We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights during travel show.

Was a good visit, rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms and elevators can do with an upgrade.

Had breakfast at hotel every morning, very substantial cold and hot breakfast. Can be incredible with a little more attention to detail, but all over very good.

The staff is very friendly and helpfull, always a kind smile from every staff member every time.

Will recommend to anybody looking for affordable hotel within walking distance of V&A Waterfront, Greenpoint Stadium and Sea Point surrounds.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Werner K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    515
    143
    45
    20
See reviews for
142
459
76
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here last 2 weeks of April and cant praise this hotel enough. The attention to to detail, the friendly charming staff, the amazing breakfast - I could go on and on but I would stay here anytime - dont bother checking out the other hotels - this is the bees knees! Check out the breakfast chef who can cook 3 types of eggs perfectly all at the same time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Apparently the do not disturb sign on ky door meant knock at midnight and wake me up asking be about a bucket of ice. Then at 4 am i get a call from the front desk asking if I had a tour booked. Woke me up couldn't fall back to sleep. Went to the front desk to complain. Told me it was all other areas fault. He couldn't help me. Awful customer service. Breakfast was decent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinannie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well it's not the Four Seasons but frankly it's got everything needed for a great stay right where one would want to be in the V&A Waterfront area of Cape Town. The staff were excellent, prices very reasonable my only gripe would be a slightly painful daily reset on the Internet connection. We would certainly stay here again if we were in town on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very friendly staff, and superb location for experiencing Cape Town! Easy and near Waterfront and short way to City center. It is highly recommendable to all purposes of stay. Business as well as holydays!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brskag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The best thing about the Commodore Hotel is its location, less than 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront (and that’s Alfred not Albert!), Cape Town’s premier leisure location that has shops, restaurants, entertainment, and is the place to be. The hotel itself isn’t bad either – great (buffet) breakfasts and friendly staff. The rooms however are a bit variable. We stayed twice with a “safari” night in between (see Aquila Private Game Reserve for review). The first room was on the second floor, and was a little “tired” and vaguely old fashioned looking, e.g. below window A/C unit, tricky bath/shower taps (stuck on “shower” – someone else complained theirs was stuck on “bath”). Our second room (4th floor) was much nicer, same basic décor but more recent fittings and fixtures, and a balcony, lending the room a more modern appearance. The hotel was a bit noisy (TV next door, people talking in the corridor, other’s showers making odd noises), and there was also some lack of consistency – of the 5 nights, we got turndown service twice (special tea bags one time, chocolate the other). The Quarter Deck restaurant in the sister Portwood hotel next door was very good (Cape Malay food) and inexpensive ($70 for two, for multi-courses with wine) and could be charged to your room. All in all a good experience, and we would probably stay there again because the location was so good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor or one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just a five minute walk from the Victoria and Albert Waterfront, the Commodore Hotel is an adorable European-style hotel. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are well-appointed, and the restaurant/bar is quite good. The breakfast buffet is hearty and not expensive. The only complaints I had the following: 1. There is no shop or vending machine in the hotel; this isn't a very big deal as the V&A Waterfront is a very short walk away. 2. The shower/tub didn't have a shower curtain, but a half-door which allowed water to spray all over the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the back of the hotel, which is much quieter than the busy street facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam-and-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing