We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning and bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Overall my stay was ok. The first night we realised that the air conditioning was not working. My friend and I complained once the following morning, before we went out for dinner and again when we got back to the hotel the second night. The air conditioning was still not working, the people at front desk brushed us off and didn't move us rooms.
Overall, the hotel needs a revamp, especially the bathrooms, and the mattresses need to be replaced- we could feel the springs in the bed and thus was not all that comfortable.
Thus one positive is the breakfast- was lovely!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location is in the hart of Capetown. Good service, and great breakfast at the kitchen Deli.
Only this hotel looks a bit old and needs some redecoration. Tour desk in the lobby which is very helpfull. No safety deposit box in the room. Great views to Table mountain.

Room Tip: Room with Table mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We arrived around 8 a.m. but the front desk officer Chover made an effort to give us a room by 8:30 a.m., room was clean with good sized bathroom and breakfast was excellent, really great value for money

Room Tip: we got a room with view of Table Mountain, may be guests should ask for window view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIKI W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the hotel on St. George. Even from the outside it had the feel or a quality hotel. Once in side I was met by a very professional young man at the front desk. His name is Sadick friendly and professional. Every one I met at the front desk was helpful and courteous.
I also enjoyed the free WiFi. It was always a strong signal in my room. The Bed was a very comfortable sleep. I stayed here for a week.

The price for the quality was great. My room was up graded. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. Breakfast was served next door at the Kitchen Deli restaurant. The food was good and plentiful. I extended my stay so I had two different rooms. Both had great views of Table Mountain. I am at the hotel now writing this review and looking out my window at Table mountain. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view of Table mountain or of Lions Head mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiritofAmerica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Not glamorous, old and a bit frayed around the edges. Noisy pipes, no view (was on floor 6). But apart from this the hotel is clean and comfortable. Hotel seems to be undergoing renovation - breakfast served in a restaurant downstairs (was very good quality).

Room Tip: Lower floors do not have views, and my room had no view (frosted windows).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms here are comfortable and clean with lovely views of Table Mountain. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect - across the street from the train and long distance bus stations and within walking distance of Long Street and the waterfront. Breakfast is provided by a small restaurant in the next building. There, too, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is nutritious and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footloose311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good value for money, centrally located close to ICC, Waterfront and Long Street. Service was good. Need to pay extra for parking. No restaurant or room service at the hotel when I visited, but breakfast (included) is served in a restaurant next to hotel and plenty of fast food outlets and restaurants within walking distance of hotel. Direction on website to hotel is spot on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adri250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 110 in Cape Town Central
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#89 of 110 in Cape Town Central
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#87 of 110 in Cape Town Central
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £48 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing