We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last 3 nights in South Africa”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #53 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and i spend our last 3 nights here during our trip. We booked the Jr. Suite and was extremely pleased by it. We didnt eat on the property, since there was so many restaurants near by, but we walked passed it every morning and smelled quite nice. The hotel is in an excellent location. Close to Long st (5 min walk) Close to Green Market Sq (5 min walk) tons of museums and monuments (5 min walk). The staff couldnt have been more helpful. We had a late flight saturday evening, and after a booking mishap with a tour company (my fault) we came back to the hotel and they let us in our old room after we checked out. They let us stay there until our flight well after check out. Great staff, great location, great hotel. great city.. What else could you ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of the junior suites, and that the location of the hotel was convenient for the 3 days you spent in Cape Town.
We hope that the Townhouse Hotel will be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Cape Town, we will certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Townhouse Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Breakfast could be better. The staff apparently very friendly, but clearly have been instructed to trot out the same cliches. The hotel, although well decorated is sterile and lacking atmosphere. Worth it, but won't return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcKruger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast selection, and you found that the hotel lacks atmosphere.

We certainly hope you would change your mind about staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards
Townhouse Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our third stay , although their had been long gaps , location is still superb for all the tourist sites, ie Parliament , Company gardens , numerous museums, Adderley & Long Streets , etc .Rooms have all had a major refit , to bring them up an excellent standard , furniture , beds , wet rooms , .The disappointed centres around the restaurant on the first floor , which has had a complete refit , with ghastly BIG uncomfortable furniture , which has had a knock on effect with indifferent food , service , also , such a shame . If you do stop not a lot nearby restaurants to walk to in the evening , so plan ahead & book , local taxi outside very good , & reasonable , book a return cab , cape town @ night is busy ,

Room Tip: To get away from the road noise ask for a room on the top floors if available , plus you may get a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers some of the most beautiful and modern rooms I have seen in Cape Town. It is definitely value for money and I would have thought that it is a 5 star hotel. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but the food is of very high quality and when brought to the table, plated like 5 star cuisine - which justifies the pricing. Can't wait to stay over here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Businessman1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed there for a night on May 5th, 2014. Great hotel, very good location (5 minutes from the Green market), quiet, clean and food is good. The room I booked was supposed to be small. Actually, it is not that small since the space is well used.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Long street is just up the road, contemporary decorated. Its an old hotel but it is very nicely decorated. Our room service was served by an old lady who has worked there for 40years and love the hotel and how good they have been to her. Had no option but to give her a very good tip she reminded me of my granny. The room sevice was good and breakfast so overall its a lovely hotel for business travellers and the town is very safe for walking....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 11 days on a solo trip in one of the deluxe rooms. Not the biggest room but big enough and great bang for your buck with a great location in the middle of town. Entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. After I arrived I noticed the window in my room wasn't closing properly and causing a bit of a draft. Phoned down to the front desk and someone was up to fix it in under 2 minutes. Only complaint would be that the a la carte breakfast left a little to be desired, eggs always seemed a little runny, that could also just be my personal taste though. That being said the buffet and dinner were always great and the service was outstanding. I will return!

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor overlooking Table Mountain for a spectacular view to wake up to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalemelnychuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#78 of 112 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,394 reviews
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#91 of 112 in Cape Town Central
314 reviews
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#83 of 112 in Cape Town Central
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £58 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing