We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #55 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Centrally located in a quiet part of town. Nice large rooms. Clean and modern. Lovely buffet breakfast and dining options.
Only criticism would be the front desk staff who were unhelpful and disinterested - shame, since they are the first point of contact.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mysterymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had a very pleasant stay here: the rooms are truly attractively furnished, the staff so friendly and helpful, and it is within walking distance of the Centrum, though, sadly it becomes seedy - and dangerous - at night time. Please do not walk around at night time, especially if you are alone/female.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cicely C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I selected this hotel because of its central location in town and its reasonable price. I enjoyed staying here for three days. The room was comfortable though not overly large. The room was very light thanks to the four windows, two of which could fortunately be opened. Breakfast was very good and also the bar and lobby were quite nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilHOegstgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A lovely hotel right in the middle of CPT only a quick taxi ride to the V&A. Great rooms, free wifi and very friendly, accommodating staff BUT was surprised at the high charges for parking your car. Multi storey car park that is attached to the hotel so no hassle but just expensive even for one overnight stay. Disappointing after such a nice stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and up until New Years and loved this hotel. It was a great retreat from were we live in Tanzania. The room was a little tight for all four of us in our family but we were just sleeping there so it was not to big of a deal. The food at the trees was good. We had breakfast there everyday and even ate dinner there one night.

Though this is a business hotel it was close enough to everything we wanted to do. We just taxied it most days. One day we did walk down to the train station.

Our only complaint that we had was that our shower drain was clogged and flooded the bathroom when my daughter took a shower. I called downstairs and they sent someone up who did not know what to do. He said he had to go and talk with his manager about it. Being in Africa long enough I knew I would not see him again. I used our towels to dry the floor and the next morning I used my Leathermen multi tool to remove the drain and then the hair that was in the drain. I grew up with 3 sisters and now have 2 daughters so it was not a big deal for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afogleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I enjoyed my visit at the Townhouse Hotel over the Christmas period.

Things I liked:
1. Central city location (away from the beaches unfortunately), within walking distance of several eateries and the Castle of Good Hope. Close to a local police station. About ten minutes drive from Table Mountain and the Waterfront.

2. Well furnished: large television, free wifi and glass-wall bathrooms.

3. Superb view overlooking Capetown City and Table Mountain

4. Restaurant definitely above par: innovative dishes, well prepared and presented.

Things I disliked:
1. Despite the central location there are not too many restaurants or shops close by.

2. No gym, swimming pool or masseuse.

Conclusion
The Townhouse Hotel is a solid four star city hotel in Capetown central. Although the beach is far away, several other tourist attractions are close-by. The restaurant is excellent, the rooms are well-furnished, spacious and boast exquisite views. Recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nightinferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The Townhouse Hotel is a well located Hotel in central CP. Parking is cheap. Staff is friendly ans rooms are perfect after the renovation of bathrooms. Breakfast is delicious with a wide range of choice - but Cappuccino is an extra (R16). All in all we can totally recommend that hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sjck_jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 110 in Cape Town Central
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 110 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £76 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing