We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is the old one, very keen to see the new version!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights just this week, as was in CPT on business. I arrived on an early morning flight, and had to go pretty well straight to the office. Check-in was very good, they gave me a room and got some breakfast as soon as I got there, so I could then dump my bags and head to work.

On arrival, they also offered me an 'upgrade' to their new hotel, just up the street. I declined it, because one of my travelling partners had already checked in a day or two prior. What I'm intrigued about is how good the new hotel must be, because I thought the V&A was beautiful.

Reasonably priced, particularly by Australian standards. Food was absolutely fabulous and the concierge staff were knowledgable and helpful.

My absolute favourite thing about this hotel was the huge bathroom with a seperate bath and massive shower. The room overall was a very good size, aswell.

My room also had a beautiful view of table mountain.

Room Tip: drink the wine, eat the food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juicyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

We started our honeymoon here at the V&A and our whole stay was lovely. Room was beautiful overlooking the waterfront, food was amazing and the service was superb. We were delighted to return to our room on day 2 to find a bottle of fizz and a fruit fondu as well as petals decorating our room - a lovely touch!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephensMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed in the V&A Hotel for 5 nights in May, and the entire experience was superb. The staff were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful at all times - nothing we asked was too much trouble for anyone on staff.

Our room was loft style room with a large private balcony complete with Jacuzzi. The room was very well fitted out, and there was more than enough space. The free Wi-Fi in the rooms was an absolute win!

The hotel is so central, a great night out at the Waterfront is on your doorstep, and taxis are available outside the hotel for a night out in the city center.

I will definitely be back at this hotel the next time I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This Hotel was the best place we stayed on our 2 weeks Cape Town/garden route holiday. The rooms comfortable and very clean. Parking was no problem with concierge service provided. The breakfast buffet had a spread for all tastes, even including kippers (I have not seen kippers on a bf'buffet since the 80th.) Not as close to the city centre as I might have hoped but directly on the Waterfront with hundreds of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billynad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We spent (another) 3 days at the V&A with our children...
A great hotel, with big spacious rooms, lovely breakfasts,
perfectly located within walking distance of many restaurants, shops and movies and
friendly and helpful staff who will see to it that everybody is happy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Li4SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in march. We found the V&A to be a great base for exploring Capetown. Rooms were spacious and breakfasts were really good apart from the seagull that pinched a sausage off our plate. The bus tour is a good way to get your bearings if new to the city. We had a car which is a must if you want to get out of town - table mountain, camps bay, kirstenbosch gardens, cape point are all easy to get to and well worth the visit. As for food we enjoyed great steaks at Balthazar and City steak house. If you like sushi or japenese food you must go to Willoboughy's.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This hotel is in a great location. right in the middle of everything on the waterfront. Victoria Wharf and the Nelson Mandela Gateway Center are both within steps from the front door. There are several great restaurants, pubs, and stores that line the waterfront. many great day tours are also available from the travel desk in the lobby.

Room Tip: water side so you get a view of table mountian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpp121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £161 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing