We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we stayed there twice! ”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Mugla, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So good we stayed there twice! ”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

From the welcome to departure we couldn't fault the service. The staff were always cheerful, friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable. Agree with those that say the A/C is noisy but this was a small matter. Breakfast were plentiful and you have the choice of sitting in the courtyard or inside. The lounge/ bar area was also very comfortable.
The hotel is on the periphery of the V&A waterfront and therefore it was easy to walk to. The concierge were very helpful and provided you with maps to find your way around. Thanks especially to Laurien who rang Table Mountain to check on the queue before we departed in our taxi. The hotel is well known and easy for taxis to find.
The pool area did need a bit of attention with a broom and a scrub around the edge of the pool, I did mention this to one of the management team but nothing happened, which was disappointing.
However, having been booked into a lesser (albeit 4*) hotel, by our tour operator, later in the trip, we were grateful to them for accommodating us for our last two nights in Cape Town. On arriving in the taxi Julio greeted us with a big smile and 'welcome back, welcome home'. We did feel very comfortable there, and the staff were excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank awaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    547
    152
    47
    23
See reviews for
154
491
80
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My children & I were not sure where we wanted to dine for a christmas lunch and ended up
at the Ports wood Restaurant on short notice, being fully booked the overflow were accommodated and seated at the sister hotel at their Clipper Restaurant.
The ambiance was peaceful and not too crowed or full as the Portswood
The service and friendliness of our waitress was awesome, the food well presented and value for the money we paid.The A'la carte set menu with reasonable portions were filling and served tastefully. Dessert was a welcoming treat. Loved the little trinket I got in my cracker..;-)
A wonderful time we enjoyed and will recommend this restaurant any time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenixwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Commodore and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were well-appointed and clean, with very comfortable beds. We had an additional person traveling, and they were provided a rollaway bed with all the linens. Breakfast was outstanding, with lots of variety and cooked-to-order eggs and omelets. The hotel is extremely close to the V&A waterfront and other local attractions. We also got a good deal through legacy lifestyles (free) club membership.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first three nights of our South African adventure, December 2-5, 2013.

Check-in at midnight was so quick and efficient, friendly and helpful. We were treated with kindness and patience when trying to figure out how to phone home from the room. Our late night supper with drinks was served in the bar with smiles despite the hour.

The only disappointment was lack of view from our room (the pool) when we had intentionally told our travel agent we wanted spectacular views no matter where we were staying in ZA (not the hotel's fault, we didn't bother to complain or change rooms). The aircon was not as efficient as it could have been, either. Very minor in the big scheme.

But the location cannot be beat for accessing the V & A Waterfront (shopping, dining, views), the hop-on/hop-off red and blue buses, the Aquarium, etc. The breakfast buffets abounded with variety and scrumptiousness! The service we received in this hotel set the benchmark for our entire trip; it was exceptional, from the front desk staff, to the concierge to the wait staff.

We would definitely recommend and will book again when we return next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CravingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent three nights at The Commodore over the Christmas period and could not fault it. The staff were all so friendly and helpful they really made our stay special. It was our first time in South Africa but it will definitely not be the last.
Delicious buffet breakfasts with a huge choice of all manner of delicacies to tempt you! Eggs done to order any which way you wished, luscious fresh fruits, cereals, cheeses, hams and choice of cooked too - these were one of the best breakfasts we tasted during our two week stay.
Comfortable lounge bar and delightful outside eating area below the pool.
Our room was reasonably large with everything you could possibly need, as was the bathroom complete with high quality toiletries - perfect.
We had a room on the third floor at the back of the hotel overlooking Table Mountain. Next time we would ask to be on the fourth floor as those room had balconies.
Great location for the V&A Waterfront - five minutes walk and you were in the midst of all the bars and restaurants of the waterfront. Near to the hop on hop off bus stop, the two Oceans Aquarium and all manner of shops, bars, etc.
We never felt threatened or uncomfortable walking around - there are security guards keeping a watchful eye out if necessary but we never saw any trouble at all.
A great place to stay - we would definitely recommend The Commodore and look forward to going back when we return.

Room Tip: Choose a fourth floor or higher for a room with a balcony - at the back for a view of Table Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have stayed 12-14 times at the Commodore Hotel in Cape Town and choose that as it is a nice way to start a trip in South Africa when you don't know what you are getting into. The hotel is in a great location to be at the Cape Town Waterfront in 3 minutes, very easy walk. The hotel is not huge and not 5 star but it is very comfortable and makes travelers feel very safe and comfortable on their first few days in South Africa.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to stay on the executive floor it is great, has awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Again, 2 couples on holiday in South Africa for the first time. This hotel is first class, the close situation to the Waterfront, the staff are very friendly and helpful, no negatives about this hotel, if Prince Harry stayed here on his way back from Antartica, so we were told, well, that says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
9.8 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
9.8 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
9.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
10.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing