We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay at The Commodore”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at The Commodore”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our third stay at The Commodore Hotel. It's conveniently situated on the Waterfront in Cape Town, in easy reach of great shopping, restaurants and attractions. I'd made an error in our booking (booked myself in and not my husband, who's birthday the trip was intended to celebrate!) Not to worry Jackie on reception took care or everything and we ended up with a great room with a great view. As noted by another reviewer the hotel lifts were a bit temperamental during our stay but this was a minor issue.

All guests can have free wi-fi access or use the business suite pcs for free which we found useful. The standard of food at the hotel was good together with the service in both the bar and restaurant.

Good things - Cape Town tour bus; the Aquarium; the V&A Hotel (sit outside for a drink, eat good food and watch the world go by with fantastic views of Table Mountain); the Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserive (good restaurant there);

Things to avoid - Balthazar's restaurant on the Waterfront - the service was poor and we ended up (after getting chairs etc lifted over our heads) squashed with other diners (we left without finishing our meal)
Partners Hair Salon for women - again on the Waterfront - HUGELY OVERPRICED!!! and with breathtaking attitude. I got ripped off to the tune of just short of £50 for a vry ordinary wash and blowdry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the waterfront and Table Mountain - don't be afraid to complain if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    569
    158
    47
    24
See reviews for
164
507
84
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated to access the V&A waterfront, the mecca for tourism in Cape Town. The breakfast buffets were wonderful, rooms were comfortable (but instead of a queen bed, there were two singles so we couldn't snuggle). We ate next door for dinner (they are the sister hotel) - it was pretty good too. It is easy to walk the five minutes to the waterfront, even at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Location is great for the waterfront and convenient for getting the tour-bus etc. We were lucky to get a harbour-facing view with a balcony and the room was spacious and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. One criticism was the lifts, which seemed to be playing up at the time we were staying there, but that was a bit of a game of roulette which added to the fun!
The pool is very nice but poolside not too sunny. The gym is well equipped and very cool

Room Tip: If you're prepared to request it, ask for a harbour facing room with a balcony. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very comfortable hotel within a couple of minutes of the vibrant Waterfront shops and restaurants and also 2 minutes from the Aquarium and Hop on Hop off Tour Bus and a very good craft market. Also easy access to the Robben Island terminal.

The breakfast, which is included, was superb. Plenty of fruit, cereal, meats, cheese, smoked salmon the usual bacon, sausage etc. all types of eggs and steak. Wonderful.

The small pool was excellent after a hard days sightseeing.

Would definately recommend but as booked as part of package not certain of room rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here as part of a South Africa package, so I can't comment on rates directly. What we liked: good breakfast buffet that let us fuel up for the day; convenient location to waterfront shopping, dining and drinks, and Robben Island ferry, nice pool to chill after a hot day during Cape Town summer. Minor annoyances: Internet wifi pass code needed renewing, exchange rate at front desk was R6 to the us dollar when ATMs were well over 7. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sullivak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I was picked up from the airport by one of the hotel drivers. He was kind enough to proceed giving me a guided tour of the town, giving me a lot of insider information. That certainly was a nice touch to start my time at this hotel!

The rooms are ok, I stayed at the Club level and had a wonderful view over table mountain. There is a balcony but it is not usable, as a bank of air conditioning units on the roof of the next building are incredibly noisy....even at night and on weekends when nobody is using that building. No way could I have slept with the window open.

The location is great, I was able to walk around the waterfront, take the city bus and have a look around the wonderful craft center, all within striking distance of the hotel.

As I am travelling alone, I was a little limited in what I could do without a guide. Next time I am in Cape Town, I am going to walk up Table Mountain and upsail down.

By the way, Cape Towners are very proud of Table Mountain - be careful what you say about it! But between you and me: stick a couple of sheep on it and you could think you are in the Scottish Highlands :)
Breakfast was excellent with great service

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odettexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel has great location, right on the waterfront. They try to provide great service but fall short in several ways. Waitstaff is ok with exception of Prudence, who is fantastic. If there on business, there is only mini bar fridge. Laundry is provided but is really expensive (cost me $50 for 3 shirts and 3 underwear). Fitness facilities are good and restaurant is reasonable. Breakfast is provided and good. Overall, there may be better business stay friendly hotel for less than $300 per night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One-tonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing