We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 4 nights”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic 4 nights”
Reviewed 28 January 2009

My mother and I stayed from 24th Jan until 28th and had a wonderful time.

The staff on the whole are superb - so friendly and helpful...esp the concierge, the bar staff and the chaps who push the lift buttons! Reception and breakfast staff a little slow at times but all very pleasant.

The room was absolutely fine...a decent size, comfortable beds, nice bathroom etc.

Breakfast was very tasty...wide choice of fruit, pasties, cooked food. They will cook the eggs in front of you to order.

Loved Cape Town - the V&A Waterfront is about 3 mins on foot and such a lovely area...loads of nice restaurants (esp recommend the Belgian one) and bars. Also some good craft and clothes shops.

If you fancy going for a dance, we went to Hemishere which we both enjoyed (a 26 yr old and a 50-something yr old). It is on Long Street - a cab takes no time at all.

We did some excursions...half day cape/peninsular tour, hop on/hop off bus, Robben Island. All were very enjoyable.

The hotel has free internet which was an added bonus for me staying in touch with my partner back home.

Please drop me a message if you have any questions.

  • Liked — The location and staff
  • Disliked — Kettle broke, no balcony in our room
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Starshaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    555
    154
    47
    23
See reviews for
157
496
83
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We booked a Christmas Break on a B&B basis at the Commodore for some sun and relaxation. Anticipating being tired after a long flight we emailed the hotel to ask to be collected by them rather than climbing into a taxi. Despite many emails confirming they would be there they forgot. Also, anticipating a need to book somewhere to eat on Christmas Day we asked the hotel for their menu which they duly emailed to me. We looked at it and confirmed there was a veggie option (most of the restaurants on the V&A waterfront offer a veggie option so plenty of choice there as well). We sent an email saying we would like to book a table - again many emails confirming the booking - on arrival no record of our booking could be found (no problem though they just booked us in on the spot). At check-in we were asked would we like a double or twin - we asked for a double but were given a twin! On check out we were offered a 'breakfast box' as we were leaving very early - we asked for, and they agreed to provide, a veggie option - again they forgot and provided a cold meat selection!

In summary - good hotel, very attentive staff but you do need to really emphasise each element of your requests as they are more than likely to get something wrong! Rooms are serviced several times throughout the day so if you are in the room make use of the 'Do Not Disturb' sign otherwise I can g'tee you will be!

B'fast above average but if you are late down there can be limited choice left as some things are not replaced once they are gone.

V&A waterfront less than 5 minutes walk away and very safe with plenty of restaurants and shops - a mix of cheap n cheerful and high end (both shops and restaurants).

For my first visit I was happy with the hotel but when I go back I will probably choose something different.

  • Liked — Very friendly and helpful staff - nothing too much trouble
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank uk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tn.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

This hotel is not great but it also is not terrible. It is at a safe but touristy location. The staff was always pleasant. The rooms seemed a bit dated. My only complaint is that we had requested a non smoking room (which I saw was noted on the hotel's reservation card) which was not available when we arrived. We asked to be moved the next day but that did not happen. I just don't understand why we were in a smoking room for 3 nights when the hotel knew for months that we were coming and wanted a non smoking room.

  • Liked — very good security
  • Disliked — too smoker friendly
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smjsmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I stayed at the Commodore for 4 days in early Dec. and found it to be a pretty decent place. The rooms were a decent size for 2 people not to feel cramped, though the Lucy and Ricky twin beds can be a little too close for comfort. The room was nothing fancy, but was far from shabby.
The staff bent over backward to please whether it was the concierge, the waitstaff at breakfast or housekeeping. One odd thing was the housekeeping set up. We'd come back to our room in the middle of the day and find the beds and linens changed, but someone would come by after 6 p.m. to refill toilet paper, water pitchers, etc. meaning we often had to call for assistance before the other staff made their rounds.
V&A Waterfront is a safe 5 minute walk from the hotel and the entire waterfront feels like a kosher place to kick about after dark. Even other parts of the city (like the more nightlife parts of Long Street) are easily accessible via a 10-min. cab ride. At night, concierge has no problem calling them for you, even when there's a taxi stand right around the corner from the hotel. All in all, I was most pleased.

  • Liked — access to shopping/activities at the Waterfront, good, free continental breakfast
  • Disliked — too many babies, not a real hip vibe, cramped elevator
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BedStuy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My wife and I stayed in Commodore Hotel between December 3-7. This was our first trip to Cape Town so we planned to see as much as possible within 4 days including shark diving tour, a summer concert in kirschtenbosch park, wine tour, table mountain, cape tour, city sightseeing etc. For security concerns, we decided to stay in V&A Waterfront which seemed to be a safer and newly established touristic location, and our travel agent "go2africa" booked this hotel for us. For those who are looking for an extra luxurious and exclusivity, this hotel may not be the one, but we enjoyed the overall standards - friendly staff and good service. Our room had one of the best views (table mountain & waterfront) of the hotel which made our stay more pleasent. The location wise, the hotel was within minutes of walking distance to V&A Waterfront and we felt quite comfortable walking around the area until late at night. It was convenient for car parking and had easy access to main roads by car. We would highly recommend this hotel for people who look for the value..

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TolgaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

12 of us stayed here for between 3 and 5 nights. The hotel is about 20mins from the airport. Check in was good, no problems.

The rooms were clean and fair sized.

The pool is ok.

Breakfast v. good, staff very helpful and friendly. Bar staff sometimes not giving the correct drinks!

5 mins walk to the waterfront, safe. Work lunch at the V & A hotel, helicopter ride booked at the front was £50 a head for 20mins. Food very good value for money. Worth a visit to Blues seafood restaurant, good food and views fab.

Whale watchin 2 hr drive to Hermanis, can go on boat for 2 hrs £35 or watch from the beach. Nice drive and scenery. If you stop, watch the baboons, they will climb in and wreck your car!

Table mountain, fantastic. Go up on cable car, well worth the visit.

Checking out, we kept the room til 6pm for an extra 600 rand.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Not one negative thing to say about this hotel. It is rated 4-stars but in many ways is better than its 5-star rated sister hotel The Michelangelo in Sandton, and certainly is a much better value for the money. For example, the breakfast was included in the room rate, and what a breakfast! Custom-prepared omelettes, and a wide selection of breads, cereals, meats, fruit, juices, everything you could ask for.

The location is primo, just 1 block from the Waterfront which houses a great selection of trendy restaurants and shops, and even a craft market for African souvenirs. The area seems more Yuppie than Sandton or Midrand, near Jo'burg. The staff is superb, from Reception to the Dining Room to the Bell-staff. Everyone is friendly and eager to serve. I've not seen such a consistent customer service attitude in a long long time.

The majority of guests during my 2-night stay seemed to be an older crowd, but there were some young couples and families. As a single person I did not feel out of place, and did not experience any hassles with late-night guests. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to business or leisure travelers, and would definitely return again.

  • Liked — Full breakfast, free Internet (1 hr/night), location, superb service.
  • Disliked — The view from my room was a parking lot and back street. A short walk fixed that.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bobborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing