We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Rating- Yes.”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4 Star Rating- Yes.”
Reviewed 6 April 2007

Our stay was for 6 nights in February 2007.
Room was very comfortable, finish and fittings very good quality.
Breakfast choice was very good. Hot selection was freshly cooked and served at the table, not self serve as is often the case these days.
We used the restaurant for dinner on each night of our stay. Food and service could not be faulted.
Central location of hotel enabled most city centre attractions to be visited on foot. Taxi to Waterfront and Table Mountain, booked thro. reception, reliable and inexpensive.

  • Liked — Modern and very clean
  • Disliked — no apparent faults
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank plcbpc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    200
    52
    11
    3
See reviews for
35
136
50
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We stayed at the Townhouse Hotel for four nights from 5 - 8 March 2007 as part of a fly-drive trip from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town during which we stayed in 6 hotels, all very different. The Town House was one of the two we would rate best value for money.
We initially had difficulty in finding the sort of accommodation we were looking for in Cape Town although we were booking about two months in advance. Vacancies were either at the top end of the market in the Waterfront, or in small, two star hotels. The Town House was one of the few exceptions. Initially we were unsure, having been advised to stay at the Waterfront as the city centre is full of 1970s concrete blocks, but limited choice led us to stay here.
I'm not sure how much renovation is still to do in the hotel. There is still some going on but only during the day when we were out and about anyway. The one afternoon we took a siesta in the room though and were not disturbed by it at all. We had one of the refurbished rooms and it was very nice - clean and comfortable with a flat-screen TV (not that we watched it much). The only (very minor) gripe - as with so many hotels - a not very powerful hairdryer with one of those annoying switches you have to keep pressed down. There was tea and coffee and a kettle in the room and a safe.
One thing we noticed, as another contributor has said, in South Africa it seems as though double bedrooms often have two twin beds instead of a double. In one hotel they made it up as a double for us, but in this one we didn't ask as we felt we'd already given them enough grief in changing our room! The reason for this was that initially we had been given a room opposite the lift which we thought might be noisy at night. We asked if there was any chance of a change of room and they did this without any difficulty. In fact the reception staff were extremely helpful throughout, including checking out the details of a cricket match for us.
The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. We ate once in the restaurant in the evening and it was fine. There isn't a proper bar at the hotel, you can order drinks in the residents' lounge area but it closes around 10 pm.
Parking is in the multi-storey car park attached to the hotel - you have to go up to floor M though - but there is a door direct into the hotel on the 7th floor, linked by phone to reception.
We didn't use the swimming pool, so can't give any information on that.
Location-wise the hotel is fairly quiet although in the city centre. It's a fairly short walk from the main city centre attractions but you need transport to go to the Waterfront. We kept the car we'd hired for our time in Cape Town. The main problem we found in staying in this area was the lack of restaurants in the evening. We found a couple - the Riboville which is a stone's-throw from the hotel and serves a mixture of fresh fish and Asian fusion and an enormous and (to us non-conoisseurs) baffling range of 360 wines. Also a tapas bar called Fork. There are a few more but you have to search them out and it's not the greatest experience walking around the semi-deserted city centre at night, although we were not threatend in any way.
Two important tips: If you want to visit Robben Island, this tends to get booked up at least 2-3 days in advance, so don't expect to turn up and get on the next ferry. Things are made worse if they have to cancel sailings due to rough seas. You can however phone through ahead and make a credit card booking ,and pick up your tickets at the ferry terminal. Table Mountain...expect to queue for an hour to get the cable car up...we're not sure if you can get priority tickets in advance, organised tours seemd to have them, but most people joined the back of the queue.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank IanJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick, London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

We chose to stay here as it was centrally located, but ended up getting the hotel shuttle to the Waterfront and Table Mountain.

The hotel is undergoing renovations which meant that the room we stayed in was brand new and very modern and clean however the noise from the ongoing work was a bit of a nightmare. The noise started at 9am until about 4pm so it motivated us to get out and start exploring. There were a lot of workmen at the hotel so we didn't leave anything valuable in the room.

I think when the work is done the hotel will be much better.

The restaurant was nice and the bar staff extrremely helpful.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy-Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

This was my first stop on a seven week trip around South Africa, and it was a pretty good way to start. Despite a slow start - the desire to get some rest after a long, long plane flight was continuously interrupted by extremely loud hotel renovations, but I was moved to another room after I complained - the hotel proved to be in a terrific location. It is walking distance to parks and parliament as well as shops, restaurants and cafes, and a short cab ride to the waterfront. The hotel itself is pretty generic, but comfortable and, if you are in the right room, it has some great views.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Generic
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a high floor - better views
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jfreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2006

This hotel is located in the city cetre near to the castle so is very handy for walkabouts in the central area. It is exceptionally quiet inside, especially regarding room-to-room noise, plumbing noises etc. without doubt the quietest place we have ever stayed in. The views of Table Mountain are to die for.
It is rated 4 stars and fully lives up to it. Every facility is there, the staff are brilliant and the food in the restaurant is excellent. We couldnt fault the place. Our every needs were catered for. What else can I say ? I only wish all hotels were this good.

Helpful?
6 Thank fsmjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2006

We've just had a week staying in this town centre hotel. The receptionists were always smiling and extremely helpful, the porters always willing and the chambermaids and restaurant staff could not be more helpful. Rooms well appointed and large bathrooms.
Breakfast was a wonderful spread and the dinner menu looked inviting.
Position was good although you would not want to walk around there in the dark, but a taxi was never expensive. Just five minutes walk from the museums and gardens and Green Market Square.

Helpful?
5 Thank belfiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2005

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and it was fine. Fab buffet breakfast every morning & room was very comfortable. It is located in central capetown however due to security in the city we did find we still needed to get cabs everywhere. There is a complimentary bus to the waterfront from the hotel, however this is only once a day! Rooms were clean.

Helpful?
22 Thank calgal818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Hollow
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
225 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
814 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing