We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Victoria and Albert hotel is situated smack dab on the V and A waterfront! The views of the waterfront and table mountain are spectacular and make you feel that table mountain is right there! The rooms are well appointed with large bathrooms. Service at the hotel is superb with staff eager to fulfill any request. Breakfast buffets overlooking the harbour and table mountain were amazing with fresh ingredients, smoothies and fresh oysters always available. Newspapers and flavoured water and fruit were available throughout the day. The hotel is step away from all that the V and A Waterfront has to offer. Amazing hotel and awesome location.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelbug_6255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel a total of 12 days regarding my partners 60th anniversary. During this period we had nothing to complain of. If we can mention a little thing: better lighting in the bathroom or a makeup mirror. Great that we could keep our room the last day at 8pm by paying a little extra fee. Large rooms with stunning views of Waterfront and Table Mountain. Helpful and friendly staff in all departments. A big plus for the private garden with comfortable sunbeds, a small pool and bar, just a small walk from the hotel. Location is great with shopping, restaurants etc 10 minutes walk to the seafront promenade, terrific for walking or running early in the morning. We are for sure coming back to Cape Town and this hotel.

Room Tip: Vi hadde et stort rom med fire lenestoler i 2 etg. Noen av disse rommen som koster mest er noe mindr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oekland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Beautifully stylish and tastefully decorated rooms. Probably worth paying extra for harbour and Table Mountain view, although our piazza-facing rooms were absolutely fine. You get the opportunity to have breaksfast at other establishments , but honestly, why would you? The breakfasts at the V&A would have been hard to beat anywhere. Worth taking photos of! Wonderful view from the restaurant and fabulous food, so good we also had dinner there 2 nights out of 3. Front desk staff friendly, welcoming, professional. I didn't use the "pool" which was offsite nearby, but my sister said it was a disappointment - very tiny. Didn't see the fitness centre facilities so can't comment. Would stay at the V&A again if ever back in Cape Town. It was also lovely sitting out on the waterfront with a nice glass of wine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was a very comfortable and convenient location for our first visit to Cape Town. We had a Piazza facing room so we were able to sit in the open window and look down on the street entertainers in the late afternoon. The bed was very comfortable and the included breakfast was very nice. The only thing to comment about was the lighting is very poor. It was next to impossible to see to put your make up on. So needless to say I walked around Cape Town feeling very naked.... Would I stay there again? Sure, but bring a make up light.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Hi,

i stayed there, great hotel, excellent staff, smooth check-in, excellent rooms but when it comes to food really no choice for vegetarians. Come on with only a salad on offer people cant survive a hotel stay for couple of days

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vijay_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. It had the best location possible - walking distance to all the shopping, restaurants, and atttractions on the waterfront. Even the first stop on the hop on bus was a short walk away. The staff were amazing, so kind and helpful - the front desk, the concierge, the elevator attendant, the restaurant servers. Each morning breakfast was exceptional, a choice of many delicious foods and champagne in the buffet and our choice of a prepared hot meal as well. The rooms were well appointed with many ammenities and even a yummy cookie each day. The hotel opens onto a mall with interesting shops. It was such a pleasure to walk the waterfront and be so close to our hotel. Without a doubt, we will choose this hotel again when we return. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in around the world.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afuntrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Loved this hotel in capetown,SA.food was excellent,not to mention that it was healthy!I always consider this in my trips.The table mountain was right beside our hotel window!to die for view really !I can eve appreciate the changing of the clouds everyday!Ahhhh,relaxing.....very friendly and efficient staff ,but most of all the shopping area is just a few steps from the hotel,African memories will forever be etched in my mind and heart..A ONCE IN a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of table mountain,worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £190 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing