We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Lynch Station, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“It's all about location...”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here six nights following a world cruise segment ending in Cape Town. I always research hotels carefully, and I couldn't have made a better choice. This hotel is right on the V&A Waterfront, where we had a wonderful buffet breakfast each morning while watching the seals play only a few feet away from our table. The staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly. We had booked a 3rd floor room, and I knew in advance that it would be small with skylights instead of windows.Each morning I awoke with a priceless view of Table Mountain, so the kind of window was of little consequence. Some of our bedrooms at home have clipped ceilings, so we knew what to expect with this type of room. The bathroom had a separate toilet with hand wash basin, a large bathtub, an oversized stall shower, and a large vanity stocked with quality bath amenities. Robes were furnished, as was bottled water, and good internet service. Air conditioning was more than adequate for the hot weather. This hotel does not have a large, fancy lobby, as it merges with the adjoining mall shops, so it is important to know this in advance if you are expecting grandeur. What it does have is comfort, good service and, above all, location. The V&A is right in the middle of all the waterfront activities, all the restaurants, all the craft shops and department stores, and all the access to tourist sites. The Hop On-Hop Off bus is a two-minute walk away (gives easy access to beaches, museums, more craft shopping at Greenmarket Square, Table Mountain cableway, etc), as is the Robben Island Ferry, Aquarium, etc. When our stay ended, we booked our airport transfer through the hotel. We were driven there in a new Mercedes. After seeing all other hotels in the general area, I would not have traded the V&A Waterfront Hotel for any of them, not even the Cape Grace or the One and Only. Again, it is very important to do your research before choosing any hotel. This one was absolutely perfect for our needs and taste.

Room Tip: Understand that the third floor rooms have clipped ceilings and skylights and that the hotel isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesvillelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    462
    138
    26
    24
See reviews for
227
827
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed twice at this hotel for conferences and it is deserving of it's five-star rating. The rooms are excellent, really big and well appointed. Try to get a room overlooking the water, the view to Table Mountain is definitely worth a photo or two. The staff from the front door through to the room cleaners are so polite and friendly. The restaurant is also very good. The harbor precinct is very safe 24/7 with security people keeping things under control.

Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toulouse045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddesldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you want to ruin your trip stay in this hotel!
very bad customer service. we were given a lower grade room than what we paid for, when we asked for the difference refund they refused to do so saying that the price was paid to hotels.com. they even refused to cancel our reservation to book in another hotel. very small room that we even couldnt stay straight! poor breakfast.. the only plus point is the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mona_kaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stankobrin, Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Mona

I was shocked to receive your TripAdvisor posting and wanted to revert back to you even before we conduct a full investigation into the poor service that you received at The V&A Hotel recently.
It will be much appreciated if you would please be so kind as to let me have as many of the details as you can pertaining to your complaint about the hotel

We have been in the hospitality industry for well over 30 years and have always been extremely proud of the levels of service in all our establishments. However, when things do go awry, it is important to acknowledge and remedy and most importantly try and appease the guest. The V&A Hotel would not have received the accolades they have over the years if this type of shoddy service was in any way the norm.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

All the best

Andy Nold

Operations Director
NEWMARK HOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had 3 nights here as a stopover from Australia to UK in Jan 2012. Wonderful hotel - so central to the lively waterfront. It felt a very safe area. We had a very large room overlooking the piazza & never heard any noise. Breakfast was perfect with champagne, oysters and smoked salmon if you fancied them! It was spotless throughout & there were nice touches like the bed turned down, with complimentary chocolates and bottles of water. The travel desk was extremely helpful & issued tickets for the hop-on-hop-off buses. We took a 2-day pass on both routes & it was very good value for money, enabling us to visit Table Mountain by cablecar, Stellenbosch botanic gardens, canal boat trip and many beautiful beaches. We just didn't have enough time to do everything - we've got to come back! We had a transfer to and from the airport which was just perfect after a long haul flight. Our drivers were very friendly, courteous and gave us info of best places to visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grajan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Two night business stay at the V&A.

Positives: It's a perfect location if you're on vacation, as it is in the heart of the Waterfront, so you can walk 2 mins to the shops and restaurants. Free parking, subject to capacity. This is pretty near peak time and they found me a space each evening. Gorgeous building. Excellent breakfast - really fresh fruit and lots of choice, and dining out with views over the harbour and up to Table Mountain. Comfortable bed, clean room, quiet AC. Free wifi welcomed, generally worked ok, but did drop signal on occasion. Staff friendly enough.

Negatives: mainly lie around staff training and room conditions.
> On arrival around 7pm, the AC had been off all day. Outside temperature: 30 degrees, inside room temperature 35 degrees. The turn down choc squidged to a blob when I picked it up. Not a good welcome.
> I was on the 3rd floor "loft" room. Spacious but with sloping roof and two Velux loft windows that opened directly onto the illuminated Ferris Wheel (with very bright lights on until midnight and although relatively few people use it, they would have direct line of sight into the room) and the music/noise from the bar opposite. So had to sleep with blinds drawn, dependent on AC rather than the wonderful SA fresh air.
> Hot water was at best tepid on first night, at around 1930. Hot at other times but one is not paying budget prices at this location. I see others have commented on the same thing.
> Toiletries weren't replaced, or rather the virtually empty ones were put back. A really minor bugbear but not so great when you find it out just before you shower.
> An beer glass - left about 1/3 full - from the bar brought up to the room on the wed evening was still there on Friday check out. That's unacceptable.
> The hotel website promised a swimming pool. It's actually in their sister location the Dock House. Hardly possible to wander over there in a robe.
> Personal bugbear - those security hangers that have fixed loops. They scream that the hotel doesn't trust its guests.

If I was in Cape Town on vacation, and wanted to be slap-bang in the waterfront, then this is worth a look. But not for business travel, even with free wifi, and I dare say you could do better in town itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the Ferris Wheel, especially if on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deehell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Loved the hotel, perfect situated in Waterfront, wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrinaferilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Perfect location! Super friendly staff! Great rooms! And on my son's birthday, they even brought up a birthday cake made by the chef to the room! Best spot in Cape Town

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing