We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view - Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We only stayed one night here but it was quite enjoyable. We parked a car at no charge - which was a pleasant surprise. Check in and check out was quick and they had no problems with us leaving our bags to wander more in the waterfront area as well as our car the day we departed.
Breakfast was a choice of continental - tons of things to chose from or continental plus a hot breakfast. There was so much to choose from that we just did the continental breakfast.
The view from the room is really why we booked this hotel in the first place. If you stay here you must get a room with the harbor and table mountain view. It is just spectacular.
The area has tons and tons of restaurants and shops. I really liked the African arts center close by that had art and crafts from South Africans for purchase.
We felt very comfortable walking around this area both day and night.

Room Tip: Choose the Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

We took a weekend break to Cape Town and were happily surprised with the wonderful service and excellent room at the V&A hotel. The staff was courteous and friendly and very helpful - parking the car in the busy area around the hotel was not a problem at all. The room was lovely - bigger than expected and clean and with all necessary comforts. The views from the windows was breathtaking as noted by other reviewers. Breakfast was very nice and again the staff was very alert and supportive and helpful. We will certainly return if travel takes us to Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wintberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

V&A Waterfront area is the best available location in Cape Town. Plenty of restaurants, bars, street dances, music, tour desks, somewhere always in a motion, a very good shopping center with two supermarkets. Very high security which does not disturb you at all. Make sure to stay in this area. This hotel is right in the middle of everything. They have perfect breakfast. You can even enjoy osyters with champagne, and for free. If you choose seaside, it will be more calm and more scenic. If you choose piazza side, it is more noisy but much more better in my opinion.. There is everytime a street orchestra under your window. They stop music by 20.00. Only in Friday and Saturday the music goes on until 02.00. You watch people walking, enjoying music. The rooms are quite big. The bed had a "better than home" feeling. You can enjoy the swimming pool and African sunshine right across the street for free. Wireless worked well. This hotel is my sincere recommendation for everyone.

Room Tip: Seaside is quieter but piazza side is more fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MypatBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

It is easy to be nice, but brilliant to be convivial. Nothing can top great service than being addressed by name whether it is in response to my requests for wake up calls, information, or just the greetings from the lobby staff as I walk by. Cheers!

The location is so good that shopping for both luxury goods and souvenirs is a breeze. Take a walk around and feel the vibrance of Cape Town (in the tourist district).

Room Tip: If you want a particular room, ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We will stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Cape town. The room could not have been much better and the view from our window was fantastic which was over the dock, part of the city and Table Mountain. Our only complaint was the huge "Coke a Cola" man that had been placed on the dock for the World Cup in 2010, which were told would not be removed until some time in 2012. The food was that good there was no need to eat elsewhere. All of the staff were very well trained and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you say at this hotel, you must have a room that overlooks the water and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RDJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I loved staying here! My husband and I actually have visited twice; once in June and a second time in September. We stayed in a room overlooking the water (with a spectacular view of Table Mountain, seals, and the occasional rainbow), which is a MUST if you stay here. You can walk to almost anything- shopping, food (our favorite restaurant was just outside the hotel, called Il Paninaro), and sights- the ferry to Robben Island is just a five minute walk away, and the aquarium is also very near, as well as many other places to visit along the waterfront. If you are interested in a luxurious hotel with many things in walking distance, this is the place. (We also loved the breakfast- great eggs and coffee- and enjoyed the 'little' touches, like truffles at turndown service and the friendly employees). You will get great sleep here- blackout curtains and a bed that feels like clouds. The only downside is no business center, but they have free wifi and if you need anything printed, they'll print for you.

Room Tip: If you stay here, you HAVE to have a mountain-facing room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladynomad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Lovely room with breath-taking views of waterfront & Table Mtn . Excellent food

Room Tip: Waterfront side best by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bird-Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £190 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing