We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #72 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel.

It is located in the center of Cape Town. You could think that the location is excellent but it is not the case. After 5-6 pm there is nobody on the streets and it gets dangerous. The hotel is next to the station, a place that you have to AVOID!

Since the hotel restaurant was closed at night, the first day the hotel receptionist suggested having dinner in a restaurant nearby. He told us that the area was "safe" to walk at nights. However, it was enough to have a look outside to realize that he was wrong. His second suggestion was to order something to a delivery service company that - according to him - it was "very good" A booklet with prices and offers was in the room. We did it. One hour and a half later, we received our order. We did not receive/have cutlery so we asked the receptionist for forks and knives. He told us that the restaurant was closed so, he was not able to enter there. We had to eat with coffee spoons! It must be noted that the delivery service he recommended was very expensive!!!! And the quality of food was so-so.

In our third day in Cape Town, we rented a car. To park the car in the hotel you have to give the keys to the hotel staff and they park the car in a park car next to the hotel (a few meters). So, according to this procedure, we trusted them the car keys.
The following day, when got into the car, we noted that there was a straw on the passenger seat and the backseats were dirty (there was something like coke or juice on them). For us, it was obvious that someone had used our car during the night but we were not able to prove it.
So, when we went back to the hotel that night, we took note of the mileage. The following morning and after doing the check out, we checked the mileage and we noted that someone had driven 11 km the night before!!!! When we complained about this to the hotel receptionist (a young woman) she only said: “I am very sorry for that”. (!!!!)
I do not know if she realized the seriousness of the problem or for her this is something normal. We hope not to have to pay any fine. We do not know who took the car (for sure, a hotel’s employee), where he/she went and what he/she did with our car.

The hotel is just OK. They would need to give it an once-over. The breakfast is very good and copious. The staff who served the breakfast is very nice.

Due to the problems that we had, we would not stay again in this hotel.
I would recommend you that you try to find a place in Elizabeth and Alfred Waterfront. It is safe and you have many places to have dinner (shopping mall).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pri-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    190
    116
    25
    29
See reviews for
40
152
76
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night before boarding the Premier Classe train the next morning. The location is fantastic, central and convenient. However, as one enters the hotel, one gets the feeling that one is entering some seventies/eighties building. The place is a bit worn, and is in need for some refurbishment. Staff was very friendly. The room was okay, and clean, but also a bit dated. Bathroom needed an urgent make-over - the bath showers are terrible!! We had dinner in the restaurant - there were only 3 diners (inclusive of us)! Menu is very basic, but the food was not too bad - quite cheap! Waiter was very attentive, but not very knowledgeable. WiFi was available. The breakfast was very extensive and well presented. Good value for money - R 600-00 per room BB.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

On the face of it, this was a hotel that seemed impressive from the exterior but things are not always as they seem on entering the building. Parking the hire car was an interesting experience in the car park next door as it was monitored and controlled by an external security company. The hotel staff had to accompany me to and from the car which to a British person seemed embarrassing as I felt that I was hindering them from doing other errands. However therein lies the key to this hotel ... the staff who go out of there way to help, a point that is replicated in the breakfast room to an extent that I have never received that kind of service before.
On the down side, the general interior decor of the hotel was a little dark and dated. There were some minor issues in the bathroom that needed attention such as a wider shower curtain and a plumbing overhaul. Having said all that, I stayed here for two nights and would have liked a third with an amazing view from the bedroom window towards Table mountain and a lovely breakfast. Free wifi.
One additional tip to save you time looking - Food supplies for the day can be purchased closest at the Pick'n'pay in the Strand street Mall with quicker access from the back door on Waterkant street and up the escalators. Exit the hotel door, turn left, first right, first left ... shopping mall door faces you at the end of the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_on_tour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Booked this hotel through a travel agent in Australia before travelling to South Africa. Cape Town was our last stop for 3 nights, after doing a 3 week camping tour from Johannesburg on an overland truck - so we were very excited for a lovely hotel room, and a bit of comfort. From the outside the hotel looks outstanding. Very modern front, and looks new. Upon entering the staff at reception were mostly friendly, and we travelled upstairs to our room. We were given 2 single beds (as a married couple who had spent 3 weeks in tents, this was less than ideal!!) and if you pushed them together there was a noticeable ridge between the 2 mattresses, so we slept separately for the remainder of our trip. The room was also quite average, there was no fridge in the room, the air conditioning controls were broken and hanging off the wall, and the bath was dirty. There is also no real privacy, as we found that sound travelled VERY well between rooms. There was no safe in our room which was a real concern for us, with our passports, cash, and souvenirs we had purchased along our way.
However, one good upside was the location. Very close to the heart of the city, but far enough away not to be bothered by drunks late at night. Also very close to V & A, and the Hop On Hop Off sightseeing route.
Breakfast was of a great standard every morning and the staff always had smiles on their faces. When our transfer failed to pick us up on the last morning, the staff were very proactive in chasing it up for us, and arranging an alternative as soon as possible.
Overall, reasonable value for money, useable facilities, great location and friendly staff. Just don't expect too much in the way of comfort. I'd recommend this hotel if you don't plan on spending much time in your room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was a good hotel for my first week in Cape Town. Good price, centrally located and easy walking distance to V&A waterfront. Room was fairly spacious and clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The restaurant menu could do with a refresh.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking as some smokers like to open their room doors and let it flow into the corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Excellently located within easy walking distance of all public transport facilities,the rooms were well maintained and kept spotlessly clean. I cannot rate the staff too highly,nothing was too much trouble for them and their command of european english was better than I have previously encountered in the South African Republic.

The restaurant served an overwhelming breakfast only to be let down by the dire state of the evening meal and a complete lack of wine list,but hey Fountains Hotel,next door can easily remedy that.All in all great value for money if pre-booked.

Room Tip: Only experienced the one stay on the ninth floor facing east,but since I am an early riser this suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nostromo407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Used this hotel as a base to explore the city and go on excursions. Central location, near to the train station and just off Adderley Street, so most things within walking distance. Room (on 9th floor) clean and comfortable. Staff were great - ice delivered to the room and when I discovered there wasn't any milk left for a cup of tea, a lady brought some to the room straightaway. The concierge was very helpful with booking restaurants - including the Mount Nelson for afternoon tea (a must-do treat for visitors to CPT) and helped us out when the hire car meant to be delivered to the hotel didn't arrive. A basic, good value hotel in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 134Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#80 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Property: Hotel on St Georges
Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing