We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #72 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Looks great from the outside but looks are deceiving! Our problems started with confusion with our reservation and continued. To have the front desk woman AND the General Manager treat us like we were lying and having to prove we reserved correctly is unacceptable. I admit that we did receive an apology letter but no apology from the 2 people who needed to apologize...the front desk woman and Yolanda, the general manager. I do give kudos to Kevin, the reservations manager, he treated us with respect and courtesy throughout the whole ordeal.
I also have concerns when a sign is posted in the lift "to go to ground floor, push 6 and G" then you can stop at floor 8, 6 then Ground. I would have been more comfortable using the stairs other than They are marked for emergency only.
For room choice...pick a room away from Adderley St. There is major road construction happening and the jack hammers start at 7am.
Bottom line...if we could have cancelled without losing our full fee we would have stayed elsewhere. But be assured we will never go near this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    195
    117
    25
    29
See reviews for
40
156
76
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My first visit to the mother city was made possible by the hotel on st georges. I was able to afford a three night's stay in a convenient spot. Everything is within walking distance, the staff is incredibly helpful, the room is clean and accomodates my needs. I would definitely come back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kgosanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a wonderful second experience. Stayed there the night before the Argus. So accommodating ie bicycles allowed in room, late check out, breakfast arrangements, power aid and bananas in the foyer. Checked out with all items still in room and everything safely taken to car for later collection. Even a samsung note 3 left at reception no problems.

Staff super friendly, room spacious and comfortable. And of course the great location in the CBD!

Room Tip: Any room will do!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel. It is old but it is CLEAN, QUIET, STAFF VERY POLITE, GOOD MANNERS. Magnifique view of Table Mountain from my room, on the 12th level - Room 1216,I shared the room with my son....Very big in size the deluxe superior twin room.

We can walk from the hotel to the Waterfront and of course at night we took a taxi which is around Rd 40 to Rd 50. Thanks to Ibrahim who booked a taxi for us, as the taxi I booked from my travel agent in my country never came. In 5 minutes, we got a taxi to go to the airport. If your are looking for a hotel and you have a low budget go to the St Georges.

Breakfast at the Kitchen Delhi was great.......miam miam....staff smiling, serving...

HATS UP TO YOU GUYS.....

Room Tip: I made the good choice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Esperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is very much a value-for-money hotel, which is sad because the building and location give it the potential to be much more. In its favour are the great location right on St George's Mall and close to Long Street, the wonderful friendly staff, the valet parking for just R 50/day, a reasonably good, hot buffet breakfast in a restaurant downstairs and the sheets were fairly new.

What lets this hotel down big-time are the basic things I expect from a hotel: a well-maintained room and some basic comforts. My issues were:
* Really old, worn out towels that seem like they haven't been replaced in years. They were thin, grey and stained with a sand-paper like texture. I am not fussy, but I really felt sick to have to wipe my face on these towels.
* Noise management: I could hear doors banging in the hallway, people talking in the room next door and creaking all night. I felt like I had people in the room with me constantly, and that those people were having a party.
* Drainage system that doesn't work: the shower is in the bathtub, and by the end of my shower the bathtub was close to overflowing because it wasn't draining. It did eventually drain, but it's a bit disgusting to know the drain was that blocked.
* Hard beds: the mattresses had almost no padding. I considered making a bed out of pillows.
* Really old furnishings and bathroom: the sink in the bathroom was very badly chipped. An easy replacement would give the bathroom a new life.

With the exception of beds which might be more difficult to replace, the above seem like very small things to fix in order to pick up the standard of this hotel. I hope they do a refurbishment because it does have potential to be a great option in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Pretoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice. Centeral value for money nice breakfast. Close to everything you want to see. The look is a bit outdated but nothing wrong with it.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Only draw back was the small tv

Room Tip: Get the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viljoen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
456 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

No frills and definitely in the mould of '1970s, dark wood (chipped) and fairly drab furnishings'. Apart from the TV - none of the 10 channels had anything that was vaguely watchable on it ; no Sky, CNN or BBC - everything you need from a hotel room can be found. Comfy-enough bed, clean linen, table, chair, air-con, safe etc ensured an uneventful stay. Secure car parking at R50 per day was a welcome addition. Breakfast in the adjacent coffee shop exceeded expectations on every front. The staff overall were efficient, friendly and very smiley !! A brisk 20 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#77 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Property: Hotel on St Georges
Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing