We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a 5 Star!”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost a 5 Star!”
Reviewed 15 October 2007

This was my second time staying at the Commodore Hotel in Cape Town. Flying 12,000 miles to the same destination and choosing the same hotel truly bespeaks about this hotel's offering.

It is a perfect location - whether you are walking down to the VA Water front or renting a car to drive all over, it is a great starting and ending point. The service is kind, friendly, unexpectant, and like home. Even though the rooms are not "WOW", they are clean and provide a great place to be at the end of a day. They are a little simple for my taste, but work.

The food is great - especially the breakfast. I recommend this hotel highly. Being a repeat customer who has visited all over the world (personal holidays not business) - over 20 countries - I must say this is one of the Best!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    570
    159
    47
    24
See reviews for
164
510
84
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at this hotel, really friendly and helpful staff, without being OTT. We had a lovely room with a balcony on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and courtyard. We ate in the hotel restaurant 2 nights, the food was excellent each time, dresscode is quite casual so I had no need to buy those lovely dresses!! I had a back massage in the their S.K.I.N Spa which was great, I would recommend booking a few days in advance so you don't have to arrange your day around their time. We hired a car which they parked for use and then brought to the front of the hotel as we required it, it costs R80 a day to park it (driving to very simple, good sign posts etc). Good location for V&A. Overall a really great hotel which I would def go back to.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EnjoyYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We stayed at the Commodore for 2 nights and you could not fault the hotel or the fantastic service.
The rooms were lovely with all facilities you would need - safe, hairdryer, filled mini-bar and the view from our balcony was looking straight at Table Mountain.
The hotel is literally a 5 min walk from the V&A Waterfront, if that. I was worried about feeling un-safe walking back at night, but it was so close that this wasn't a problem.
There is an under-ground car park which is shared with the sister hotel the Portswood next door - there are only a few reserved spaces for the Commodore Hotel and you do have to pay for this via the hotel's reception.
The restaurant, lobby areas and pool area were lovely and there was a great choice of food for breakfast.
They have a Travel desk that are happy to help with any arrangements - we wanted tickets for the cricket the next day - we went out for an hour and when we got back he had them there in his hand for us - fantastic service!
Would definitly recommend this hotel - great location!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

We loved our stay here. The location is terrific (right at the waterfront shops and restaurants), the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast was extensive and delicious, and the staff was very friendly.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazell Terrace
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

An excellent hotel, very close to the V&A Waterfront. The entrance hall is very plush and the staff are very welcoming and friendly.

Our room was excellent, with a small balcony, very nice, clean, bathroom. Beds were turned down for you after your evening meal and cleaned twice a day.

Breakfast was an adventure in itself, with almost any combination of breakfast foods available to suit all tastes.

It appeared to be very secure in this area. The V&A has it's own armed guards and they appeared to range as far as the the Commodore. At no time did either of us feel at all threatened.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — The staff made a real effort to use your christian name whenever appropriate.
  • Disliked — Having staff do EVERYTHING for you can be a little overpowering if you're not used to it.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney_Parade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 4 nights after 10 nights of luxury in Mauritius. However, this place was just as nice. Dead friendly staff, who all addressed you by name, and were really helpful. The hotel sorted out a car for us for 2 days, and gave us advise where to go, and got us a MUCH cheaper deal compared to the hire car company that our travel agents wanted us to book with. We got upgraded to a business class room, which had an amzing ocean view and Table Mountain view.
They also recommended places to eat, and took us to Table Mountain on the day we wanted to go up AND offered to pick us up afterwards as well. They parked our car for us and got it out for us again when we wanted it the next day!
Really safe area round the hotel as well with security guards everywhere. I felt a bit apprehensive beforehand with Cape Town's reputation, but felt very much at ease in and around the hotel. It is also 2 minutes walk to top restaurants at the Waterfront!
I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Family (60, 57, 35, 32) enjoyed 3 nights during our Africa vacation. Front Desk staff was professional and helpful, which is what one expects. Bell staff always addressed our family by name (a super touch), which made us appreciate their efforts. Bell staff was quick to act, and were extremely helpful when we had left documents and a camera on the shuttle from the airport to the Commodore. We hadn't realized anything was missing until we returned from our excursion to Table Mountain, the next day. But when the tour company contacted them about some items left in the shuttle, the bell staff took action and had everything returned to us.

Restaurant for buffet breakfast was normal fare, but done with what Americans call the " British way." The white glove treatment, literally, was the vogue. Very professional! We did not eat dinner since we were always out.

Rooms were clean! Bedding was comfortable. Room service quick and hot. Hotel lobby also served as a relaxing living room with a wonderful fireplace that my daughter loved. I would enjoy a nice double whisky each evening in this area.

More a business hotel based on the breakfast guests, but we always had a comfortable feeling with the place. However, we did get a kick out of the well-dressed person (woman and man) who is there to press the elevator button, when they see you going towards the elevator.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank user906098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing