We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Commodore
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$882
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$492
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$627
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
516
657
185
48
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
657
185
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationnautical themetable mountaintravel deskguest relationsshort walkwaterfront areasmall balconybit datedvictoria and alfred waterfrontcomfortable hotelstayed here for nightsrobben islandbreakfast buffet isan excellent hotelwater frontrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I spend three nights at the Commodore Hotel and loved it! The room was spacious and spotless. The bed and linens were comfortable and high end thread count. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had a huge variety of foods to choose from. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Would absolutely love to go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our room was nice, although no view worth mentioning. If we stood at the window at just the right angle we could see Table Mountain, but not from anywhere we would actually normally be in the room. Staff was very courteous and pleasant throughout our stay. The hotel is a very convenient and pleasant walk to the Victoria & Albert port and mall, and to the craft warehouse.

A big, and very pleasant, surprise was the very modest prices for dinner in the hotel. Meals were very good to excellent, service was very good, and I kept adding the bill up over and over because I couldn't believe the low prices for what we got. The very nice breakfast buffet was included in our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My Mother, Niece & I just returned from South Africa & had an awesome time! While in Cape Town we stayed at the Commodore. Overall our stay at the hotel was great! The room was comfortable, the breakfast buffet was awesome and the wait staff was impecable. Some of the front desk staff & management seemed a bit stuffy & standofish; one young man at the front desk ingored my neice to take a phone call when she asked him a question. Another one would not give her a Cape Town Tour book when she asked for one for my Mom, another staff person was kind enough to give her one. The work out room was nice, but small, only one treadmill, one elliptical, etc. We had a great view of Table Mountain from our room and the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront was right around the corner; we walked right to it. For the price & quality, I'd definately stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a good hotel but certain staff in breakfast need some training in service standards . They forgot to bring green tea and toast and had to be reminded . At check in ,my room telephone did not work and wifi did not work also, both repaired after reporting . Also some confusion in bar on billing drinks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in October and couldn't fault the hotel. It's just couple of minutes from V and A Waterfront. As others have mentioned breakfast is really good. We found all the staff really happy to help. Room on second floor was spacious with everything we needed for our stay and very quiet. Travel staff were on hand to suggest and book trips. I would definitely stay again if i visit Cape Town in the future which i hope i will have a chance to do.Thank you to all at The Commodore for making our first visit to South Africa such a pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 2063 has views over Table Mountain
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews