We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

the V&A hotel has an exceptional location ad offers great value. Cape Town is the worlds most beautiful city and the V&A Waterfront is the place to stay in Cape Town. There are 10 hotels that serve various markets in the V&A.

V&A hotel is next to the water and in the tourist rich area of the V&A Waterfront. You bound to see the resident seals playing in the harbor basin in the day.

The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is world class. Lots of fruit and great variety available
They also provide ample parking for your rented car and the Hop on and hop of Red bus stop is 300m up the road.

The Victoria Wharf shopping center offers visitors all you need from great fashion, luxury items like jewelry and true South African curios. Further there are restaurants to cater for every pallet.

Not far from the hotel the Robben Island ferry departs and there is a diamond museum as well.
There is lots to do and see and Cape Town and the V&A Waterfront blends modern day luxury with deep cultural history.

The staff at the hotel can also advise visitors on where to go and what to see and do.....don't miss Table Mountain on a clear day!

Great vibe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Estienne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Estienne

Thank you for having taken the time to write this wonderful review on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found it to be a convenient location for exploring Cape Town and surrounds.

We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    429
    129
    25
    23
See reviews for
212
766
73
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had an excellent stay at Victoria & Alfred Hotel in Cape Town. The room was clean, large and comfortable, the breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and the wifi was satisfactory. I would not hesitate to stay there again, should I go back to the Cape area, and I can highly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oystein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Good day

Your complimentary remarks regarding our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

One of the best Hotels on our Jouneys in Southafrica. Great Brunch too. The location is in the center of the waterfront! Could not be better. All you need for your days in Cape Town. Next time we book the V&A again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolgensinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for the lovely review on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Convenient location and good breakfast and that are the only positive aspects of this place. While staying in this hotel we experience a horrid ordeal. Due to unsecure Wi Fi and land line (we suspect), our identity has been stolen. While dealing with this incredibly difficult situation, the hotel not only didn’t protect us but unilaterally responded to unconfirmed phone call of the hacker, wrongly incriminated us, revealed our confidentiality and confidentiality of ours friends. V&A Hotel had breached a duty of care, which it owe to us. As a result of their action, we have been arrested and spend several hours in South African jail. After hours of surreal ordeal, hefty legal fees, the hotel didn’t even offer a proper apology. We are still traumatized by this experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jolar247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. They have lovely rooms, great breakfasts and it is a perfect location as you are centrally located right next to a gigantic mall that has a huge number of restaurants, entertainment happening, great shops, etc. Not only that, but their employees are extremely helpful. Last, but not least, if you need it they can arrange to have a vehicle pick you up and return you to the airport and also arrange great tours for you.

Room Tip: I'd recommend that you ask for a room with a view facing Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Dorothy

Thanks for the lovely feedback on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and we hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to South Africa!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We regularly visit Cape Town and this is the fourth hotel we've used in the city. It is certainly very well located for the Waterfront and has great views of Table Mountain.

But, in my opinion, the premium paid for the location is too high, the hotel would benefit from a little renovation to tidy up a few bumps and bruises and the breakfasts could be served more promptly and the temperature in the rooms could be increased a notch (we stayed on the top floor with terrific windows in the ceiling, so perhaps the other floors are warmer). The room was, otherwise, very comfortable.

Room Tip: If travelling in the South African winter, choose a room which isn't on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. Thanks for the constructive feedback, this allows me to monitor our service levels to guests.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Service is top-notch; very good breakfast with view of the harbor and Table Mountain. The aquarium, hop-on/hop-off bus, shops and restaurants are all just outside the front door. It is also very easy to get in and out with a car - we rented one for a couple of days and parked in front at no additional charge.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the street; opposite side would get a view of harbor and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CriticalCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for the kind words and the lovely review on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing