We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff but could use some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #78 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week at the beginning of December as part of a conference; my organisation (a NGO) put me up here.

It's a good hotel; good location, right in the centre of Cape Town, close to restaurants and walking distance of several attractions. The room I was in (sharing with a female colleague, so two single beds) was huge, being a corner room.

The staff were excellent; I had a couple of queries for the front desk and each time they were really helpful and spot-on with their advice.

The downsides: first, they could only provide one key for the room, which was a little inconvenient (partly solved by each of us sharing the room always remembering to leave the key at reception); secondly, the hotel decor is a little faded and dated, and could use with a facelift, but it is fairly clean.

I think if my organisation were to put me up here again, then I'd be happy to stay again, but if it's me paying as part of a holiday, I think I'd choose somewhere a little nicer. Staff were hard to find fault with however, perhaps better than many more expensive hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank empress_joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

I went there for a biz trip. The rooms are decent, esp. for the price it comes for.
The advantage is that its in the middle of St. George mall, so you get everything in the vicinity.
The breakfast was in the nearby coffee shop - which I would rank as average.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room if possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raman_Batra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel on our first visit to Cape Town. The area is fairly central though seems to empty by 9pm. The staff were all very nice and helpful with booking tours and info about the town. The rooms are basic but has everything you need. Clean but nothing special as its an older hotel. Not a bad price for the room. The breakfast included was great. It was offered at a cafe close to the hotel which I didn't mind. No restaurant options for dinner or lunch there.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainforme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel, The service from all the staff is first class, any issues
or queries were dealt with immediatly with a positive outcome, Room was spacious and of a good standard, Breakfast is currently served at a cafe about a minutes walk away, It is a buffet breakfast with a good choice and a nice place to eat.

If I return to capetown I will stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was the last hotel during our stay in South Africa. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location in the centre with restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast buffet is in the nearby mall, which is absolutely no problem. The choice of food is good. Rooms are ok, TV, a/c & safe.

The negative points is that the bath would need a renovation. It looks rather dirty and not very well maintained. In addition, the rooms are poorly sound-proofed, especially if your room is close the elevator. I don't want to hear every single guest coming home at night and leaving in the morning....

Room Tip: No room close to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bebbi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We found this hotel via booking .com and liked .Brakfast is not inside the hotel but next to hotel there is a very good restaurant andthis is included which is so nice.Rooms are wide enough.The only problem is it was written that the shuttle from the airport is free but not ! Although taxi prices are not high they promised for shuttle but did not send.

Room Tip: the higher the rooms the noisy because of the wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AYSESIBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked the hotel as part of a package so didn't really know what to expect. The location was fantastic! It's in the middle of everything and still maintains a peacefulness about it. The rooms do need a makeover, it's slightly outdated. However, they are very spacious and cleaned well. Long street is a road up and there's a club in the same building (at a different entrance) which was also great! The restaurant at the hotel was being renovated at the time so we were given breakfast vouchers at a lovely deli next door. They offer a valet service for your car which I think was a great touch. I've saved the best for the last...the staff, they really understand hospitality We felt so well taken of being 2 ladies travelling alone; the staff took extra care to ensure we were safe and always advised us of the best options. If it's touring or partying you in CPT for, then this is the perfect hotel to be at!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRIYANKA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#87 of 112 in Cape Town Central
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £53 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing