We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

As far as Conference Venues go, the Townhouse Hotel is certainly one of the better options. The hotel rooms are basic, but clean and well-equipped. As a conference facility, the venue is smart and modern and the staff are incredibly helpful and clearly well trained to handle large volume's of guests. Check-in was slightly irritating as the receptionist took some time to find the booking (made by the company) but after that it was painless. As the renovation work was complete, I had no disruption from building noise, but do bear in mind you are in the heart of "work-land" so it is fairly noisy in general.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    196
    52
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
135
50
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was stop one of a 15 day trip in South Africa. Like previous reviewers, the building work was a tad disruptive but apart from the banging (only during the day) we had no complaints. Room was clean and well furnished and breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful, recommending restaurants and booking taxis etc. Cost of taxi from hotel to Waterfront shops, bars and restaurants was R60 - less than a fiver!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights whilst in Cape Town for business. I had a corner room which was great. I was on the 7th floor so I had nice views out of the windows.
The room was comfortable and had all the amenities that make your stay comfortable. The bed was big, clean and comfortable. The writing desk was big so plenty of space for laptops, chargers, IPads.
The bathroom had a shower and wasn't very big but it was clean and big enough for one person to u. I believe they have just refurbed the bathrooms.
They had room service which is also good for a single traveller who does not want to go and eat in the restaurant. Breakfast was good
The parking garage is next door to the hotel with it's own private entrance from the garage - which is really convenient and not very expensive compared to different hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrianaVolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Firstly to be very honest. We got a great rate for this hotel, so we cant complain - it was great value for money and I expect this will be a magnificent hotel when all the work is competed. The hotel is in a central area of Cape Town and the area felt pretty safe and was convenient for the city centre and a pleasant 30 minute walk or £2 taxi right to the waterfront.
Service was efficient and very friendly. Breakfast was good with plenty choice and dinner in the restaurant was superb.
The rooms were nice and very modern and the bathrooms a lovely feature. The bathrooms are undergoing refurbishment, throughout the hotel, so during our stay there was some noise, and the lifts were frequently held up by contractors. We would return to this hotel again, for sure, if there was no work going on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midlifetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were returning guests to the Townhouse Hotel, as last year we had a great visit. This time the entire hotel was under construction. Despite a "tiny" disclaimer on Booking.com, and a sign in the hotel elevator stating there would be minor disturbances from 9:30-4pm, we experienced pounding, drilling and loud noises from 8:00-18:00. I had to call at 18:00 and request they stop it so we could take a rest. This was just after returning from a day out and we had personally asked the front desk what time the construction would end, and they said 4pm. The whole day the elevators had construction workers coming in and out and we had to wait 10 minutes to catch one. On our second day we finally got upstairs with all our shopping bags and then the key card didn't work. They only charged it for 2 nights despite the fact that we had pre- paid for 3 !! Also, booking.com says that the construction will end in September and the hotel manager says it's expected to end at the end of October. Definitely do not come here until December 2013 in that case! Our problems with the hotel were from check-in (they tried to put us in a freshly painted room which stunk of chemicals, we had to wait an hour to change rooms), to check out (our room-service breakfast didn't arrive on time, we were leaving very early to the airport and then the staff could not find our cooler box (so that we could transport cold items). We had to leave without both. The staff seemed confused and not very well trained, we are wondering if the management changed. All in all, this hotel tainted our holiday and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadictravelers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a B/B basis in June, the room had a comfortable bed and was a reasonable size, they are upgrading The bathrooms which is desperately needed. The service and food at breakfast was good. The location is "town centre"you can get to a number of the local, however their are many more beautiful an interesting parts of Cape Town to stay. Rather than this location, opposite the magistrates court. The most disappointing was during my stay was the overall service . Being my 40th Birthday durring our stay, the hotel delivered poor service throughout the three days and certainly didn't exceed my expectation or even come with a smile, thank you and goodbye. I wouldn't recommend this hotel in such a beautiful city, their are much better options.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjohncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rendsburg
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 4 night at the Townhouse Hotel in Cape Town.
Deluxe room: comfortable room with queensize bed and bathroom.
WLAN was inclusive.
Interieur was old, but very clean. Currently they modernize the rooms.
The hotel has a huge parking deck (guest 7.floor): cost 4 Rand / day.
Breakfast buffet at was very good.
We also can recommend the restaurant "Trees" for Dinner.
Thank you, we will come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Scout_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Diamond Hotel
#79 of 109 in Cape Town Central
251 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing