We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were not disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We were not disappointed.”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We will stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Cape town. The room could not have been much better and the view from our window was fantastic which was over the dock, part of the city and Table Mountain. Our only complaint was the huge "Coke a Cola" man that had been placed on the dock for the World Cup in 2010, which were told would not be removed until some time in 2012. The food was that good there was no need to eat elsewhere. All of the staff were very well trained and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you say at this hotel, you must have a room that overlooks the water and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    462
    138
    26
    24
See reviews for
227
827
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I loved staying here! My husband and I actually have visited twice; once in June and a second time in September. We stayed in a room overlooking the water (with a spectacular view of Table Mountain, seals, and the occasional rainbow), which is a MUST if you stay here. You can walk to almost anything- shopping, food (our favorite restaurant was just outside the hotel, called Il Paninaro), and sights- the ferry to Robben Island is just a five minute walk away, and the aquarium is also very near, as well as many other places to visit along the waterfront. If you are interested in a luxurious hotel with many things in walking distance, this is the place. (We also loved the breakfast- great eggs and coffee- and enjoyed the 'little' touches, like truffles at turndown service and the friendly employees). You will get great sleep here- blackout curtains and a bed that feels like clouds. The only downside is no business center, but they have free wifi and if you need anything printed, they'll print for you.

Room Tip: If you stay here, you HAVE to have a mountain-facing room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladynomad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Lovely room with breath-taking views of waterfront & Table Mtn . Excellent food

Room Tip: Waterfront side best by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird-Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great location on the waterfront. Large comfortable room with all the extras. Good same day laundry service. Only criticism of the room, which was facing the piazza, is that it’s noisy with buskers playing outside all through the afternoon and early evening.

The various doorstaff were friendly and helpful. Similarly the travel desk was good in sorting out a township tour for us.

Breakfast is a very extensive buffet. You’d expect cereals, You’d expect pastries. You’d expect meat and cheeses. And you get all this, together with oysters and champagne – and the opportunity to order freshly cooked food. I say “opportunity” as it was actually difficult to attract the attention of any member of staff to order it and we gave up trying on several days, There is a similar issue in trying to get coffee top-ups. It’s not that they don’t have enough staff, nor that they don’t have enough managers. It’s just that the staff seem focussed on doing little more than clearing crockery and the last thing the managers seem to be doing is managing. One day, one spent the whole time we were in the restaurant folding napkins. Oh, and if you do finally manage to get a coffee top-up, it’s invariably barely warm.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This hotel could not be in a better location. It is situated in the lively waterfront area next to restaurants, banks with ATM's, a craft market, and a shopping mall with many shops including a pharmacy and a Pick N Pay grocery store. It was only a 4 minute walk to the Robben Island ferry terminal. It is also only a minute walk to the Hop On Hop Off bus stop. Our room was on the top floor facing Table Mountain, and we heard no noise at all during our stay. The breakfast that is included is spectacular, with a wide variety of fruits, meats, breads, yogurts, and juices for the continental breakfast buffet and a menu where fancier breakfast items, which are also included, can be ordered. The patio dining area has a breathtaking view of the water and Table Mountain. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the bathroom is large with a shower area and separate tub, and a separate room for the toilet which is nice. Customer service at the hotel was stellar - the staff were all very attentive, polite, and friendly. My only wish is that the hotel had a business center so guests could print things from the internet such as maps, directions, or online ticket vouchers - necessities for many tourists.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue for you, I'd recommend staying on the top floor as we did. It was complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allkindsoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

What a great hotel with a location that just can't be faulted, right in the middle of everything. Have to agree with most of the other reviews on here that the breakfast was so delicious that I could've sat there and eaten all day long!! (with the fabulous views of table mountain).
I used the travel desk quite a bit whilst I was there to help me with trips etc and I was totally impressed with how efficient and friendly they were, particulary Simone (thanks Simone for making my holiday funpacked!!), nothing was too much trouble. Also a special mention to Cyril, the doorman - such a nice smiley guy!
Cape Town was a great place to visit, and if you go, pay the extra to stay here - its worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Our room was large with a great view of Table Mountain. The parking was easy and well organised on the whole. Service inside the hotel was less good and we got the impression they
were under-staffed. The fruit juice at breakfast was awful - more like squash - which you don't expect in a country with so much fresh fruit and a high quality hotel. Would recommend it for the position but not great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing