We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value ; you get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 24 February 2014

No frills and definitely in the mould of '1970s, dark wood (chipped) and fairly drab furnishings'. Apart from the TV - none of the 10 channels had anything that was vaguely watchable on it ; no Sky, CNN or BBC - everything you need from a hotel room can be found. Comfy-enough bed, clean linen, table, chair, air-con, safe etc ensured an uneventful stay. Secure car parking at R50 per day was a welcome addition. Breakfast in the adjacent coffee shop exceeded expectations on every front. The staff overall were efficient, friendly and very smiley !! A brisk 20 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Hotel on St Georges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our third visit to the Hotel on St Georges, and it saddened me. It is not a plush hotel, it is a very good value for money hotel in an excellent position. But this time they have had problems. The dining room and bar were closed, so we had vouchers for breakfast in the mall next door. Also we had to go to the hotel a few doors away for an evening drink. Dont know why it was closed, but the lifts also played up a little. The staff however were very attentive and helpful, I hope they can get back on track soon,

Room Tip: dont Don't stay on a friday night! Disco on 21st floor kept us awake on the 10th floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseQ499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My grandfather and I stayed in the Hotel On St George's for 5 nights, beginning on the 9th February. This was probably one of the best value for money hotels I have ever stayed in, as it is right in the city centre of Cape Town, inside the ABSA building, so a walk to the waterfront is definitely possible, as is walking around the city.

We were fortunate enough to be given a room with a view of Table Mountain, which in itself was worth the price we payed. However, it only got better: The room was large and spacious, with an adequate bathroom, and all the staff without exception are polite and friendly.

However, the best part of the stay was at breakfast, which was served outside the hotel at the Kitchen Deli. There was everything you would need, and I mean everything, from a continental breakfast to a cooked breakfast, with a large selection of hot and cold drinks. The staff were equally polite, and even though they were busy with both hotel guests and paying customers, they would always stop for a chat.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel On St Georges, and cannot wait to return on Friday, when we return to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

City centre and waterfront hotels in Cape Town tend to be pricey. The Hotel on St Georges however is reasonably priced, very conveniently located for the central business district and the convention centre and staying there found the staff to be exceptionally polite and helpful which is more than one can say for some of the far more expensive hotels nearby. Its prob a 3 star establishment, a bit worn in places, but things seem to work ok - so not luxurious but practical and perhaps perfect for those on a budget whether tourists, in Cape Town on business or for a convention (five minute walk from the CTICC), Free wifi (many other hotels charge). Buffet Breakfast included (next door in a busy deli at the moment). Not the best i have had but more than adequate with hot and cold options, toasts, breads, fruit, yoghurt etc. Would certainly recommend

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms with view of Table Mountain might be nice, but could well be noisier.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

To be honest, I only booked this hotel because the usual one I'd stay at was fully booked and this one was inexpensive compared to most. It was a little dated to be honest, but it was so comfy, everything worked perfectly and the beds and linen wonderful. The view of Table Mountain was stunning, the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was in a little coffee shop around the corner from the hotel and was outstanding. The TV in the room was old and not the best reception, but you're in the heart of Cape Town, who needs TV! The lifts had my hubby and I laughing constantly at the noises and slowness, but the hotel endeared itself to us and we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and had a corner room over looking Table Mountain, was roomy and peaceful...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaughtyCatCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here over the new years holiday since it was the only reasonably priced hotel left in the city. Rooms were clean but dated with worn and frayed towels. Breakfast is in the shopping mall next door which while weird is not remotely inconvenient. Two issues: first, when trying to check in, the only person at the front desk, checked the couple in front of us in, then escorted them to their room, came back, checked in another couple that had just walked in, escorted them to their room, and then finally checked us in. I have never been in a hotel that has the person who checks you in at the front desk, escort you to your room. This is incredibly time consuming and not necessary for a hotel with a simple set up like St Georges. Even if the hotel prides itself on this type of customer service, when you have multiple customers, waiting it is not appropriate to leave the front desk when there is no one else available. Second issue, the hotel has no bathroom in the lobby, therefore you must go all the way to your room. Overall, it's an inexpensive hotel for Cape Town central, excellent location for walking to multiple areas of the city, but has some areas that need improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel has a very good location, quite close to the Water Front and Long Street, which are the main attractions in the city centre. It is clean, however a bit outdated.
We found reception and concierge services to be outstanding. A big thank to SADICK who was extremely helpful and always ready to give a good advice.
The only thing that requires urgent improvement is the breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 111 in Cape Town Central
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#102 of 111 in Cape Town Central
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 111 in Cape Town Central
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#77 of 111 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 111 in Cape Town Central
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £47 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing