We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, ok hotel”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location for the V&A Waterfront but was lacking in personality and finishing touches. Our room was nice and big, comfy bed, and had tea and coffee facilities but our bathroom had a funny smell and the shower flooded the bathroom every time we used it. We reported the problems and after returning from being out all day, no one had been to have a look at the problems until we asked again which was disappointing. They couldn't really fix them in a short time frame and offered for us to change rooms but we didn't want to waste time packing and repacking so we stayed put. The breakfast was not in the same league as other hotels we stayed at in SA. We didn't choose this hotel (it was part of a package we booked) and we wouldn't stay here again as I'm sure there are better value for money and smaller places to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bree-europe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Commodore for 4 nights over the Easter bank holiday this year for the 2Oceans ultra marathon.
It is in a very convenient location within easy walk of the waterfront and not too far from the centre of Town and the Expo centre.
The room was comfortable and spacious, although the bathroom could do with updating.
The staff were very helpful and attentive without being pushy. The breakfast is plentiful and has a large variety of fare to satisfy all tastes. On the morning of the marathon, they provided a "grab and go" breakfast, which included pastries, fruit, sports drinks and coffee. The hotel also provided a bus to the start, which had we not made other arrangement would have been very useful.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again without bothering to look at any others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itchyfeet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had 5 nights here, the staff & management were all very friendly & helpful. If your looking for accommodation close to the waterfront at a reasonable price, this is a great place being only a couple of minutes walk away.
The room was comfortable and spacious. Our stay included breakfast which had ample variety of hot or cold food to choose from. We also had a dinner here one night which was also good and not overpriced as you sometimes get in hotels.
We would definitely look at staying here again if we returned to Capetown.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights during travel show.

Was a good visit, rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms and elevators can do with an upgrade.

Had breakfast at hotel every morning, very substantial cold and hot breakfast. Can be incredible with a little more attention to detail, but all over very good.

The staff is very friendly and helpfull, always a kind smile from every staff member every time.

Will recommend to anybody looking for affordable hotel within walking distance of V&A Waterfront, Greenpoint Stadium and Sea Point surrounds.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Werner K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here last 2 weeks of April and cant praise this hotel enough. The attention to to detail, the friendly charming staff, the amazing breakfast - I could go on and on but I would stay here anytime - dont bother checking out the other hotels - this is the bees knees! Check out the breakfast chef who can cook 3 types of eggs perfectly all at the same time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Apparently the do not disturb sign on ky door meant knock at midnight and wake me up asking be about a bucket of ice. Then at 4 am i get a call from the front desk asking if I had a tour booked. Woke me up couldn't fall back to sleep. Went to the front desk to complain. Told me it was all other areas fault. He couldn't help me. Awful customer service. Breakfast was decent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Erinannie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well it's not the Four Seasons but frankly it's got everything needed for a great stay right where one would want to be in the V&A Waterfront area of Cape Town. The staff were excellent, prices very reasonable my only gripe would be a slightly painful daily reset on the Internet connection. We would certainly stay here again if we were in town on holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,617 reviews
0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#64 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £152 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing