We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but otherwise average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I had fairly high expectations having read the TA reviews. The location is superb and very easy to get around. The reception was slow and not particularly service minded. The third floor room was ok but did not match what other hotels in Cape Town offer at the same price.

Room Tip: I expect rooms on first and second floor are bettr
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ostergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at V&A Waterfront hotel. The hotel is in a very touristy location, which we have mixed feelings about (there are pros and cons to that).

The hotel has 2 sides: 1 side faces the waterfront center, the other side faces table mountain. IF YOU GO, ONLY STAY IN A ROOM FACING TABLE MOUNTAIN. We had stayed in the room facing the center and it was so noisy, we HAD to switch rooms. Once we switched, it was peaceful and beautiful. (The hotel was gracious enough not to charge us for the upgrade).

The rooms are spacious, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, clean & ridiculously excellent breakfast buffet (1 of the best I have had) . The restaurant for dinner we nothing special, but there are tons of AMAZING RESTAURANTS right near by on the waterfront. The staff, while extremely friendly, was not as competent as expected. 2x messages got dropped by someone at the front desk.

OVERALL, my husband and I enjoyed our stay, and DO think it is a very good hotel. However, for the price, I suppose we expected flawlessness.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSax19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Booked into this hotel by Wilderness Safaris prior to Botswana safari. Location terrific, ameneties excellent, although we were on the go most of the time. Breakfast superb and allowed special orders. Easy walk to Robben Island Boat.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank Walkingwlkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We Loved this place, Food and service was ridiculously good, location was excellent, we spent 4 nights here, the waterfront has many great restaurants, but be sure to eat in the hotel at least once. The hotel restaurant is top quality, it was our first time in South Africa and we found the level of service to be far beyond anything we every experience before, I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellaghbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

leaving here tommorrow the 31st after three nights had a great time good location loverly room over looking va waterfront nice and ouiet. staff brill service typical capetonion but good i like there sense of humour. great food in the restaurant. would come back

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We chose this hotel because of its location. In Cape Town, you don't want to walk around in all areas at night, the Victoria and Alfred area is very safe with security all over the place. This hotel is right in the heart of it all, close to the aquarium, city bus tours main stop and all of the shopping in the area. The hotel itself is fantastic and very clean, modern and well managed.

All staff were very friendly and offered exceptional customer service at all times. Our first room did not have a strong connection to the complimentary wifi, the wired connection also didnt offer a strong connection so the hotel moved us to another room the next day with no after this.

The concierge helped us with things to do in the area and car rentals and organised everything to the very last detail. The mojitos at the bar were fantastic and the barman was obviously very skilled and passionate about making cocktails, very friendly too.

A fantastic hotel, if you're looking for a luxury stay in a great hotel in the safe heart of the main tourist area, this is the one to go for to get value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The price of this hotel will have you expect a great experience, but it struggles to meet them. The front desk staff are uninterested and unwilling to meet your demands however small they might be.

As we arrived we found our room facing the square. So far so good. What you might want to consider before booking this kind of room is that music will be played right outside and the sound proofing of the windows is completely lacking. We asked to be given a more quiet room, but efter saying they would look in to it. We never heard a word from the staff after this point.

They will tell you that there is wifi in you room but don't get too excited as the wireless router must be placed on Robben Island.

The rooms are not at all fourstar with bathrooms that could definitly use some refurbishing.

The staff at the front desk (except the girl at the travel desk) were not at all helpful. E.g. we had made arrangements of our own to go to Robben Island. When asking from where the ferry leaves the answere was that there was no chance of getting on since it was fully booked. Thanks, but that wasn't really my question.

Location and breakfast was great, but if you are looking for value for money or have high expectations this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakobHagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,380 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £156 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing