We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but small and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trevoyan Guest House
Ranked #16 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, but small and noisy”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely guesthouse with table mountain view and nicely decorated rooms, but our room was small and right next to the breakfast area and had the window where everyone passed by. If you go there make sure to book one of the superior rooms, although it might be quite expensive compared it other beautiful guesthouses in the same area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria16802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Maria,

What a pity that you where not satisfied with the size of your room. We feel very sorry about this but next time please talk to us while you are with us and we can check together if there is a solution for your unhappiness. Other guests (Review 08MAY2014) have described the same room as roomy and comfortable.

We do regularly a rate comparison with our competitors and we are absolutely sure that we do deliver great value for money. Our rates and the rates of other guesthouses in our area are available online and can be compared from everybody before he or she does the final booking.

Best regards from Eddie & Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    67
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
254
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban-sur-arize, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

courteous efficient staff and friendly owners, generally beautifully decorated and comfortable. Secure and quiet although within walking distance of Cape Town. Delicious and healthy breakfast..... We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beatrice474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Beatrice,

thank you so much for your nice words. Your description is exactly what we want to offer AND deliver to our guests: superb quality, great service combined with honest friendliness, absolute cleanliness and best value for money. This is what we strive for.
Glad you found it with us and we will see you again – we take this as promise ☺

All the best Eddie & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked the Trevoyan so that we could experience Cape Town central in a quiet convenient location and it was perfect for that. The house is beautiful, the garden and pool a bonus. Delicious breakfasts on the sunny verandah, eggs cooked to order and artfully presented. The staff team were efficient and friendly and felt like they were a family. Would go back and have already recommended it to a friend going to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Domenic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Domenic, my namesake ☺

It was a great pleasure to have you here and it makes us very happy that you felt like a family member. This is how it should be and the reason why so many people prefer a guesthouse instead a hotel. Keep on going to recommend our beautiful Trevoyan to your friends. Recommendations are the most valueable “marketing tools” in the world.

Thank you so much – Dominique & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great location, accommodation and service. I would have given five stars if it were not for the facts that there is only street parking (in an area well-known for car break-ins - we used to live close by some years ago), and no air conditioning in the room, which is strange and uncomfortable in Cape Town where the summer temperatures often reach 30 degrees +.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Mala,

Thank you for your review and your comments on parking and air conditioning. We think we would have deserved the five stars from you and I would like to explain to you why ☺

Our neighborhood Tamboerskloof is one of the safest areas in Cape Town and if you don’t leave any visible valuables in the car normally nothing will happen. We personally also park our car since more than two years on the streets of Cape Town and we had no single incident. And none of our guests ever experienced a car break in. And please bear in mind that we do not advertise for parking on the premises. We do not promise what we cannot fulfill.

In Cape Town we do have a NATURAL air conditioning called "Cape Doctor" or "die Kaapse dokter" in Afrikaans. It is the local name for the strong, persistent and dry south-easterly wind that blows around the Cape Peninsula from spring to late summer (September to March). It is known as the Cape Doctor because it has long been held to clear Cape Town of pollution and 'pestilence'. This is our HEALTHY air conditioning which offer our guests (next to a strong fan) and they do appreciate it. We do not advertise that we have air conditioning in our rooms and therefore we should not get rated on this.

All the best
Eddie & Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely, neat and tranquil B&B in the heart of Tamboerskloof. Quick drive to the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Lions Head or Camps Bay. Walking distance to Kloof Rd bars and restaurants.Room had lovely high ceilings with a rustic modern feel to it and everything was clean. Lovely garden with pool.Perfect location for our short stay as we have friends who live around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank webbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for describing the features of our lovely Trevoyan Guesthouse so nicely. We hope you are going to visit your friends very soon again.

Dom & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Loved our stay. Rooms and bathroom are very spacious, comfortable and really beautiful. Garden and pool are gorgeous and very relaxing. The exact amount of sun and shade. Breakfast is very good with continental and cooked breakfast (and freshly squeezed orange juice!). The only downside was that the room doesn't have air conditioning and I found it a bit hot, but I must say I visited Cape Town during high summer. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscila Salern... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Priscilla,

Thank you so much for your recommendation of our beautiful guesthouse. We really appreciate it.

Best regards
Dominique & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Room number 6 (Garden Suite -Upstairs) was of a comfortable size, and it includes a well-equipped kitchenette. The lounge was comfortable and offered a view over the secluded plunge pool and manicured garden. The breakfast was scrumptious, and was served with exceptional coffee. The staff were friendly and courteous.
Although parking was available around the corner in the street, offsite parking is a security risk, especially in a crime ridden South Africa. The bath-shower combination is slippery when wet, and the shower-head was of an inferior type.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KootduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrevoyans, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your great evaluation of our lovely Trevoyan Guesthouse.

We are terribly sorry that we can not offer onsite parking. But if you don´t leave any visible valuables in your car, normally nothing will happen. Since two years we had no incidents and our neighborhood Tamboerskloof is known for being a safe area.

We changed the shower-head straight away and a new anti-slip mat can now be found in the bathroom. Thank you for letting us know. Only with the help of our guests we can strive for perfection.

Eddie & Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevoyan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevoyan Guest House

Property: Trevoyan Guest House
Address: 12 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevoyan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the slopes of Table Mountain, stands the Trevoyan guesthouse, enjoy the beauty of Trevoyans charming garden, relax under a majestic oak tree and take a dip in our solar heated pool. For those who love the sun, soak it up on the sun-deck with stunning views of the city bowl, table mountain, signal hill, lions head and devils peak. Trevoyan guesthouse offers 4 luxurious en-suite double rooms, 1 junior suite and two suites with separate lounges. An opulent breakfast is served on our conservatory styled verandah. Wireless Internet facility throughout the house available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Trevoyan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevoyan Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing