We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, VA USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Great Views”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This renovated warehouse is one of the best designed and decorated hotels I have stayed in. Even the corridors are architecturally interesting and beautiful. The restaurant features outdoor dining with a great view of Table Mountain. The property is next to a shopping mall with fine stores; several good restaurants are close by. The hotel restaurant is quite good; breakfast was included in our room rate and it was wonderful.

Our guestroom was a standard double that faced the front of the hotel. It was spacious and well designed with ample closet space and drawers and a minibar, The view was lovely but we realized later we should have asked for a room with a view of Table Mountain for two reasons: the view and peace and quiet. Several local musical groups perform all day every day at the V&A waterfront. They stationed themselves under the tree that was directly below our room. The first full afternoon of our visit they played for more than four hours without a break. The noise was so loud I couldn't take a rest or even listen to the TV. After I complained to the front desk they called the harbor management and the band magically disappeared. Although we were subjected to music every day, it lasted only an hour at a time. If you don't want to be loudly serenaded, ask for a room with a mountain view.

I highly recommend the V&A Hotel and it's fun location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Table Mountain side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnzie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    460
    137
    26
    24
See reviews for
221
822
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great Buffet Breakfast and great to stay for shopping and entertainment on the waterfront!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALewisPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by front desk Manager Ms. Madeleen with her nice welcoming smile, she checked us in very swiftly and offered all info that we needed to make our stay pleasent. We actually travel a lot as we love to do so and i would like to highly recommend this hotel to any visiting Cape Town. Room is spacious with view of Table MJountain and Marina that is breath taking. beds are extremely comfortable and both room and bath are spotless clean and being taken care of twice daily.

Anytime i called with any questions or needed assistance, front desk would be ready to help and give as much info as possible.

Brekfast is very healthy and declicious with much fresh fruits and all sorts of Juices.

Breakfast room has a very causy view of Mountain and Marina.

Some times, through our room window, we can see sea seal playing in the water which is very cute.

Cncierge are very helpful and taxis are always there to take us any where.

We enjoyed our 5 days trip so much and will be back.

Room Tip: I suggest you book any room with mountain view as it is very nice to wake up and just have such a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAssaad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Have stayed in this hotel a few times now and am never disappointed. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and the location is just outstanding. The view from the bedrooms is amazing over the basin with yachts moored, right across to Table Mountain framed in your own window. How could you not smile when you open the curtains in the morning and see this?

The breakfast is fantastic - order anything hot from the menu and an array of fresh fruits, cheese, meat, pastries and bread is available from the buffet as well as oysters and sparkling wine. And you get that view again...

The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with a huge bed and the bathroom has a separate bath and large powerful shower. There are chairs and a table at the window meaning you can enjoy the view anytime. The TV swivels so that you can either watch from the bed or from the seating area.

The location is right on the waterfront, with its shops and restaurants just a short safe stroll away at any time of day and night. There is also ample free parking at the hotel which is handy in this location.

The staff make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Highly recommended! We are looking forward to our next stay here already!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent a few nights at the V&A in the middle of our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. Our room was gorgeous, the view excellent and the hotel was so clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the bath and wonderful shower after being on safari for a few weeks and our bed was to die for!

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was like something out of a dream! The food was outstanding, the selection completely mind blowing and the service excellent. Don't go anywhere else for breakfast!

The little touches at the V&A helped make our stay so good. The permanent doorman by the hotel had a selection of fresh juices and delicious pastries and treats throughout the whole day. The staff recommended two absolutely outstanding restaurants for us and they were so helpful in directing us to the best shopping in Cape Town.

Overall we loved our stay in Cape Town and our accommodation was a big part of that. The waterfront is a great place to be and if we were to go back to Cape Town we would stay here in a heartbeat. Thank you V&A!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaAlpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We are a family of three with a three year old son. For both business and pleasure, we travel frequently and have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world including The Oriental, Bangkok, and the JW Marriott Hong Kong to name a few.
Although many places provide exceptional service and comfort and high quality, NOTHING compares with the location, views, and above all, personalized service given to guests at the V and A.

We were made to feel like V I Ps our entire (6 night) stay and the value for money in this day and age is unheard of.Incidentally, this is was our fourth trip to Capetown so we know the area very, very well.

Capetown is an amazing city, staying at the V and A made it made it all the more special. By the way, I have stayed at the Table Bay Hotel previously, very expensive and although the public areas there are opulent, the rooms are not as nice as the V and A and the view not nearly as impressive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrGaryLesker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Victoria and Alfred was the first place we stayed in during our two weeks trip to SA. We liked it from the very moment we entered it.

Check-in was smooth. We arrived 3 hours earlier than the check in time as we managed to take an earlier connection from Jo'burg. Front office manager had no issues in giving us the room early. 'Your room is already ready. No problem at all' was her reply.

Rooms are nice. Our's was a Piazza view room. We did not find it noisy or anything as suggested by some other reviewers. Staff was very courteous and friendly. Morning breakfast was the best we had in our SA trip.

Location is nice as you are in heart of V&A waterfront with lot of bars/restaurants within walking distance. Its absolutely safe to walk in waterfront area at night. Hotel has a free parking as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himanshu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing