doorstop for just such reasons.)

The rooms were ok. Dated and could've used an update. The hotel also had a funky smell to it, like a beach hotel. But, it was a good value for the money and we had no major complaints. Don't expect luxury here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravlingNJMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Saw some of the reviews and thought that they were a bit harsh having experienced the hotel for a 2 day stay. We had previously stayed for 12 days with family in Mossel Bay and we upgraded our room to a deluxe and it cost £60 per night with breakfast.

The room was ok, clean and tidy but the shower was defective and sprayed water everywhere, but that was the only complaint.

The staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome. They have a happy hour 5pm-6pm and its very good especially sitting by the small pool outside.

We didnt eat at the restraurant but had cocktails watching the sun go down. Very nice at £4.

Go to the Harbour and eat at Quay 4. Very reasonable and good quality for al a carte with a great view. £4.50 for a taxi from the hotel and check out Mitchells Scottish drinking pub on the harbour if you like real ale and well known lager.

Finally the hotel is a great location for visits and we did a wine tour which is a must.

The only downside £30 in a taxi from the airport.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hodgeyWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#99 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#101 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing