We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good value. Getting a little tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and good value. Getting a little tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

As a base in Cape Town this is excellent. 5 minutes walk to the V&A Waterfront which has great bars and restaurants. Generally helpful staff, some very, some less so, but all very friendly. Good breakfast and a great and well equipped gym.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ServicemattersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    531
    148
    47
    22
See reviews for
148
475
78
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Stayed for 8 days in February, overall very good value (they had a stay 7 days or more for 50% deal online). Rooms were nice and serviced by the cleaning staff twice a day though there's not a lot of free space in the rooms. Room had small balcony, which was nice to let in fresh air, but not big enough or furnished to enable sitting outside on it.

The staff were very friendly and it seemed like every aspect of service was staffed 24/7. I could come back from a late dinner and drinks and still book a tour for the next morning! The concierge were always helpful, as was the front desk.

Did not eat at the hotel as it is so close to the V&A Waterfront, which you can eat amazing food at (however in camps bay the food will be just as good, on the beach, and 1/3 the price). It was a 2 minute walk to the Waterfront, in the late evenings you'd sometimes have kids begging on the way to and fro, nothing frightening, but they were insistent.

One day the hotel gave notice that no water would be available due to city works from 11pm to 4am, things didn't go according to plan and there was no water until much later in the day (early evening). While the staff was friendly and brought up bottles of water to wash your face/brush teeth, there was no real compensation (ie like a free day on next visit or even a bar voucher which would have seemed a nice gesture).

Overall I would go back to the hotel if I went back to the Waterfront area, its got a nice pool area and outdoor courtyard for drinks with great staff. That said Camps Bay will probably be where I stay next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelMcD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvH, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you for for your views on the hotels service and standard and it was a real pleasure to hear what you had to say. I have always maintained that our staff and their approach to the bussiness and our guests is what really make the hotel and creates memories that can be taken home. Just a pity about the water crisis we were faced with, which was a burst pipe on the V & A Waterfronts main pipe line.

I hope that you were able to enjoy all the sights and sounds that Cape Town has to offer and look forward to welcoming you back. If there is anything that we can do in future please do not hesitate to contact me.

All the best


Andrew van Hasselt
Deputy General Manager
The Commodore & PortsWood Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The hotel is a nice base in Cape Town - close enough to walk to and from the V&A even at night but not on the front so slightly cheaper than some. Breakfast is great. The rooms and rest of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvH, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you for your review on the hotel and the service we had to offer, I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be able to welcome you back again in the not to distant future.

All the best


Andrew van Hasselt
Deputy General Manager
The Commodore & PortsWood Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

comfortable rooms, but in need of refurbishment, but a great position and with exceptional staff.

A thoroughly enjoyable saty...very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandTDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvH, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you for your coments about the hotel, we are currently looking at making some changes to our restaurant, we have recently replaced all the furniture fittings in the hotels lobby and look forward to some exciting changes in the future.

All the best



Andrew van Hasselt
Deputy General Manager
The Commodore & PortsWood Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Great location. Rooms could do with bit of overhaul, bit outdated decor. Carpet soaking under air conditioning. TV kept dropping signal. Free internet access but is the most slow connection I've ever experienced.

Staff on the whole are friendly and helfpul.

Despite booking a room with a queen bed, got a room with 2 small beds. Used the gym and was amazed that guests are allowed to use it not dressed in gym gear - one did not even wear trainers.

Check out time 10 am which is ridiculous. Took an hour to get checked out as queues were ridiculous - no automatic checkout facility or desk individuals dedicated to people not in large groups.

Staff friendly.

Was amazed to see South African guests insist on being served breakfast at their table - it was a buffet breakfast and can honestly say, as a white Irishman, I would hate to have experienced the attitude during the aparthied era given the sheer lack of respect I saw from other guests to the African waiting staff in 2011.

Ralph the porter was great - despite the number of people coming and going, he remembered everyone's names.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stphnmcgwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, SA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Nice hotel, well positioned, large rooms, clean and friendly staff. BUT there is a lot of things I found irritating. Four days in a row my coffee was not properly replenished. The tv signal has an issue and the channels keep on dropping. The extractor fan sounds like a helicopter, door lock is not working (take minutes to get in my room), the shower leaves more water on the floor than than on me, internet is free, but slow and I found the mini bar prices excessive based on SA standards. Overall probably nice, but overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvH, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel at its services, althought not always what a person wants to hear but it can only help us in improving our product and service. your comments have been fed down to the relevent management to rectify and ensure that it does not happen again

Our staff eally apprciate your comments about being friendly, they are truely our biggest assest and really make a difference in all our guests experiences. I trust that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you do not become a stranger to the Legacy family.

All the best


Andrew van Hasselt
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. We were allocated a suite which was a welcome bonus.Hotel clean and comfortable, security was excellent. One critisism was the dining room, it was a bit tired and needs a makeover, also the cold buffet at breakfast really needs to be covered in some way as flies were also enjoying it too. We did enjoy our stay

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clark492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvH, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Thank you for giving us some feedback on your stay, it really is appriciated and allows us to better our product and service given to our guests.
I have spoken to the hotels chef regarding the cold buffet and he is currently rectifing the problem you experienced. during your stay.

We have just recently replaced all our tables and chairs in the restaurant and will be continuing with the improvments to the restaurant over the next ciouple of months, we are looking giving a new fresh coat of paint and most likely replacing the carpets.

On the whole I trust you enjoyed your stay with us and in Cape Town and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Hasselt
Deputy General Manager
The Commodore & PortsWood Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing