We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel on St Georges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fountains Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Urban Hip Icon Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
85
208
127
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
208
127
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetcentral locationadderley streetbreakfast is servedbudget hotelfree wifinon smoking roomthe hotel is cleanbusiness districtbooked this hotelview of table mountainbus stopwalking distancethe air conditioninggreen market squarestayed here for nightsconvention center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

No frills and definitely in the mould of '1970s, dark wood (chipped) and fairly drab furnishings'. Apart from the TV - none of the 10 channels had anything that was vaguely watchable on it ; no Sky, CNN or BBC - everything you need from a hotel room can be found. Comfy-enough bed, clean linen, table, chair, air-con, safe etc ensured an uneventful stay. Secure car parking at R50 per day was a welcome addition. Breakfast in the adjacent coffee shop exceeded expectations on every front. The staff overall were efficient, friendly and very smiley !! A brisk 20 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our third visit to the Hotel on St Georges, and it saddened me. It is not a plush hotel, it is a very good value for money hotel in an excellent position. But this time they have had problems. The dining room and bar were closed, so we had vouchers for breakfast in the mall next door. Also we had to go to the hotel a few doors away for an evening drink. Dont know why it was closed, but the lifts also played up a little. The staff however were very attentive and helpful, I hope they can get back on track soon,

Room Tip: dont Don't stay on a friday night! Disco on 21st floor kept us awake on the 10th floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseQ499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My grandfather and I stayed in the Hotel On St George's for 5 nights, beginning on the 9th February. This was probably one of the best value for money hotels I have ever stayed in, as it is right in the city centre of Cape Town, inside the ABSA building, so a walk to the waterfront is definitely possible, as is walking around the city.

We were fortunate enough to be given a room with a view of Table Mountain, which in itself was worth the price we payed. However, it only got better: The room was large and spacious, with an adequate bathroom, and all the staff without exception are polite and friendly.

However, the best part of the stay was at breakfast, which was served outside the hotel at the Kitchen Deli. There was everything you would need, and I mean everything, from a continental breakfast to a cooked breakfast, with a large selection of hot and cold drinks. The staff were equally polite, and even though they were busy with both hotel guests and paying customers, they would always stop for a chat.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel On St Georges, and cannot wait to return on Friday, when we return to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

City centre and waterfront hotels in Cape Town tend to be pricey. The Hotel on St Georges however is reasonably priced, very conveniently located for the central business district and the convention centre and staying there found the staff to be exceptionally polite and helpful which is more than one can say for some of the far more expensive hotels nearby. Its prob a 3 star establishment, a bit worn in places, but things seem to work ok - so not luxurious but practical and perhaps perfect for those on a budget whether tourists, in Cape Town on business or for a convention (five minute walk from the CTICC), Free wifi (many other hotels charge). Buffet Breakfast included (next door in a busy deli at the moment). Not the best i have had but more than adequate with hot and cold options, toasts, breads, fruit, yoghurt etc. Would certainly recommend

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms with view of Table Mountain might be nice, but could well be noisier.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

To be honest, I only booked this hotel because the usual one I'd stay at was fully booked and this one was inexpensive compared to most. It was a little dated to be honest, but it was so comfy, everything worked perfectly and the beds and linen wonderful. The view of Table Mountain was stunning, the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was in a little coffee shop around the corner from the hotel and was outstanding. The TV in the room was old and not the best reception, but you're in the heart of Cape Town, who needs TV! The lifts had my hubby and I laughing constantly at the noises and slowness, but the hotel endeared itself to us and we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and had a corner room over looking Table Mountain, was roomy and peaceful.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaughtyCatCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews