We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
camberley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great location, great hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in march. We found the V&A to be a great base for exploring Capetown. Rooms were spacious and breakfasts were really good apart from the seagull that pinched a sausage off our plate. The bus tour is a good way to get your bearings if new to the city. We had a car which is a must if you want to get out of town - table mountain, camps bay, kirstenbosch gardens, cape point are all easy to get to and well worth the visit. As for food we enjoyed great steaks at Balthazar and City steak house. If you like sushi or japenese food you must go to Willoboughy's.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    460
    137
    26
    24
See reviews for
221
822
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This hotel is in a great location. right in the middle of everything on the waterfront. Victoria Wharf and the Nelson Mandela Gateway Center are both within steps from the front door. There are several great restaurants, pubs, and stores that line the waterfront. many great day tours are also available from the travel desk in the lobby.

Room Tip: water side so you get a view of table mountian
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpp121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I had fairly high expectations having read the TA reviews. The location is superb and very easy to get around. The reception was slow and not particularly service minded. The third floor room was ok but did not match what other hotels in Cape Town offer at the same price.

Room Tip: I expect rooms on first and second floor are bettr
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ostergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at V&A Waterfront hotel. The hotel is in a very touristy location, which we have mixed feelings about (there are pros and cons to that).

The hotel has 2 sides: 1 side faces the waterfront center, the other side faces table mountain. IF YOU GO, ONLY STAY IN A ROOM FACING TABLE MOUNTAIN. We had stayed in the room facing the center and it was so noisy, we HAD to switch rooms. Once we switched, it was peaceful and beautiful. (The hotel was gracious enough not to charge us for the upgrade).

The rooms are spacious, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, clean & ridiculously excellent breakfast buffet (1 of the best I have had) . The restaurant for dinner we nothing special, but there are tons of AMAZING RESTAURANTS right near by on the waterfront. The staff, while extremely friendly, was not as competent as expected. 2x messages got dropped by someone at the front desk.

OVERALL, my husband and I enjoyed our stay, and DO think it is a very good hotel. However, for the price, I suppose we expected flawlessness.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSax19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Booked into this hotel by Wilderness Safaris prior to Botswana safari. Location terrific, ameneties excellent, although we were on the go most of the time. Breakfast superb and allowed special orders. Easy walk to Robben Island Boat.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkingwlkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We Loved this place, Food and service was ridiculously good, location was excellent, we spent 4 nights here, the waterfront has many great restaurants, but be sure to eat in the hotel at least once. The hotel restaurant is top quality, it was our first time in South Africa and we found the level of service to be far beyond anything we every experience before, I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellaghbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

leaving here tommorrow the 31st after three nights had a great time good location loverly room over looking va waterfront nice and ouiet. staff brill service typical capetonion but good i like there sense of humour. great food in the restaurant. would come back

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing