We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try their restaurant ... excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try their restaurant ... excellent!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I agree with all the glowing reviews made earlier. The hotel really is excellently located, clean, great views and with friendly staff. I might add that the restaurant has excellent food, as well. We made the mistake of passing up the hotel restaurant twice in order to try some places in the mall. When we finally gave it a try for a last hurried lunch, I found it was better than any other restaurant we had been to in the mall. Word of warning, though, it is rather pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furrylamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    451
    136
    26
    24
See reviews for
220
812
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the V&A for 4 nights on the last leg of our South African vacation. We had a piazza view room. It was clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The V&A staff are gracious and friendly. The location of the hotel is the best...a short walk to the mall and restaurants. Cabs are available outside the hotel if you need to travel elsewhere. The little mall inside the hotel had some very nice stores. I bought most of my souveniers there. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast buffet with something for everyone. We received a voucher for dinner at OYO and took advantage of it. It was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The piazza is very lively well into the evening, especially on weekends so if you don't mind a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Situated in the prime V&A part of town close to the shops. Extremely helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel several times over the years, and it continues to be one of the most comfortable and pleasant hotels in Cape Town. It is located in a very vibrant and inviting environment with several nearby attractions (such as the Aquarium), shops, banks and restaurants. The service is excellent, the rooms are spacious and nice, the equipment modern, and the staff courteous and helpful. I hope to be back many times.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reuel_Tidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The whole hotel has a comfortable atmosphere and although small in size is convenient for a few days stay. Its location is a privileged one, strategically and centrally located in the waterfront area at a small walking distance from the local shopping Center, entertainment and several good restaurants, you don’t need transportation to go anywhere else, everything is close by. The staff greets you with smiles and courtesy what makes you feel welcomed. Although classic in style the room I stayed at needs some update, the wall was painted in gray what makes the room look smaller and a little dark, but it was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good for a low season with all of a British breakfast can offer, some items are in the cooked menu and may be requested from the waiter.
As a downside, I noticed at the check in that they were more concerned with taking the money off my credit card to hold as a deposit than with what they can do surpass my expectations. Hotel can be noisy during the day due to the street performers. Also the maid will not do her check list well and from time to time will not replenish water bottles, forget to verify for extra laundry forms or even the cookies or tea bags. It is a very good, not an excellent hotel, with a high priced tag for what they have to offer, as location, at the most. If hotel price is and issue (for a family for example) there are some reasonable options, out of the water front, but close by that will even offer a shuttle to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Table bay mountain are very expensive, but if you are in a tour and will stay in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Yes you are paying for the location. But that's the way it is in most places. Certainly cheaper than the Radison Blu.

First class service. Booked on line -- we were upgraded to a suite. Nice. Hotel arranged for pickup at the airport at a reasonable price. Hotel also arrange for a car to the cruise pier.

Must say front desk is very helpful as is the tour desk. Same with the restaurant -- only had breakfast there at their very famous buffet -- excellent.

In all very enjoyable stay to begin a nice 40+day vacation (cruise to Singapore)

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for just one night to attend a business meeting at a nearby location. I selected the hotel based on price and location and was pleasantly surprised!
The rooms are modern and pristine clean. Employees are helpful and go out of their way to assist you and make your stay pleasant.

The location is excellent, right on the water with plenty of restaurantes and stores around.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LZitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing