We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location! location! location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“location! location! location !”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

we stayed for 3 nights in a junior suite & for us the location was perfect. The room was very spacious & well appointed. The bathroom was big & had a seperate bath & shower- although shower head not very high on wall. Staff very helpful, breakfast had a wide variety of choice & nothing better than sitting on the water front overlooking table mountain to eat it.
Only downside was the swimming pool was over the main road in their sister hotel.
Would definately stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    462
    138
    26
    24
See reviews for
227
827
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gagadju
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

POSITIVES:
This hotel is well located right on the water with restaurants, shopping centre, craft and well being market right at its doorstep. The two oceans aquarium is only a few metres away from this hotel and the ferry to go to Robben island (where Nelson Mandela was imprisoned) is less than 3 minutes walk from this hotel. Also, the hop on/hop off tour bus of Capetown is just a few metres from this hotel in front of the Two Oceans Aquarium. Near the hotel are shops and a tourist information centre that offer tours and cruises around Capetown.
There are lots of banks, ATMs and money changers within the hotel shopping mall and across the hotel. There are loads of street performers, as soon as you get out of the hotel, you can hear people singing and watch acrobatics and all kinds of performances from morning until evening. It's a busy, buzzing place with a nice atmosphere.


We stayed in the loft room with a nice view of Tabletop mountain and the harbour.The room was clean and bathroom was spacious. Buffet breakfast was good, they offered a wide array of fruits, cheeses, yoghurt, pastries and juices. There was even champagne and oysters. The hot dishes had to be ordered from the menu. Guests staying at this hotel had the option of having breakfast at their sister hotel the Queen Victoria which was across the road.

Staff were all very polite from the man who opened the lift, the restaurant staff, reception staff to the duty manager who always had a smile on her face and friendly manner. She always made an effort to have a bit of a chat with us, noticing when we went on safari.

NEGATIVES:
Not many things to complain about. In the loft room the windows are a bit small and roof rather low where the windows, safe, tv and fridge were located. So, although I am short, I often bumped my head on the ceiling as I was getting things out of the safe and fridge or getting the remote control next to the tv. So, for a tall person, it is probably best to get a room in the second or first floor. Another thing was that the tissue box was located in the bathroom, I moved it next to the bed so that I wouldn't have to get up in the middle of the night to get tissues and by the next day the cleaning staff had moved it back to the bathroom. It became a bit of a hassle having to move it back next to my bed each day. Also, bottled water that were half full I left on the table next to my bed hoping to finish it later, but this was thrown out. One day there wasn't any hot water but staff fixed this within the hour. There wasn't much consistency in that, they would leave chocolates on the bed one day and the next they wouldn't. Also, tissues would run out and I would have to request that they be replenished. Conditioner was provided on our third day which made me wonder why they didn't provide it on the first or second day. Bathrobes were provided but slippers weren't so, I had to specifically request this. These are just little inconsistencies with toiletries, although this is not a major hassle it shouldn't happen in a four star hotel.

OVERALL:
This is a nice hotel with friendly staff and in a fantastic location with lovely views of Tabletop mountain and the harbour. In the afternoon you can see the Cape doctor blowing in and the tablecloth covering Tabletop mountain, it is a spectacular view. If you don't understand what it is I'm talking about with the tablecloth and the Cape doctor then head to Capetown and find out for yourself. This is a city and a hotel that I would visit and stay in again in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Situated right in the waterfront development so with access to restaurants, shopping, tourism etc - and you breakfast on the harbour with a view of table mountain. Speaking of breakfast, this really is excellent too - a first class buffet and cook to order hot food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynch Station, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here six nights following a world cruise segment ending in Cape Town. I always research hotels carefully, and I couldn't have made a better choice. This hotel is right on the V&A Waterfront, where we had a wonderful buffet breakfast each morning while watching the seals play only a few feet away from our table. The staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly. We had booked a 3rd floor room, and I knew in advance that it would be small with skylights instead of windows.Each morning I awoke with a priceless view of Table Mountain, so the kind of window was of little consequence. Some of our bedrooms at home have clipped ceilings, so we knew what to expect with this type of room. The bathroom had a separate toilet with hand wash basin, a large bathtub, an oversized stall shower, and a large vanity stocked with quality bath amenities. Robes were furnished, as was bottled water, and good internet service. Air conditioning was more than adequate for the hot weather. This hotel does not have a large, fancy lobby, as it merges with the adjoining mall shops, so it is important to know this in advance if you are expecting grandeur. What it does have is comfort, good service and, above all, location. The V&A is right in the middle of all the waterfront activities, all the restaurants, all the craft shops and department stores, and all the access to tourist sites. The Hop On-Hop Off bus is a two-minute walk away (gives easy access to beaches, museums, more craft shopping at Greenmarket Square, Table Mountain cableway, etc), as is the Robben Island Ferry, Aquarium, etc. When our stay ended, we booked our airport transfer through the hotel. We were driven there in a new Mercedes. After seeing all other hotels in the general area, I would not have traded the V&A Waterfront Hotel for any of them, not even the Cape Grace or the One and Only. Again, it is very important to do your research before choosing any hotel. This one was absolutely perfect for our needs and taste.

Room Tip: Understand that the third floor rooms have clipped ceilings and skylights and that the hotel isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesvillelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed twice at this hotel for conferences and it is deserving of it's five-star rating. The rooms are excellent, really big and well appointed. Try to get a room overlooking the water, the view to Table Mountain is definitely worth a photo or two. The staff from the front door through to the room cleaners are so polite and friendly. The restaurant is also very good. The harbor precinct is very safe 24/7 with security people keeping things under control.

Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toulouse045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddesldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you want to ruin your trip stay in this hotel!
very bad customer service. we were given a lower grade room than what we paid for, when we asked for the difference refund they refused to do so saying that the price was paid to hotels.com. they even refused to cancel our reservation to book in another hotel. very small room that we even couldnt stay straight! poor breakfast.. the only plus point is the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mona_kaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stankobrin, Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Mona

I was shocked to receive your TripAdvisor posting and wanted to revert back to you even before we conduct a full investigation into the poor service that you received at The V&A Hotel recently.
It will be much appreciated if you would please be so kind as to let me have as many of the details as you can pertaining to your complaint about the hotel

We have been in the hospitality industry for well over 30 years and have always been extremely proud of the levels of service in all our establishments. However, when things do go awry, it is important to acknowledge and remedy and most importantly try and appease the guest. The V&A Hotel would not have received the accolades they have over the years if this type of shoddy service was in any way the norm.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

All the best

Andy Nold

Operations Director
NEWMARK HOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had 3 nights here as a stopover from Australia to UK in Jan 2012. Wonderful hotel - so central to the lively waterfront. It felt a very safe area. We had a very large room overlooking the piazza & never heard any noise. Breakfast was perfect with champagne, oysters and smoked salmon if you fancied them! It was spotless throughout & there were nice touches like the bed turned down, with complimentary chocolates and bottles of water. The travel desk was extremely helpful & issued tickets for the hop-on-hop-off buses. We took a 2-day pass on both routes & it was very good value for money, enabling us to visit Table Mountain by cablecar, Stellenbosch botanic gardens, canal boat trip and many beautiful beaches. We just didn't have enough time to do everything - we've got to come back! We had a transfer to and from the airport which was just perfect after a long haul flight. Our drivers were very friendly, courteous and gave us info of best places to visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grajan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing