We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here during the World Cup in 2010. The location on the waterfront is superb. The rooms were very comfortable with modern touches. We only ate at the hotel once (for breakfast. love those oysters and champagne). We did frequent the jazz bar next door a few times. It was great. Overall a great place to base yourself in beautiful Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekartash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    429
    129
    25
    23
See reviews for
212
766
73
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I went here for the weekend, it was located right on the waterfront with plenty of restaurants, shopping and activities within walking distance. My room had a great view, which was facing table top mountain (beautiful in the morning and sunset). The staff was very attentive and I felt very welcomed there. The room itself was beautiful and clean. The bed was very comfortable, I never wanted to leave!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vntrinh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I wasn’t certain if I wanted to stay at the V&A Waterfront or the Mount Nelson, the Taj or at one of the boutique guests houses, however after my experience at the V&A Hotel I’m so glad I did as everything was perfect. I had a very nicely appointed Jr. Suite facing Table Mountain and the Harbor it was the same view as the picture perfect post cards I’ve seen. The hotel staff was very friendly, welcoming and assisted me with setting up various activities. The breakfast was very nice and included in my room rate.

It was also great as a solo traveler as everything was in close proximity such as the boat to Robben Island, Restaurants, and a great number of Shops. I also enjoyed the access to walk along the seafront which extended from the hotel to Camps Bay. After Paragliding from Lions Head and landing in Camps Bay I was able to take the beautiful walk back to the hotel. Thanks to everyone at the V&A for making my time in Cape Town special.

Room Tip: 2nd floor Jr. Suite facing Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We recently stayed at the V&A hotel and were very delighted when we checked in. Room is very spacious and modern, Shower very powerful, seperate bath, massive and very very comfortable bed. After a 13hr flight we were able to check in at 9am. The breakfast is continental buffet and also a number of served dishes. One of the best breakfasts in any hotel I've stayed at. Huge selection of fruit, breads, meats etc and the view of table mountain in just stunning. The location is super, right in the heart of the waterfront, but we didn't hear any street noise any night. The staff very friendly and helpful. Very safe area also. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, we had an amazing stay in cape town and will definitly return to the V&A.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmileygirlIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Before we embark on any trip, we always check out the reviews and are always surprised that when most people give good reviews, there are always those that don’t. Even taking into consideration differing circumstances, expectations, and viewpoints, it is clear that some people’s glass is always half empty. We tend to look for the good rather than seek out the bad.

After 5 days on safari in the East Cape, and 3 days whale watching in Hermanus,
we arrived in Cape Town ready for 5 days rest and relaxation with a little bit of overindulgence on the side.

Because we were earlier than planned, our room wasn’t ready, but Luci showed us to the dining room where we had coffee, and eventually a light lunch, during which our room became available. No suggestion of rushing. We finished our meal and made our way to reception where we were formally greeted and shown
to our room. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and my 70th birthday, which Kuoni had put on record. The V & A responded with a card acknowledging the former and an offer of a complimentary meal, which we took later in our stay.

The room on the second floor overlooked the Piazza and was just far enough away from the street and waterfront action to be acceptable. We actually found the street music enjoyable and never a nuisance. The bed was big and very comfortable. All the room facilities were up to standard, and the discovery of an iron and board in the wardrobe made my wife’s day. The TV had mostly English speaking channels, but we only watched late a night after an evening out.

Breakfast was a relaxed affair. Anything cooked was available, but we chose the very extensive buffet. On the last two days we sat outside in the sunshine and took advantage of the Bucks Fizz option. We only had one evening meal at the hotel, which was very good. The service could be a little slow, but we weren’t going anywhere, and the smiles were worth waiting for. If you make it pleasant for them, they will do the same. We didn’t meet anyone we did not like at the V & A.

The travel desk at reception was our most used facility. We booked the cable car to Table Mountain and the trip to Robben Island here. We also booked taxis to take us to the cable car and to Boulders Bay for the obligatory viewing of the penguins. We booked restaurants directly, but could have done the same less expensively at the travel desk.

If you come to Cape Town you must stay on the Waterfront, and if you do, you should choose the Victoria and Alfred. I cannot honestly compare it with any other hotel in Cape Town because we didn’t stay there, but we got exactly what it says in the brochure and a lot more.

Room Tip: I hear the loft rooms have no view so depending on your choice, go for the Piazza or Habour views. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed in in August 2011, was our first stop on our Honeymoon, after an 11 hour flight we arrived around 9am, although check in wasnt until the afternoon, lucy at reception was great, very friendly and helpful, she took us for complimentary coffee and then went to see if our room was ready, which it was so we were abale to check in straight away. Breakfasts were good and there was plenty of options. Our room was big ans spacious and had a great view of table mountain. This hotel is in a good location for the waterfront which has some great restaurants (Belthazar is a great - recommend the ostrich) and is a good place to base yourself in Cape Town. We were also left complimentary fruit and bubbkes in our room. Would stay here again if i'm ever lucky enough to go back to this great city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hudson2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
602 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The location on the waterfront makes for an easy walk to restaurants, of which there are many, shops, and to the wheel from which you got great views of Table Mountain and the city.

Great view of Table Mountain when it wasn't covered in clouds. We wanted to go up to Table Mountain. The Front Desk called and found that it wasn't recommended to go during the time we had available due to wind and clouds at the top of the mountain.

Service was excellent throughout the hotel.

During our brief stay, just outside the hotel, various music groups were playing.

We just wish that we had been able to stay At the V & A longer to enjoy more of Capetown.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel from which you could see down to where music was playing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing