We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #63 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sheer joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Agroup of 5 of us returning from a 3 week's working cruise which ended in Cape Town booked 5 single rooms for the one night. We arrived early morning and the staff were eager to store our luggage until our rooms were available at 1400 hours. Excellently situated but the walk to the waterfront was a little in excess of the 15 minutes reception had indicated, had we known then how cheap taxis were we'd have chosen that mode of transport.

On arrival back at the hotel in the afternoon we were told we'd been all upgraded to luxury doubles on the 9th and 10th floors with amazing rooms of Table Mountain. Our luggage was portered to our rooms which were tastefully decorated with every facility and very generous in size.

As we had a lot of luggage and there were 5 of us the hotel booked suitable transport to the airport for the following evening at a very reasonable price.

The breakfast was tremendous with everything there to suit all tastes. There was no rush to get us out of oiur rooms as we had an evening flight and our luggage was stored for us and services provided for us to change and sort our luggage when we returned after dinner to wait for our mini bus.

Staff at all times were polite and helpful. I loved Cape Town and will certainly return and when I do i shall stay at the Townhouse Hotel.

Room Tip: Believe the singles are very small, this was the reason Reception gave for upgrading us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesM324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    187
    50
    11
    2
See reviews for
32
128
49
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel is in the city centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is tea and kettle provided. my only gripe was that they did not refill them, or maybe I should have requested that. The breakfast was also good. Will not mind staying there again. I was able to walk to the Waterfront, about 20 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Segametsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on a recent trip to Cape Town. The Townhouse is best described as comfortable - no 5 star frills here, but everything you need is provided. Location is very central, right near parliament. Easy walk to Long St and the Gardens. Can walk to V&A Waterfront but it's a fair walk, about 20-30 minutes (or about R60 in a taxi). The immediate area is very quiet in the evenings and on weekends. Not a dangerous location but as with anywhere in Cape Town you should take precautions at all times (e.g. don't flash valuables, don't carry passport around, etc). Witnessed one bag snatching in the City in my time there.

Room had sufficient space for one person. Very comfortable bed, I slept well each night, and very large shower with good water pressure. Television had a good mix of movie and sports channels including Premier League live. Breakfast was also decent, really nice omelettes.

Few minor complaints - the room cleaning service could have been more thorough - one day they didn't empty my rubbish bin, sometimes they only left one towel instead of two. Service in the restaurant also hit and miss - usually my toast at breakfast was cold by the time it arrived.

Overall though an enjoyable stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeingIsBelieving007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a Business trip.
The Hotel is located in central Cape Town. A good 30 min walk to the Waterfront.
The Room was spacious and had a room safe, kettle with tea and coffee provided.
Minimal bathroom amenities. Small TV with English films.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the duvet very fluffy!
24 hour room service and the food was very good. Breakfast was plentiful and plenty of choice.
I enjoyed the Jungle oats!
The staff were very friendly and were very helpful with any problems.
Would stay here again.
If you want a Hair cut then I would recommend "Hair by Michelle" in Loop Street. A short 10 min walk from the Hotel. Closed on Mondays.

Room Tip: You can either have a room with a mountain view, but you get alot of wind noise as Cape Town is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Does not look too enticing from outside but once through the doors it is a different matter. Not an ultramodern hotel but rather a well maintained hotel with a more genteel feel. The rooms were nicely sized, comfortable bed and kept spotless by the staff. The rooms were well soundproofed so you had no extraneous noise from other rooms. The restaurant was pleasant and the food well above average. As others have noted, the breakfast really sets you up for the day.
The hotel is quite well placed in a slightly quieter part of town next to the parliament buildings but only a 10 minute stroll into the very town centre. It is also a 10 minute walk to the Cape Malay area for some of the best food in the country.
Car parking was straightforward in a multi-story car park next door to the hotel with access from level ‘M’ to the 7th floor of the hotel. Daily costs were very reasonable.
I have read some adverse comments about the staff but in my experience they were all excellent. Always a smile a few friendly words and always very helpful with advise where to visit and give directions etc.
My only gripe was that there were only two elevators and boy were they slow. Modern and good size they were, but waiting for lifts took forever. The hotel was not heavily booked so I would think it could be a bit of a problem in the holiday season.
As a base to visit Cape Town, I cannot recommend the hotel and staff highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emblpa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

The Townhouse is a long established hotel that can be best described as a business/conference style hotel with accomodation that matches this class. It is very central and the service is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic, a big buffet selection. There is a parking garage linked to the hotel, rooms are decorated in a modern style, but there is no gym, so if that's important to you, then you'll need to walk 10mins to the closest gym. We loved staying here. Ask for a mountain view if possible.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonComfortseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and its was great. Breakfast was lovely. Fresh fruits and pastries and their eggs benedict is AMAZING!!!
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are small yet comfortable (the best beds i have ever slept on), perfect for a few nights stay. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a small but beautiful view of the top of the mountain.
The hotel is situated in the perfect spot, being in easy walking distance from a lot of attractions, shops and even the V & A waterfront.
I managed to walk down to green point and found the walk rather relaxing.
The only down side to this hotel, that I can think of, is the parking. Feels like a never ending spiral up / down about 7 parking floors.
Other than that, it's great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing