We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, but could be better”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We regularly visit Cape Town and this is the fourth hotel we've used in the city. It is certainly very well located for the Waterfront and has great views of Table Mountain.

But, in my opinion, the premium paid for the location is too high, the hotel would benefit from a little renovation to tidy up a few bumps and bruises and the breakfasts could be served more promptly and the temperature in the rooms could be increased a notch (we stayed on the top floor with terrific windows in the ceiling, so perhaps the other floors are warmer). The room was, otherwise, very comfortable.

Room Tip: If travelling in the South African winter, choose a room which isn't on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. Thanks for the constructive feedback, this allows me to monitor our service levels to guests.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    460
    137
    26
    24
See reviews for
221
822
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Service is top-notch; very good breakfast with view of the harbor and Table Mountain. The aquarium, hop-on/hop-off bus, shops and restaurants are all just outside the front door. It is also very easy to get in and out with a car - we rented one for a couple of days and parked in front at no additional charge.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the street; opposite side would get a view of harbor and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CriticalCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for the kind words and the lovely review on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip Terrace, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Upon arrival, we couldn't believe how picturesque the location would be. This hotel is central to EVERYTHING: shops, dining, shopping, ferry to Robben Island, information/excursion booths, bars, everything.

Our room was tremendous. It had a king size bed and an entire dining table for 6. Bathroom had separate room for toilet and small sink, and a larger room with a big tub, jack & jill sinks and a shower stall. Our room overlooked the busy harbor area and the large ferris wheel. Room was very clean, they changed linen daily (if you'd like) and leave chocolates on your pillow in the evening.

Service was fantastic. We chose to dine elsewhere, to suit our tastes, so no comment on the on-site restaurant.

Would highly recommend.

HOWEVER,
Do NOT use spa at sister hotel. The spa was horrible. I splurged for a mini spa day that was supposed to include three 1 hour treatments, and received the worst massage I've ever had, a terrible facial and the wrong kind of body wrap and was finished in less than 2 hours. If you must go to a spa, ask information for suggestions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aew516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback received. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I have also passed your feedback on to the spa.

We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel on your next visit to South Africa!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the Waterfront and is convenient to everything a visitor needs. Rooms were very comfortable. We were traveling with our pre-teen kids and we were able to have adjoining rooms with a shared outside door. Staff was very attentive and friendly, and even remembered out names.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for this lovely review on the V&A Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at the V&A Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Rooms are nice and breakfasts are great, also location on the waterfront is good. Unfortunately our stay turned into a nightmare when a hotel night clerk called the police to arrest our friends (staying in a room across the hall) based on an anonymous call of somebody pretending to be FBI and accusing them of a credit card fraud. The whole thing turned out to be bogus but our friends spent almost 12 hours in a South African jail and we had to find (and pay) lawyers etc. While we don't know what was the role of the hotel personnel in the whole affair whether they were actually actively involved, they certainly were not helpful and not professional. We will pursue this but in the meantime - stay away from this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PawelJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I spent Monday 9th September at this hotel. I was expected, was met at the door, my car was parked.
I had a loft room 303, it was lovely and well appointed.
Although I was rather challenged in opening the loft style windows, a quick phone call to the reception and someone was there t show me the remote control which opened the windows, and operated the black out blind. The fridge was well stocked, and there were also lovely favours such as biltong, "doe wors" (dried sausage), jelly babies, dried fruit also on the bar menu.
My bed was SO comfortable, and the bathroom was lovely especially the bath salts!
The main item in this hotel was the courteous and helpful staff. They all went the extra mile to make one's stay pleasant. The hotel is situated within very easy walking distance to other restaurants, and a magical if expensive small shopping mall, and the hub of the waterfront. Their breakfast looking out onto the Victoria basin was stupendous, with items like Eggs Benedict (yummy), or anything else on the menu as well as a buffet to die for - salmon, oysters and bubbly!

Room Tip: My son & his wife had a suite facing the shopping area, very spacious..whereas my loft room face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for this lovely review on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your complimentary remarks regarding the staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel in the near future!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I was expecting more from this hotel right in the middle of the V&A waterfront. The room was nice, but kind of tight, and nothing special, The sloping ceiling was annoying and I hit my head on it several times. Why they have little windows from the bathroom to the main room is beyond me, but it means that if you go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, you end up illuminating your sleeping partner. On the other hand, the view over Table Mountain was exquisite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winstonthecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Good day

Thank you for the constructive feedback and for having taken the time to write this review as this allows me to monitor our service levels to guests.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing