We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service, good price/value”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2009

The Commodore will never be the fanciest hotel you will stay at, but it has a good price/quality comparison and the location next to the V&A Waterfront is excellent. Ask the nice staff at the concierge desk for advice - they are exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2009

The reception was incredibly warm and friendly, as were the bellboys and all other staff. The female customer relations officer was particularly helpful and assisted us in many ways. The rooms were clean, comfortable and excellently appointed with superb views of either Table Mountain or the sea. Breakfasts were extraordinarily sumptuous and evening meals were of top quality. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff. We have stayed at the Table Bay hotel, which was itself excellent, but we preferred this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insteader2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Our first stop in a three week trip to South Africa was at the Commodore Hotel, Cape Town. It was great. The staff was outstanding, greeting us, helping us in any way needed, taking extra steps to care for their guests. The rooms were very nice, and the location is a short walk from the Victoria & Albert Waterfront. I would definately stay there again!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank sheilaford01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Stayed here as an 'add-on' after our wedding in Mauritius. I cannot fault this hotel at all. We had a suite (upgrade from a standard room booked) which we didnt expect, therfore a nice surprise.
Hotel staff are just lovely, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast selection was superb, you would never go hungry. Ate in the hotel too - good food and plenty of it.
Within five minutes walk to the Waterfront so to me you are not missing out on any action. Literally walk out of the back of the hotel and down some steps and your there in the hub of it all.
In fact I was glad we actually stayed here rather than at the V&A which is right in the centre of it all on the waterfront.
Perfect for short break or longer stay. Would come back again no problem whatsoever and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jow0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

we stayed at the commodore hotel for three nights during a recent holiday to south africa. the hotel was great. the staff were especially helpful and couldnt do enough for you arranging day trips, airport transfers etc. the buffet breakfast was very good and again staff were very attentive. the rooms were very comfortable and clean and we would definately reccommend this hotel.
the only downside for us was the short walk to the waterfront. the distance wasnt a problem but everytime we walked there and back we were approached by people asking for money. most of them seemed harmless(apart from a small group of guys who approached us looking for money which made us feel uneasy) enough although the constant effort to get away for them put a dampener on our stay.
however the hotel itself was lovely and we couldnt fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redberrycoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We booked 4 nights here for the start of our honeymoon, and i dont think we could have been in a better location. The service we recieved from everyone in the hotel was fantastic, which made for a perfect start to our honeymoon. The rooms are basic but very clean with lovely extra touches like roses on the bed and in the bathroom, we also had an amazing view of table mountain. The V&A shops and resturants are just around the corner and i would highly recomend High tea at the Nelson hotel if you like your cakes and scones.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This holiday was last minute and booked as a surprise for our first wedding anniversary...

After a very long flight. Met at airport by hotel car. I emailed the hotel to arrange this.... (35 euros). Great straight into city no messing.

Very friendly reception staff. quick check in. Our room was great amazing views of both table mountain and the harbour. Only complaint was we got twin beds pushed together. My fault we could have changed but was to tired.

Breakfast was the best I've had in a hotel of this rating. Lots of fresh fruit, Smoked salmon, Juices, Lots of cooked selection, Pancakes, Waffles even steaks.
Always seated at a clean table with prompt tea and coffee brought to us.

They have a lovely pool area. On our first morning we explored the idea of swimming in the mornings before brekky. But even before we put out toe in the water to check the temperature, A manager rushed out to stop us saying it was far to cold. I didn't like to say I was brought up next to the north sea and swam there in winter. And that his pool was probably warm to us.

The concierge although at times was a little to pushy. He was great at booking trips, taxis and restaurants for us.

We ate once in the hotel, It was lovely. Light meals and very cheap. We also ate in the sister hotel one evening and was not as good. Also very very quiet...

The location of this hotel was simply brilliant for us. We wanted to be close enough to the V&A but not pay the top price for this.
We had to walk down a small hill which took less than a minute. Also have to say during daylight hours I felt very very safe. The tourist bus was less than a 5 minute walk away which was handy. A multitude of the best restaurants and lots of shopping and even a cinema which one afternoon we did use... (very wet weather and very hungover). Also very close to the nelson Mandela gateway which I say is a must on any visit...

We did 2 trips with the same company... The company was called African eagle day tours.
Our first trip was to Hermanus bay whale watching. This cost us 65 not including whale trip which was a further 80. Disgusted with the price. Not only that but our guide was still pissed from the night before absolutely smelled of sweat and beer and fags not pleasant when I sat behind her. She also couldn't find most of the hotels for collecting the other guests. Anyway a long journey to Hermanus which was very scenic. My husband and I had already made the decision not to do the whale trip and instead explore Hermanus and have a lazy lunch watching them from shore. The guide made such a big deal about not seeing the whales cause she had to pick us up early.
Anyway next time we go to cape town we will hire a car and do hermanus again is was simply beautiful.
We also did the half day wine tour of stellenbosch which was 45... Not sure where they get the prices from because its free entry to all vineyards even the tastings. Anyway the guide was better today (a different one) Would do this again but get a driver to take us around for a few days if not weeks. Stellenbosch was just beautiful. We drove through there tooooo quickly. Loads of character with loads to see and do...

The restaurants I would absolutely recommenced would be Beluga great trendy place with amazing food and wine. Always busy so book and always get a taxi there and back...
Den Anker in the V&A harbour has the best views and food and all wines by the glass are yummy. You can watch the seals play early in the evening here.
We tried Belthazar at lunchtime which was just great. Just go and look inside if you are interested in wine...
I have to say every meal was great and extremely cheap for us (euro-rand). Service was also great.

Last few points about the hotel. We also used the beauty salon for some facials. 90 euros for 2 and very good. As our flight was late in the evening they let us store our luggage all day and before we left we got to use the gym for a shower and change.
We also used the hotel taxi back to the airport.

Would go back to this hotel again. And will go back to cape town in 2011.
Great holiday...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emma-in-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#44 of 112 in Cape Town Central
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £152 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing