We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location on the Waterfront with good access to all the "must sees" at the waterfront.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The last time we stayed a little distance form the V&A Waterfront - but this time in CT we chose the Victoria & Alfred Hotel.The Mall,Aquarium, Boarding points and a variety of shopping all within the vicinity of the Hotel makes it an ideal location.You can watch the live Musicians do their Songs and Dance from the comfort of your room.The service is professional and polite - the breakfast spread is amazing and one can have a hearty South African breakfast (among other great choices) to start the day off.The barmen are friendly and polite - check out the Spanish Corn at the bar - very nice.
The views are amazing on either side of the Hotel - Piazza Facing or Table Mountain View - Personally we preferred aPiazza Facing Room.The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

My only disappointment was for the Pool and Spa facilities one has to go out of the Hotel to the Queen Victoria Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,541)
There are newer reviews for Victoria & Alfred Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

I usually stay at a popular hotel in Claremont but this time our travel coordinator booked me into the V&A for the first time. The hotel is very well located within the Waterfront and I was impressed with the friendly professional service and appreciated the large size of the well appointed bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast buffet was excellent. I ordered simple fish and chips room service dinner which was disappointing in that both fish and thick cut chips were not cooked through. I was however impressed with the fact that on checking out the following morning both the head of guest services and the chef himself made the effort to personally apologise for not having met an acceptable standard with respect to room service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed here at my second week in CT. The first week was with a big group and we rented Kia Ora Beach House at Camps Bay which was perfect. But after, as I would be alone, I wanted to fond an hotel in Waterfront to feel safe and to be in the center of everything night and day. I chose V&A because it was the only hotel with a reasonable price in Waterfront. But I could not ask more.

1. The BEST location. Not only because it is in Waterfront but also it has the best location within the Waterfront. This is literally in the middle of Waterfront. You can even walk during night so safe, always vivid and crowded. None of the expensive Waterfront HOtel can beat its location.

2. The Staff!!! They are soooo lovely:) 1st day after moments my group left and I was alone in Africa, I was feeling a little bit anxious, I felt home thanks to them... Always smiling, always helpful, always friendly... I have to mention some names: Cyntia from frontdesk, Sylvester again from frontdesk, Simon travel desk and Wellington (at least I hope I have the correct name) the porter... They were all fantastic and made me feel really at home. I travelled a lot around 4 continents and over 26 countries, stayed in many hotels of different kinds. In small boutique hotels you can wait such a personal touch and you get it. But in the big hotels like this one, with so many rooms and customers, I am really surprised how they can be sooo friendly and they can give you personal attention. They are really the BEST.

For the rooms, you should probably not be on the 3rd floor, I had my first room at there, it was a small room. But my 2nd room at 1st floor is much more better. So ask for room 101, you'll thank me:)

The only problem I think is that internet connection is sometimes problematic from the rooms but if you say you have connection problems, they try to solve it out immediately.

So especially if you are alone, STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Don't stay in 3rd floor. Room 101 is perfect, a corner roon with windows on both sides, looking...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Swanilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My mom and I traveled to Cape Town and stayed a week here at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. We loved it! The room was huge and the beds were super comfy, and the breakfast is really great -- who can beat such delicious food and coffee (and fresh squeezed tropical juices!) with amazing views of Table Mountain, honestly. The staff was great. The front desk professionals were constantly kind and helpful, and the travel desk helped us arrange a peninsula tour and a safari, both fantastic. I would definitely stay there again and recommend to any one traveling there. It's very helpful to be close to everything on the waterfront, and it's easy enough to get around to visit other places in the area. The only two things I would add for consideration are that rooms facing the plaza (as opposed to the mountain) get a lot of sound from the musicians/buskers outside on the waterfront (this can be charming at first but gets a little annoying after a while) and I do wish there was more of a lobby/lounging area (of course the rooms are pretty big, so that may not be necessary for most). Overall, a really splendid and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

There isn't something new I could say here, something not said before, that would capture the superior level of service at the V&A. From check-in to departure everything was excellent. Discreet and courteous, attentive and efficient, solicitious but not cloying: what every good hotel should be!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singhy_the_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I agree with all the glowing reviews made earlier. The hotel really is excellently located, clean, great views and with friendly staff. I might add that the restaurant has excellent food, as well. We made the mistake of passing up the hotel restaurant twice in order to try some places in the mall. When we finally gave it a try for a last hurried lunch, I found it was better than any other restaurant we had been to in the mall. Word of warning, though, it is rather pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank furrylamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the V&A for 4 nights on the last leg of our South African vacation. We had a piazza view room. It was clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The V&A staff are gracious and friendly. The location of the hotel is the best...a short walk to the mall and restaurants. Cabs are available outside the hotel if you need to travel elsewhere. The little mall inside the hotel had some very nice stores. I bought most of my souveniers there. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast buffet with something for everyone. We received a voucher for dinner at OYO and took advantage of it. It was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The piazza is very lively well into the evening, especially on weekends so if you don't mind a l...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 111 in Cape Town Central
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £140 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing