We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!!!!”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I spend three nights at the Commodore Hotel and loved it! The room was spacious and spotless. The bed and linens were comfortable and high end thread count. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had a huge variety of foods to choose from. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Would absolutely love to go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    553
    154
    47
    23
See reviews for
157
496
82
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our room was nice, although no view worth mentioning. If we stood at the window at just the right angle we could see Table Mountain, but not from anywhere we would actually normally be in the room. Staff was very courteous and pleasant throughout our stay. The hotel is a very convenient and pleasant walk to the Victoria & Albert port and mall, and to the craft warehouse.

A big, and very pleasant, surprise was the very modest prices for dinner in the hotel. Meals were very good to excellent, service was very good, and I kept adding the bill up over and over because I couldn't believe the low prices for what we got. The very nice breakfast buffet was included in our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My Mother, Niece & I just returned from South Africa & had an awesome time! While in Cape Town we stayed at the Commodore. Overall our stay at the hotel was great! The room was comfortable, the breakfast buffet was awesome and the wait staff was impecable. Some of the front desk staff & management seemed a bit stuffy & standofish; one young man at the front desk ingored my neice to take a phone call when she asked him a question. Another one would not give her a Cape Town Tour book when she asked for one for my Mom, another staff person was kind enough to give her one. The work out room was nice, but small, only one treadmill, one elliptical, etc. We had a great view of Table Mountain from our room and the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront was right around the corner; we walked right to it. For the price & quality, I'd definately stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a good hotel but certain staff in breakfast need some training in service standards . They forgot to bring green tea and toast and had to be reminded . At check in ,my room telephone did not work and wifi did not work also, both repaired after reporting . Also some confusion in bar on billing drinks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in October and couldn't fault the hotel. It's just couple of minutes from V and A Waterfront. As others have mentioned breakfast is really good. We found all the staff really happy to help. Room on second floor was spacious with everything we needed for our stay and very quiet. Travel staff were on hand to suggest and book trips. I would definitely stay again if i visit Cape Town in the future which i hope i will have a chance to do.Thank you to all at The Commodore for making our first visit to South Africa such a pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 2063 has views over Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

If driving from the airport, this is easier to find in daylight as the route in from the highway is a little convoluted. However, the location near the Waterfront is perfect. For a large hotel, the service was remarkably personal, with staff recognising you and providing a polite greeting. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the courtyard (a little noisy some evenings) but friends had a great view of Table Mountain. Awesome. Breakfast was very good indeed and on the one night we ate in the bar, the food was also extremely good and great value for money. The valet service for the car was efficient, speedy and an economic option at 75 Rand a day. I would definitely use this hotel again when staying in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel has it all, location, comfort, great food, amazing staff, low prices. It is without a doubt one of the best hotels I have stayed in and one I will definitely use again. I thought the breakfast was particularly good and the front desk staff friendly and helpful with any and all questions. No issues with noise for us as the room was overlooking the pool. Not sure if it has a spa but if it did we did not use it so cannot advise the quality there. I am sure it would have been up to the high standards the hotel had for all other services.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrapauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing