We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The service is outstanding, and the Travel Desk is amazingly helpful--helped me schedule tours, a massage (at another spa than the hotel since my tours prevented me from going to the spa in the hotel due to opening hours) and rides to/from the airport. The breakfast buffet is varied and has a lot of good options for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. It was very clean, and the bed is extremely comfortable. The shower has great water pressure. The location is outstanding! The one downside is that I stayed on a lower floor facing into the courtyard--on the weekends you can hear a lot of what's going on in the courtyard. Also, the hotel spa is only open 9am-5pm, which is difficult if you're taking day tours since most return you around 5:30pm.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a higher floor or a room facing away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsStarV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    515
    143
    45
    20
See reviews for
142
459
76
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in Sept 09 things may have changed since then however based on my experience highly recommend this this hotel. A five minute walk to the waterfront and a free shuttle to the city centre. I felt safe with no problem walking to the waterfront at night. Rooms were very good with a great view to the waterfront and tabletop. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner at night. Free wifi and a good business centre. As the weather was cold could not enjoy the pooletc. Would definitely stay again

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bmw216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed at The Commodore for four nights in early March while on vacation. The hotel was prearranged via a tour packager and I did see a few other tours check-in throughout our stay. Prior to arriving, I had read some mixed reviews about the hotel, but don't buy into them. The hotel is really in a fantastic location within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, which was great to pop over for a bit to eat or drink or just walk the pier. This location came in really handy when we needed to go to a grocery store and pharmacy, also at the waterfront.

The hotel's common areas were beautiful. Almost every afternoon before dinner we'd sit in the lounge for a cocktail and sitting outside in the courtyard was a great way to start the day with breakfast every morning. The breakfast was a typical European-style breakfast with a wide variety of meats, cheeses, breads and omelets made to order. We loved taking advantage of this each morning of our stay.

The staff was also incredibly helpful, no matter what the request - from ordering us a cab, to making dinner reservations to getting us 'to-go' coffees in the morning. They seemed to really care about making sure we enjoyed our time there.

The only downside is, yes, the rooms are a bit tired and dated. They're showing the signs of age, particularly the bathrooms and some of the carpeting. That said, they were very clean so it didn't bother us in the slightest and really we weren't in our rooms much at all.

Overall great experience and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTownOrBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel stay was due to a business trip in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The check-in on arrival was very efficient and the hotel colleague was friendly and happy to answer my barrage of questions! The room was adequately equipped with a very comfortable bed and furniture, although spotlessly clean, was looking a bit dated. The entire hotel could do with refreshing. My room looked out onto the central courtyard, offering a direct view into other people's hotel rooms - so be careful and draw your curtains at night!

Good points:

Truly good food and very fast and efficient room service
Very friendly and polite staff
Fast check-in
Good internet connection via Wi-Fi

Not so good points:

After paying the bill, the receptionist entered my credit card details into her computer claiming that it was for 'card identification' purposes in the event of any queries in the future. This was silly way of telling me she wanted the card details to bill me if anything happened after checking out.

All in all, I would probably stay in this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Have stayed here for a few single nights over the past 6 months and have really liked the hotel. The terrace and pool area is very pleasant, and the food and service have been good. The breakfast was particularly good. Rooms are fairly standard, but comfortable. The lobby and bar area are attractive and decorated in a colonial style. The proximity to the waterfront area, just 2-3 minutes walk, is the biggest plus of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed at the Commodore hotel for 10 nights in November 2012 and really enjoyed it. It's location to the V&A is probably it's best feature - just a short walk away and perfectly safe at night - the one and only time we got approached by a begger after a night out a security guard came out of no where and set them on their way. Secondly the hotel staff are friendly and attentive but generally not intrusive. Overall it is clean and has all the facilities you could want in a hotel and the rooms are more than adequate. The pool is small but enough to cool off in however at that time of the year be warned the water was freezing!

A few minor points - the breakfast buffet is ok (not amazing as other's have claimed), it gets really busy, you may have to wait for a seat and waiting for eggs (they cook them fresh) can be a traumatic experience, we found a small cafe in the V&A with amazing food called Vevo Telo which we would recommend highly for an amazing and cheap breakfast. Secondly beware of tipping, this can be very confusing as well - we left it to the last day to tip the porters but would advise against that as who ever you give the money to will pocket the lot and not divide it amoungst the others so would recommend if someone has done something exceptional for you tip them there and then if you can as you may not see them again and they will miss out. Also we got a sob story from one person around the back of the hotel wanting money which was uncomfortable.

We booked a shark dive through the hotel and would recommend hiring a car at the avis rentals in the V&A, cheaper to drive to the diving and quicker than getting the hotel pick up, amazing experience though and would highly recommend it.

Overall would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in close proximity to the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gold_Coast_Girl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

There are several hotels to choose from in Capetown, but if you are a tourist, and wish to be near the where much of the activity is - you would as I did choose, the Commodore at Portswood Square close to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. The hotel is big but during our three day stay here be did see several groups come and go. It appears popular for several tour groups.
The rooms are functional. We did have a view of the ocean since we were on the 6th floor. .
The breakfast spread is fairly big with a variety to choose from. You can ask for your eggs made to order and they do take trouble to cater to individual tastes. We did have dinner here, but I would not really recommend eating at the hotel.
Capetown is windiy, I did try the pool and the water was cold. Like most pools is South Africa, the pool is not deep about i metre in depth, so if you are a professional swimmer this is not the pool you would want to jump in . There is a gymnasium, as also a suana, for those wishing to use the facilities.
The best part of the hotel is its location, being situated close to Victoria and Alfred Ferry, where thre are several bars, the Victoria Malls, shops to hunt for souvenirs as also the place to board the ferry to Robben Island. Would certainly recommend the Commodore, for a tourist,

Room Tip: Choose a room faing the ocean, you will have to take the upper rooms. My room was 6002
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing