We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2008

12 of us stayed here for between 3 and 5 nights. The hotel is about 20mins from the airport. Check in was good, no problems.

The rooms were clean and fair sized.

The pool is ok.

Breakfast v. good, staff very helpful and friendly. Bar staff sometimes not giving the correct drinks!

5 mins walk to the waterfront, safe. Work lunch at the V & A hotel, helicopter ride booked at the front was £50 a head for 20mins. Food very good value for money. Worth a visit to Blues seafood restaurant, good food and views fab.

Whale watchin 2 hr drive to Hermanis, can go on boat for 2 hrs £35 or watch from the beach. Nice drive and scenery. If you stop, watch the baboons, they will climb in and wreck your car!

Table mountain, fantastic. Go up on cable car, well worth the visit.

Checking out, we kept the room til 6pm for an extra 600 rand.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2008

Not one negative thing to say about this hotel. It is rated 4-stars but in many ways is better than its 5-star rated sister hotel The Michelangelo in Sandton, and certainly is a much better value for the money. For example, the breakfast was included in the room rate, and what a breakfast! Custom-prepared omelettes, and a wide selection of breads, cereals, meats, fruit, juices, everything you could ask for.

The location is primo, just 1 block from the Waterfront which houses a great selection of trendy restaurants and shops, and even a craft market for African souvenirs. The area seems more Yuppie than Sandton or Midrand, near Jo'burg. The staff is superb, from Reception to the Dining Room to the Bell-staff. Everyone is friendly and eager to serve. I've not seen such a consistent customer service attitude in a long long time.

The majority of guests during my 2-night stay seemed to be an older crowd, but there were some young couples and families. As a single person I did not feel out of place, and did not experience any hassles with late-night guests. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to business or leisure travelers, and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Excellent location, easy (5 min), safe walk from V&A Waterfront.

Very friendly helpful staff.

Great breakfast.

Bedrooms just OK. Bathroom a bit tired and dated, but perfectly clean. Bedrooms can be a little noisy from outside air conditioning units.

Watch your bill ! Booked through Hotels.com which included all taxes and charges However, hotel tried to charge tax claiming that all bookings through Hotels.com do not include tax. Manager removed tax charge when challenged.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couple-from-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Great hotel - just 2 minutes walk from V&A Waterfront with loads of restaurants and bars.

Clean rooms and good decor with a fantastic array of food at breakfast. Small but friendly bar area.

Absolutey no complaints and would definitely stay there again if on holiday in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi-W-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

The hotel is in a great location. Right near V & A Waterfront. We were originally going to do 12 Apostles but ended up at the Commodore. We were very happy. The 12 Apostles is way out of the city.

We visited Cape Grace and V & A Hotel - for the price, the Commodore was a better value. The staff was super attentive.

The only problem was getting small bills. Trying to exchange money everywhere in South Africa was a problem. They only wanted to give you large (200,100) rand bills. It made tipping difficult.

The bar was small but the staff was very friendly. The Green market (much cheaper than the market at V&A) is three blocks away near the stadium. Here you can negotiate and get good deals.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank annieonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Great location close to the V and A,excellent breakfasts, very attentive staff and internet available in your room. A superb place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Commodore Hotel, Cape Town

I can’t compliment his hotel enough. We stayed 4 nights in July, 2008. Booked on Hotels.com with an every-third-night free promotion so it was a good value. (We paid $694 for 4 nights, but I had passed up a deal about $80 less a few days prior.) Reservations and check-in were hassle free.

Location is very close to ideal. The trendy and safe area to stay in Cape Town is the Victoria and Albert Waterfront (V&A) which is chock full of restaurants, shops, museums, malls, tour operators, cinemas, etc. It’s quite nice; a mini theme park. There are pricier hotels right on the docks, but Commodore is one block inland. We took the three minute walk many times to the V&A area, day and night and felt quite safe.

Décor is nautical, lots of brass and mahogany. Quite nice. Many ship beams, ties, sails, etc. Beautiful flowers. Not 6-star glitzy/tacky, like, say Hong Knog, but very, very nice. Just off the 2-storey lobby is a wonderful parlor with newspapers, tables, fireplace, bar. Beyond that is the restaurant with soaring ceiling fitted with polished mahogany ship beams. A wonderful breakfast bar was included in our room rate. Fresh fruits, many meats, smoked salmon, other fish, eggs made to order, cereals, etc. We ate late and called it lunch.

We had a room with a small balcony looking directly out at Table Mountain—the iconic physical landmark that defines the city (when not in the clouds!). Other hotel wings probably have different views. Ask if it’s important to you. Upscale furnishings like a comfy douvet, embossed chocolates at turn-down, plush pillows, art work, comfortable bath with dual voltage small appliance outlet, hair dryer (in the room desk oddly). (No ironing board, something I like to have.) A nice power strip and Ethernet cable were at the desk. (Bring your electrical adaptors--they used the clunky British 3-pin outlets here, not the even clunkier 3-ROUND pin outlets we found in other parts of South Africa. I don't have that adaptor.)

Setting up my laptop was a breeze. The hotel even threw in an hour of in-room internet for each day. So we got a pre-paid account for 4 hours—very nice.

Throughout the establishment service was impeccable. The word flawless comes to mind. You can’t approach an elevator without the attendant pressing the button. Concierge, front desk, and restaurant staff: all had smiles and greetings for you at all times. No request was unmet. A tremendously helpful guest services desk and a travel services desk were located in the lobby and were of great use to us.

In sum, this hotel did not disappoint us in any way. We were on the raod in Southern Africa and Madagascar for 4 weeks and this was our classiest stay. If you must stay at the grand Victoria and Albert Hotel right on the doc and feel like British aristocracy, enjoy it. Or save some bucks and feel like a seafarer returning home to friends and elegance.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £157 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing